We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary steeped in tradition”
Review of Andaz Savannah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Andaz Savannah
Ranked #14 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Enjoyed the contemporary decor of the Andaz in the middle of Savannah. Nice room, overlooking Ellis square. The staff is friendly, knowledgable, and accommodating. If you have AAA, you can get the room with the free breakfast, very good food.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank LouannSylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

LouannSylvia, thank you for your visit to Andaz Savannah and thank you for reviewing the hotel. Please try to come back soon, Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,865 - 1,871 of 3,158 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

My boyfriend and I took a road trip to Savannah for a weekend getaway. The Andaz was perfect for us. We stayed in the King room. The room was a little small, but very nice. Complimentary snacks and drinks (excluding alcohol), comfy bed, nice view of Ellis Square, large walk-in shower, and a large flat screen tv made up for the size of the room. The staff were very nice and attentive. The Andaz is within walking distance of everything that you would want to see in the north historic district. The highlights of our trip were the dinners at The Olde Pink House and Alligator Soul, visiting Savannah Smiles Dueling Pianos, and walking through the many beautiful squares.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyNorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

CindyNorton, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and your time in Savannah, hope you and your boyfriend have a chance to return soon, Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was our fourth year staying at this hotel (originally the Avia and then the Andaz). As before the service was incredible. All of the staff is friendly and customer service driven. Our room on the sixth floor overlooking Ellis Square was lovely with a very comfortable bed!

We really enjoyed the fire pit by the pool. What a great place to relax and enjoy a drink on a cool evening! All of the staff was wonderful, but Scott, the bartender was fantastic. Not only is he a great mixologist (making perhaps the best Manhattans we have ever had) but also gave us great tips on where to go to enjoy the city.

We are already looking forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: Call ahead and request a room overlooking the square. The view is lovely and it is great for "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Eileen W, thank you for your very nice review and your repeated stays with us. Scott is a great bartender, if you had the East of Hudson manhattan it is an award winner! It won audience favorite at Woodford Reserve Bourbon's national contest last year. Please come back soon, Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here after having been to an Andaz in Shanghai and loving the concept that the Andaz chain presents. We only spent one night, but it was a reward night and we were treated as well as one could ever hope for. The staff at check-in were efficient with their lack of a normal front desk. I love that they greet you with an i-pad and offer beverages, including wine.
Our room was upgraded to a suite and was very comfortable. I wish we had more time there to take advantage of the huge kitchen that had everything including a cook top, microwave and full size refrigerator. The snacks in the room are complimentary, even though the liquor in the mini bar is not. The bed was comfy and plush. It was quiet, considering that it was New Year's Eve and a celebration at City Market a block away didn't bother us. The bathroom was a very good size and nicely stocked with upscale products.
The room had a dining table and 2 plush chairs, along with a sofa and a chaise lounge. We also had a very small balcony attached.
The pool was heated, but we didn't know that until we got there. A few people did brave the cold weather and seemed to be enjoying it. We sat by the fire pit for a while, a nice touch for a chilly evening.
The breakfast buffet the next morning was very good,. A chef making omelets, many kinds of pastries and fruit. You won't leave hungry. They even had the traditional Southern Black-eyed peas for New Year's Day.
Checkout was quick and it only took a couple of minutes for our car to be brought out front by the valet.
I would absolutely stay here again and plan to hit a few more of the Andaz hotels in future travels.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Karen M, thank you for spending New Years' with us and thank you for the very nice review. I haven't been to the Andaz in Shanghai, but I hear it is beautiful.

I always like hearing from guests who have been to more than one Andaz to get their impressions of the similarities and differences across the brand. As one of our philosophies is to be authentic to our location their is more variety between the hotels then in most brands.

If you will be back in Asia our Andaz Tokyo is opening next year, other recent additions include our first two resorts, Andaz Maui and Andaz Papagayo in Costa Rica.

Please come back soon, Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

What an excellent place this is if you want to be in the center of it all. Luxury at its finest and the staff is, unquestionably, the nicest you will encounter. We upgraded to a King Suite upon our arrival and the accommodations were better than we could have imagined. Everything in the mini bar (except the alcohol of course) was complimentary. Heated pool, outdoor fire pit and an excellent workout room complete with water bottles, packaged ear buds, and cool towels were just a few of the amenities included in our stay. The breakfast package is worth its weight in gold....but make sure you get the COMPLIMENTARY coffee just outside the breakfast area and carry it in with you. If the wait staff brings you coffee, then you are charged $4 on your hotel bill. This was the only asinine part of the hotel stay however the staff was extremely generous about taking off the charge. You can't beat the location - it is in the middle of everything. If you decide to stay here, you will not be disappointed. And don't forget the COMPLIMENTARY glass of wine upon check-in.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite if any are available. I am not sure if there are any "bad" rooms in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank py1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

py1970, thank you for your visit and thank you for your nice review. I am sorry about the confusion with breakfast coffee, the buffet includes beverages in the cost, something must have gone wrong with the billing on your account.

Please come back soon, Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was our first stay with the Andaz Savannah. We loved our weekend with the hotel, from check in to check out things went remarkably well. The have a very efficient staff to check you in upon arrival, the staff remain out in the open lobby to serve you in a less intimidating fashion. We valet parked as usual and never once had to "look" for the valet when we need our car. The breakfast served is some of the best we have ever eaten on the road in our travels, please do not change a thing ! The food quality was superb, the coffee fresh and strong, seating bright and clean! We had booked a suite and were very pleased with the size of the room, the balcony and bathroom. The accommodations were exceptionally clean and the bed slept like a dream ! We had dinner in the farm to table restaurant Friday evening and every item we had was outstanding. We also enjoyed pre dinner cocktails at the Bar with a true professional Bartender who made a Moscow Mule and other creative cocktails with years of experience under his belt. We can't wait until our next trip to Savannah and another stay at the Andaz.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greektravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Greektravelgirl, I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and had a chance to have drinks and dinner at 22 Square. Thank you for your business and for your review. Please come back to Andaz Savannah again soon, Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I hotel hopped on my trip in savannah. This was our second stop. Although, it was not my favorite hotel on the trip or even my second favorite, it was really nice. The value is great. With the AAA discount, we got a full buffet breakfast and standard king room for $134 before tax. We upgraded to a loft for $15 more.

The room was beautiful, spacious, and clean. I loved the modern chic decor.. Bathrooms are okay but nothing to brag about. They provided good toiletries.

Everything non-alcoholic in the mini bar was free. They provide you with a glass of wine when you check in. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Buffet is delicious but not sure if it's worth the $20 price tag when not included with your room. Luckily for us, it was included.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel. Great value and experience. The only downside is that it doesn't have that old savannah charm since it is a modern hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unfrostedpop-tart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Unfrostedpop-tart, thank you for your visit and your taking the time to review our hotel. I want to be your favorite Savannh hotel! But if I cannot have that I can at least be happy you enjoyed the stay! Please come back again soon, Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,895 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 115 in Savannah
3,051 reviews
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#16 of 115 in Savannah
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 115 in Savannah
1,137 reviews
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Savannah

Address: 14 Barnard Street, Savannah, GA 31401-2521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#2 Business Hotel in Savannah
#2 Family Hotel in Savannah
#6 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $169 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah, Georgia has a whole new hotel experience. With its artful decor, relaxed urban vibe and new South sophistication, Andaz Savannah offers a bold new sleek style and a sophisticated attitude to historic Savannah. Experience a fashionable urban escape across from Ellis Square shopping, nightlife and entertainment at Andaz Savannah.When you're ready to get down to relaxation, our 151 ultra-modern guestrooms and suites are sanctuaries of calming repose. Each of our Savannah, Georgia hotel rooms feature sophisticated textures, a modern color palette, large windows, and surprising decor elements, resulting in a stylish haven of city-chic comfort. Delight in thoughtful in-room details such as king-sized beds cloaked in fine linens, walk-in showers and 42" flat screen televisions - details which make Andaz the most captivating of Savannah, Georgia hotels.For the very best in in Savannah dining, join us for dinner at 22 Square. Our very own "Market to Table" restaurant will delight our guests in the local flavor of the city. Our Chef has gone to great lengths to source out ingredients from local farmers and producers to ensure seasonality and freshness. Our bar at 22 Square takes you back to the "Art of the Cocktail" with hand-crafted cocktails made from fresh fruit juices,homemade syrups and tonics and artisanal liquors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Savannah Hotel Savannah
Avia Hotel Savannah
Savannah Avia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing