We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Park Avenue Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Savannah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Park Avenue Manor
Ranked #12 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I wrote in their guest book..I felt like a kitten being cared for by its mom.
You will not regret your stay here. All was fabulous. Taken back in
time. Everything was wonderful even the strangers at breakfast which
was delish.

Room Tip: all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowere123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 563 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

We spent 5 nights here earlier this month and so enjoyed our stay. Location was perfect, an easy walk to all the squares and only steps to the gorgeous Forsyth Park. Parking right outside the door. The Manor is beautifully decorated and has extra touches not often found at other B and Bs including a gourmet coffee maker available after breakfast hours, wonderful unobtrusive background music playing and a lovely courtyard out back with a swing, lots of seating, fountains and flowers.A perfect spot to relax in the evening with a glass of sherry or wine. Breakfast was excellent, beautifully presented with a different place setting each morning and a different breakfast entrée each morning of our stay. This was southern hospitality at its best. Thanks Glen and Maurice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zonasaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Park Avenue Manor was ideal. Every inch of the house is wonderfully decorated and Maurice and Glenn are top notch hosts! Breakfast was delicious every day and we really appreciated the combination of charm and friendliness. We really enjoyed returning each day to friendly and warm surroundings, as well as Sherry and brownies! We wouldn't even have to think about it, we'd be back there without a doubt!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lea_y_Todd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The place is easy to find and plenty of free parking on the street in front of the house - the house itself is historically interesting and sits on the edge of the historic district and right next to the wonderful Forsyth Park. It's walking distance to most attractions although this means at least 3-4 blocks to traverse the said park. There's a lovely cafe and amazing restaurant/ bar (called Local) around the corner. The house itself is spotless and well-maintained. It was a bit too "Victorian" for our taste but at least it reflected the tastes of the owners, who very friendly and helpful from start to finish. The fixed breakfast time of 8.30am every morning was a bit odd but allowed you to interact with other guests over a nice (if American-sized) hot breakfast. The brownies and sherry left in the main room at all times was a decadent touch.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelvin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

When we were planning our one week vacation to Savannah, we read the reviews of Park Avenue Manor and immediately decided that this was the place to stay. Our expectations of the B&B were high and we can honestly say that we were blown away.
The house is beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. We thoroughly enjoyed the extras, such as the brownies and sherry in parlor, and the guest refrigerator on the second floor. For an older house, we found it be very quiet, despite it being full almost every night. The location is great with Forsythe Park across the corner, and the historic district only a short walk away. We expected the city to be the star of our vacation but honestly, we found the highlight to be the B&B which included the wonderful breakfasts with a different place setting every morning. Not only was the food fantastic but we really enjoyed the experience of eating and spend time with the other guests. On one morning, everyone spent over an hour after breakfast visiting with each other. If this was all there is to the Park Avenue Manor, we would have been extremely satisfied.
However, Maurice and Glenn take this B&B to a much higher level. They are gracious hosts and we found them to take care of the needs of all of their guests. They bring their hearts and souls to this business and we feel that they truly make this place a home for their guests.
We have traveled extensively, staying in the full gamut of lodgings. We can honestly say that this was the best experience we have ever had.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask Maurice and Glenn for suggestions on restaurants, activities, etc. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was by far the very best B&B experience. There is no amenity a guest would want that is not provided, as well as unexpected treats. A guest is treated warmly and provided with top notch comfort. The decor and morning dining table setups take one back in time to a gracious time of living. One could not ask for a better breakfast to enjoy to get through roaming about Savannah, and the Sherry waiting upon arrival is pretty good too. I will return and hopefully will again be able to get a reservation. Reservations should be made early and well worth planning your trip to Savannah early.

Room Tip: Only five to choose from (one a suite) and all are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoGerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was a dash-in, dash-out trip, and I didn't get to soak up nearly the amount of charm and ambiance the Manor has to offer. As other reviewers note, the location, decor and amenities are everything a B&B guest could possibly be looking for. I was warmly greeted and shown around, and while I ate out, I did see a very nice breakfast preparation underway. My room was quiet and comfortable, and mostly I am left with a feeling that this is where I want to stay when I come back to Savannah with my wife. I won't struggle to think up superlatives — other reviewers have done the heavy lifting already.

Room Tip: Ask. Glenn and Maurice won't steer your wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Catherine Ward House Inn
#2 of 30 in Savannah
738 reviews
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#6 of 30 in Savannah
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
McMillan Inn
McMillan Inn
#3 of 30 in Savannah
221 reviews
Downtown
Azalea Inn & Villas
Azalea Inn & Villas
#4 of 30 in Savannah
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Avenue Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Avenue Manor

Address: 107 - 109 West Park Avenue, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range: $129 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Savannah's Historic District and our 1889 Victorian home. Our B&B has four guest rooms upstairs (queen beds) and the Georgia Suite (king bed) downstairs, each with private bathrooms and sitting areas. Our rooms are furnished with antiques and Historic Savannah collections. Each of the four upstairs rooms will accommodate a maximum of two people and the downstairs room will accommodate a maximum of three people. We have two parlors and an outside courtyard for your enjoyment and relaxation. We serve a full breakfast at 8:30 AM, and brownies, sherry and other complementary beverages are always available, as is free WiFi. Sorry, no guests under age 16, no guest pets. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing