We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit even better than the first!”
Review of Park Avenue Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Savannah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Park Avenue Manor
Ranked #12 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Stayed at Glenn and Maurice's beautiful B&B for the second time this past week-end. Going to the jazz festival was our main reason for visiting Savannah we even included my husband this time! We stayed in the new first floor guest suite and it was wonderful for three. My friend took the daybed room with it's fridge, TV, bathroom and private entry to the patio garden. My husband and I had the beautiful queen bedroom with our own TV and doors to close to separate the two rooms for privacy. It was wonderful! We reunited (accidentally) with a friend from last year who came with her family because her husband is now deployed. As usual, the breakfasts were picture perfect and tasted terrific. We always enjoy the sherry, brownies, coffee and tea. This trip we tried the public FREE transportation and had a blast riding the bus to shopping and even took the ferry over to the island. The DOT bus, ferry and riverstreet streetcar are all free and an enjoyable experience while visiting this beautiful city. The jazz festival has some rain, but it didn't last long and the music was really great.

Room Tip: Excellent pictures on their website and you can always call if you have any questions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyrtleBeach60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 562 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2011

My husband & I stayed Sept 1-5, 2011, 1st trip to Savannah & staying at a B&B. Park Ave Manor is next to Forsyth Park, an excellent location close to Historic area, yet far enough away for peace & quiet. Great customer service BEFORE we got to Savannah. Glenn & Maurice called us to confirm reservation, ask a few questions about likes & dislikes for beverages, even let us know before arrival when they needed to step out so they would be sure not to miss us! We were promptly greeted w/ big smiles, warm handshakes, & felt right at home. They were professional, friendly, & just downright fun to talk w/ every day. We appreciate the hospitality & tips for parking to avoid street cleaners! This B&B is charming & GA Suite was awesome, price not much different for this largest of all the rooms. Rooms furnished w/ neat artifacts of old Savannah & GA; decor tasteful, not overdone. We loved having our own patio entrance & enjoyed quiet time reading & sipping hot chocolate. The bed was so comfortable that if we didn’t want to have breakfast, we would have slept many more hours comfortably! We never had to ask for fresh towels or trash removal, as Maurice & Glenn always were on top of that; their attention to detail not unnoticed. They set aside special hot chocolate mugs just for us (we aren’t big coffee drinkers). Breakfast was impressive. Maurice should come up w/ a Manor cookbook of all his recipes! The table was set each day w/ a new design of china & colors. Good food & conversation w/ other guests around the table was fun, something in which a bustling hotel full of strangers would never partake! Brownies (wonderful!) were always in the foyer to beckon us. Our hosts were courteous, personable, took care of us, pampered us, & called the trolley to pick us up when we wanted to venture out. We sure do miss Glenn & Maurice. Already planning our next trip & will indeed be back to Park Ave Manor many more times over! ~ D & D

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don and Dee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Stayed at the Park Avenue Manor for a girl's get away and was the perfect place to stay. It was easy walking distance to all of Savannah's attractions. The house is beautifully decorated with anitques, thoroughly enjoyed the brownies and the delicious breakfasts. We stayed in the Colony Room and it was cozy and comfortable. Glenn and Maurice were very friendly, it was just like staying with family. I would highly recommend the Park Avenue Manor and will stay here the next time I'm in Savannah.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msjlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Staying at Park Avenue Manor was one of our first Bed and Breakfast experiences and we loved it! We chose to stay there because we thought it would be more "romantic" than a hotel. We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend Park Avenue Manor, as it lived up to our expectations in every way! It was a very pretty walk into Savannah every day, especially to pass Forsyth Park. Maurice and Glenn made such delicious breakfasts every morning and were very helpful and informative about activities to do in the area, places to eat, tours, etc. The fabulous experience we had was much appreciated and made for a Honeymoon that we will always remember as being so relaxing, fun, and romantic! We will return again if we come back to Savannah for an anniversary!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ellen Kelly room, which was so pretty. Loved the vintage decor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Everything in website was right on the money. Been to many B&B before this is one of the top ones. Start to finish was perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

All of the other positive reviews here are true and a great indication of the character of this place and the wonderful hosts. It is truly a homely place in a good location. Don't hesitate - call Maurice and Glenn and book a stay - you won't regret it!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jono2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We only stayed one night, and did have a nice time at the Inn. The inn keepers were a little distant. They weren't unfriendly but not as talkative and inviting as our past B&B experiences. Maybe it was only because we stayed only the one night.

The house is well decorated and nice, with lots of info for local tours, food, and anything else Savannah you could want.

We stayed in the Savanna room, which was very nice. The private bath was a little rough around the edges (ceiling was not finished well, the towel rack had pulled out of the wall in the past and, while it had been reattached, wasn't repainted). The shower head was one of those really cheap simple sprayers.

The bed was firm and wonderful, one of the most comfortable I've slept in.

The inn is close enough to the historic district that you could walk if you're feeling adventurous, but I recommend taking a trolley tour with on / off service. One of the trolleys will even pick you up at the inn!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lousms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkavenue, Owner at Park Avenue Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

Thank you for the many wonderful comments on the décor and comfort of our bed & breakfast. We pride ourselves on being outstanding hosts (hence our “Top 10 Best Innkeepers” Award), and if you perceived anything less, it was not intentional. The Savannah bathroom is clean and functional, and we continually have returning guests specifically request the Savannah Room because they enjoyed its ambiance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 114 in Savannah
1,340 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,848 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Catherine Ward House Inn
#2 of 30 in Savannah
728 reviews
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Avenue Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Avenue Manor

Address: 107 - 109 West Park Avenue, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range: $129 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Savannah's Historic District and our 1889 Victorian home. Our B&B has four guest rooms upstairs (queen beds) and the Georgia Suite (king bed) downstairs, each with private bathrooms and sitting areas. Our rooms are furnished with antiques and Historic Savannah collections. Each of the four upstairs rooms will accommodate a maximum of two people and the downstairs room will accommodate a maximum of three people. We have two parlors and an outside courtyard for your enjoyment and relaxation. We serve a full breakfast at 8:30 AM, and brownies, sherry and other complementary beverages are always available, as is free WiFi. Sorry, no guests under age 16, no guest pets. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing