We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not perfect stay, but still excellent”
Review of Andaz Savannah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Andaz Savannah
Ranked #13 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not perfect stay, but still excellent”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My family and I(wife and two daughters, 14 and 19 years old) arrived New Years Day around 8pm after driving eight hours from Williamsburg, VA capping off a seven day roadtrip. We were greeted by a very friendly staff and a glass of wine- very nice. We stayed two nights and thankfully this was the nicest hotel we experiienced on our trip. The hotel overall and room had a hip vibe and eclectic comtemporary style. The room we had was the double queen over-looking the pool area with a partial view of the river. The room was very clean and quiet with very comfortable beds. We had free breakfast buffet for two(very good) and free snacks and non-alcoholic drinks in the room.

The only issues we had was that the power went out on the bedside of the room so we didn't have lights or use of the cordless phone and the IPod/clock device; the breaker probably tripped when housekeeping was vacuuming the room. The building engineer couldn't enter the room with the breaker panel because the guest wasn't answering the door and they will not enter a room if the do not disturb sign is out(added security). They offered us another room but it wasn't worth the inconvenience of moving all our possessions for one night(remember I'm travelling with three women so it's a lot of possessions!). Also, while the free snacks were replenished the non-alcoholic drinks weren't and there were half-full bottles left from the previous guest; but not a problem just one call to the front desk and they brought whatever you needed in minutes. These problems were slightly annoying but definitely no deal breaker, still loved the stay.

The location was excellent with a number very good restaurants nearby, like Tequila's Town and Garibaldi's Cafe; the in-house restaurant, 22 Square is also very good. If this is your first trip to Savannah I recommend doing a complete trolley tour early in day(90 minutes) and then a walking tour yourself taking advantage of the on/off benefit of the trolleys. The town is beautiful and very pedestrian friendly, a wonderful experience. Make sure to go to Leopold's for ice cream, the best!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael33143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Michael33143, thank you for your visit and your review. I am happy you and your family enjoyed your stay and Savannah. My apologies for the issue with the electricity to your bedisde area and the beverages not being replenished, I am happy these issues were resolved. Please come back to Andaz Savannah soon, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,129
    669
    172
    56
    19
See reviews for
562
1,595
96
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We had a great stay at the Andaz Savannah - super welcoming from the moment we arrived until we checked out! Rooms are really nice, very clean, pretty quiet considering the location to City Market and live music at the Wild Wing Cafe at Ellis Park. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanKimmyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
DanKimmyL, thank you for your visit, hope to see you here again soon! Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I checked in here on a whim after quickly checking out of a bed and breakfast nightmare situation. We were both tired from driving 6 hours and after dealing with an extremely rude and unprofessional inn keeper we were relieved to be able to get a room at Andaz. The front desk agent, Julia was so kind and helpful! We upgraded to a suit with a claw foot bathtub, walk in shower and balcony. Everything was beautiful, clean and comfortable. The only annoyance was the heater kept kickin on throughout the night and the vent is in the bedroom and is super loud. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We are looking forward to our next visit !

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennGilarowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
JennGilarowski, thank you for your visit and thank you for the review. Julia mentioned your situation with the other hotel to me and I believe she said you both work in hotels? If so it is very nice to hear such nice comments from fellow hoteliers. My apologies for the heater noise, I think the 'polar vortex' last week pushed our system to the max!

Please come back soon, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birnamwood, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at Andaz for 4 wonderfule nights. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a suite because we had just gotten married! The room was beautiful! Comfy king size bed with a balconly overlooking Ellis Square. The location is perfect-you could walk to all the best places. Also loved the in room snacks/drinks which were free and re-stocked daily! Would definelty recommend this place to others and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinBELLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
KristinBELLA, congratulations on your wedding! And thank you for letting us be a part of your big day! You will have to come back to celebrate your anniversary... Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manorville, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed the contemporary decor of the Andaz in the middle of Savannah. Nice room, overlooking Ellis square. The staff is friendly, knowledgable, and accommodating. If you have AAA, you can get the room with the free breakfast, very good food.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LouannSylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
LouannSylvia, thank you for your visit to Andaz Savannah and thank you for reviewing the hotel. Please try to come back soon, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arden, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My boyfriend and I took a road trip to Savannah for a weekend getaway. The Andaz was perfect for us. We stayed in the King room. The room was a little small, but very nice. Complimentary snacks and drinks (excluding alcohol), comfy bed, nice view of Ellis Square, large walk-in shower, and a large flat screen tv made up for the size of the room. The staff were very nice and attentive. The Andaz is within walking distance of everything that you would want to see in the north historic district. The highlights of our trip were the dinners at The Olde Pink House and Alligator Soul, visiting Savannah Smiles Dueling Pianos, and walking through the many beautiful squares.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyNorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
CindyNorton, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and your time in Savannah, hope you and your boyfriend have a chance to return soon, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was our fourth year staying at this hotel (originally the Avia and then the Andaz). As before the service was incredible. All of the staff is friendly and customer service driven. Our room on the sixth floor overlooking Ellis Square was lovely with a very comfortable bed!

We really enjoyed the fire pit by the pool. What a great place to relax and enjoy a drink on a cool evening! All of the staff was wonderful, but Scott, the bartender was fantastic. Not only is he a great mixologist (making perhaps the best Manhattans we have ever had) but also gave us great tips on where to go to enjoy the city.

We are already looking forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: Call ahead and request a room overlooking the square. The view is lovely and it is great for "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Eileen W, thank you for your very nice review and your repeated stays with us. Scott is a great bartender, if you had the East of Hudson manhattan it is an award winner! It won audience favorite at Woodford Reserve Bourbon's national contest last year. Please come back soon, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
1,267 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,703 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#32 of 113 in Savannah
2,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Savannah

Property: Andaz Savannah
Address: 14 Barnard Street, Savannah, GA 31401-2521
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#2 Business Hotel in Savannah
#2 Family Hotel in Savannah
#6 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah, Georgia has a whole new hotel experience. With its artful decor, relaxed urban vibe and new South sophistication, Andaz Savannah offers a bold new sleek style and a sophisticated attitude to historic Savannah. Experience a fashionable urban escape across from Ellis Square shopping, nightlife and entertainment at Andaz Savannah.When you're ready to get down to relaxation, our 151 ultra-modern guestrooms and suites are sanctuaries of calming repose. Each of our Savannah, Georgia hotel rooms feature sophisticated textures, a modern color palette, large windows, and surprising decor elements, resulting in a stylish haven of city-chic comfort. Delight in thoughtful in-room details such as king-sized beds cloaked in fine linens, walk-in showers and 42" flat screen televisions - details which make Andaz the most captivating of Savannah, Georgia hotels.For the very best in in Savannah dining, join us for dinner at 22 Square. Our very own "Market to Table" restaurant will delight our guests in the local flavor of the city. Our Chef has gone to great lengths to source out ingredients from local farmers and producers to ensure seasonality and freshness. Our bar at 22 Square takes you back to the "Art of the Cocktail" with hand-crafted cocktails made from fresh fruit juices,homemade syrups and tonics and artisanal liquors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Savannah Hotel Savannah
Avia Hotel Savannah
Savannah Avia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing