We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”
Review of Andaz Savannah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz Savannah
Ranked #13 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at the Andaz one night in mid-March. There was a large wedding party staying at the hotel and a mix-up with our room - our king size room was apparently given away to the wedding party (overbooked). We were offered and agreed to take a room with two queens and complimentary breakfast at the hotel for about $75 less that night. Staff was extremely helpful and kind. Really liked the modern and funky room interior. The breakfast at the hotel exceeded our expectations - fresh ingredients, delicious omelettes and friendly servers. Location ideal. Would definitely stay again and recommend.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Ashley, my apologies for the mixup! It is always embarrassing when we don't have the room type you reserved, I am happy the staff gave you breakfast and a discount for your troubles. Thanks for mentioning breakfast, I have worked in the industry for twenty years and I really feel it is the best, simpliest, breakfast I have seen. Hope to see you again soon, Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,053 - 2,059 of 3,130 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here in November for a girls vacation in a room with a separate super comfy bedroom and kitchenette. Our room was spacious and had a small balcony. No complaints. The location is a couple blocks off River Street and is easily walkable to a lot of shops and restaurants. Parking stinks in the area so you will have to valet. The lobby and lounge area is neat and modern and everyone was very friendly and helpful. The only (small) gripe I had was that the food available in the lounge was so avant garde that I had to ask for help interpreting what it was. It's a great place and I felt like they were trying too hard to be overly cool when they didn't have to.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buddydogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

buddydogg, thanks for the review and the feedback about our menus, we are always looking for new ideas. I hope you come back soon! Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great location, very helpful staff. Didn't expect to have to pay for valet parking, but in the end it was probably worth it, because of the convenience. Parking in the area is terrible, but a lot of good restaurants are within walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bo8410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

bo8410, thanks for the review, hope to see you here again soon, Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I visited the Andaz twice on the same vacation. On our way from Chicago to Tybee Island, we stayed at the Andaz May 24th (Memorial Day Weekend) and then again at the tail end of our visit on May31st.

THE HOTEL OVERALL -
PROS -
1) The Staff consists professional, happy, smiling, beautiful people who bend over backwards to help.
2) The Hotel itself is soothing and gorgeous from top to bottom.
3) Glass of wine/water/soda when you arrive is fabulous after a long journey.
4) Location is fantastic.
5) Free minibar snacks and non alcholic drinks were a big perk. I LOVED that the hotel provided local samples of things on the mini bar. That chocolate is to die for. (See below for more details.)
CONS -
1) Con - Late checkouts are seemingly hard to come by. We had no success. Must check out by 11 am.

FIRST VISIT - Absolutely perfect.
* Valet was Stephan and Hotel Reception person was Shequila (sp?).
* Room = 420 (We upgraded from a Standard room to a Loft which I highly recommend.)
* The Loft has a balcony, better location overlooking Ellis Square, bedroom and living room which is nice if one of you gets up earlier than the other and you don't want to wake him, a bathtub, magazines to read, etc.
* The only negative was that the TV flashed back and forth to darker/lighter contrasts while we watched our movie that night. We've seen this movie a number of times and the random shadowing and lightening is not part of the movie.

SECOND VISIT - Nice, but not as good as the first.
* Valet was Jordan and Hotel Reception person was a young, very tall gentleman who like the rest of the staff was super nice and helpful.
* Room = 308
* NOTE to any women - No bathtub in the Standard. Only a shower.
* Negatives of this visit -
1) Minibar and bathroom were not stocked correctly.
2) TV flashed the same way the one in 420 did. Oddly it doesn't do it during news programs. Just movies.
3) Had to call Security twice for rowdy possibly drunk people in the room next door who were wandering around in the hallway. Took from 11 pm until midnight for those folks to be properly dealt with. This was a big deal for us because we had just gotten done staying in a rental house with a poor bed and teenagers that stayed up until 1 am every night. We wanted our last night in Savannah to be very restful sleepwise. The good part of this was WE did NOT have to change rooms. Those folks were moved.

MUST VISITS AROUND THE ANDAZ-
Goosefeathers for breakfast or lunch...the line moves fast so don't worry about it if there is one.
Kayak Kafe for lunch.
Vinnie Van Go-Go's for cheap and yummy thin crust pizza. (Cash only)
Coffee Fox for Cafe con Leche.
The Greatful Hound for fun t shirts and hats and things for dog lovers and owners that you won't find elsewhere. (Yes, we are dog owners.)
Chocolat by Adam Turoni (which is the same chocolate you get in the hotel in your room!) - If you love S'mores, get his S'more. It's delish!
Walk along the river and wait for the cargo ships coming in or out. Very cool to see.
While along the river, if you need good sunglasses, there's a light blue awning down the block from the Life is Good Store. The awning just says "Sunglasses 1 for $12 and 2 for $20". That INCLUDES polarized sunglasses. You won't find a better deal.

Room Tip: Do the upgrade to the Loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Heidi R, thanks for your review and for your repeat visits! We appreciate your business and your feedback. I am sorry that we didn't ahve the minibar and bathroom amenities stocked properly for your second visit. I am fairly new to the hotel and noticed the same problem with the TV brightness, it is something in the programming to reduce energy use during long periods of viewing. We are working with the manufacturer to get it removed. Hope to see you soon, Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at the Andaz for five nights, originally booked four nights, but wanted to stay an extra night. We were told no rooms were available, but when we checked booking sights and Hyatt's own site they had rooms available. They do not have the kinks worked out with check in and are not customer service oriented. I ended up booking the room online using the Hyatt site. I believe they were sandbagging rooms. Management leaves a lot to be desired. Location is excellent and rooms are nice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigvic2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Bigvic2000, to answer your question, we both are managers. I am the GM of the hotel, Angel manages the guest services of the hotel. I heard about your issues with adding the additional night both from Angel and his team, and also from our corporate office when you spoke with them. My apologies that you had so much trouble for what should be a very easy task. Thank you for staying and I hope we have a chance to better serve you in the fufure. Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

If you are going to visit Savannah (as a tourist ) this hotel is in the prefect location right next to city market . Fairly priced , with clean rooms, excellent service and Very upscale . For me the problem is Savannah the city needs a major face lift and more commerce . The artisans are many as well as the eateries . All with in a few blocks but out side of that not much to look at.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luxie07c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

luxie07c, I am happy you enjoyed the hotel, but a little disappointed you ddn't enjoy Savannah more, I feel like there is a lot to do. If you come back reach out and I'll make sure we get you to the right spots. Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Andaz is located in a very convenient location. A city parking garage is right across the street, and overnight parking is $16. Our room was small but very clean and comfy. Free minibar non-alcoholic drinks/food. Nice quiet pool area. Gym looked good, but I didn't use it. Staff was helpful and very courteous. Great price. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I think some of the 2nd floor rooms might have windows into the pool area. I wouldn't like that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjones8778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

cjones8778, thanks for the review, please come back soon, Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#16 of 114 in Savannah
1,422 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,853 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 114 in Savannah
2,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 114 in Savannah
1,128 reviews
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Savannah

Address: 14 Barnard Street, Savannah, GA 31401-2521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Savannah
#2 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#2 Business Hotel in Savannah
#6 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $176 - $496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah, Georgia has a whole new hotel experience. With its artful decor, relaxed urban vibe and new South sophistication, Andaz Savannah offers a bold new sleek style and a sophisticated attitude to historic Savannah. Experience a fashionable urban escape across from Ellis Square shopping, nightlife and entertainment at Andaz Savannah.When you're ready to get down to relaxation, our 151 ultra-modern guestrooms and suites are sanctuaries of calming repose. Each of our Savannah, Georgia hotel rooms feature sophisticated textures, a modern color palette, large windows, and surprising decor elements, resulting in a stylish haven of city-chic comfort. Delight in thoughtful in-room details such as king-sized beds cloaked in fine linens, walk-in showers and 42" flat screen televisions - details which make Andaz the most captivating of Savannah, Georgia hotels.For the very best in in Savannah dining, join us for dinner at 22 Square. Our very own "Market to Table" restaurant will delight our guests in the local flavor of the city. Our Chef has gone to great lengths to source out ingredients from local farmers and producers to ensure seasonality and freshness. Our bar at 22 Square takes you back to the "Art of the Cocktail" with hand-crafted cocktails made from fresh fruit juices,homemade syrups and tonics and artisanal liquors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Savannah Hotel Savannah
Avia Hotel Savannah
Savannah Avia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing