We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!!”
Review of Andaz Savannah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Andaz Savannah
Ranked #13 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

This was our third stay at this hotel, but the first since it changed from the Avia to the Andaz. I must say, we were shocked by the remodeling of the lobby and restaurant. I think I liked it better before. It is a little too stark and simplistic, although we were told they are not finished decorating. The rooms are still the same. However, now all snacks and non alcoholic beverages are complimentary and replenished daily. The only complaint I have about the room is the lack of a door on the shower. I like to take hot showers and that is kind of hard to do with no door to keep the cold air out. The service is in impeccable and the entire staff is extremely friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scubawmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,158
    674
    172
    56
    19
See reviews for
568
1,613
98
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

we are 5 of us across 3 rooms. We are having an amazing time. The staff is just great. It reminds me of the quality of the staff from the Ritz Carlton. They are very caring and welcoming but not too crazy fake. We love it.

Our rooms are great, modern and comfortable. To relay the message from the other reviews, there are indeed a large difference between all the rooms in term of space, amineties, balcony etc.

We are totally fine with the shower. It is perfect and reaaly fit our life style.

The bar has great drink and the bartender super nice.

The brunch is just out this world! It is just delicious and totally healthy. You could even fit your paleo diet while eating delicious beacon, shrimps and oysters.

I was welcome with a glass of wine and the gentleman Friday late night was super nice and cheered me up after a very late flight.

The hotel is perfectly located in the center and a bit away from the bars which make it quiet.

It is my first time stay at a Andaz. So I cannot compare to other properties. I will certainly visit Andaz again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DamienBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Ok, the rooms here are fine. They are clean, roomy and comfortable. That being said, Andaz is all about Design and Art. They promote their designers and their image in much of their marketing campaigns. As such, this property fails. Its a monument to "Z Gallerie", off the shelf design from a few years ago. Nothing special here at all, really. NOthing new. If you are expecting the feel of the 5th Avenue property, Wall Street, Shanghai or even West Hollywood....you wont find it here. This property is much more basic.

The pool area and other public areas are much the same. The pool deck could easily be any Hilton or Sheraton Suites property. Ditto the Health Club. The lobby has a very urban feel, and has the feels the most like an "Andaz"....

Food and bar offerings were very nice...

Location is great....

Room Tip: You might want a room that does NOT face the square, as mine is very noisy. There is an event on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesE339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The hotel itself feels like about a 4 star - but all the extras make it 5 in my book. Free wi-fi, complimentary cocktail upon arrival, free in room beverages & snacks...and I don't mean bottled water & some pretzels. Gourmet type snacks, replenished often, and a room service fridge full of a variety of non-alcoholic beverages. Sodas, juices, flavored water, lemonade...

The staff was very friendly & attentive as well. The room was clean & comfortable and it's location is perfect...walking distance to most anything. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: not all rooms have a tub, ask for one. also - ask for a room facing Ellis Square, not River St (supp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Loved everything about our stay! The staff is incredibly friendly. Our suite was very nice with deep tub and walk in shower. Breakfast was fresh and healthy. Free soda and snacks were a nice touch. Perfect location for exploring.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kimberlymg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Three girlfriends and myself ventured to Savannah for a much needed Girls Weekend (in lieu of a baby shower as one of my friends was an expectant mother). We're all working, married, young 30's women - 3 of which are mother's of toddlers. So we sought out a place to stay with contemporary sophistication and complete relaxation! The Andaz exceeded every desire. First of all the hotel is quite fabulous. Very non-traditional and contemporary. I loved the lack of a typical "front desk"- yet helpful staff were constantly milling around to meet every need. The lobby is quite light-filled and welcoming and plays a great contrast to the cozy, dark, sleep-induced hallways of the hotel room floors. The hotel rooms were quite spacious and comfortably slept 4 women. We had plenty of room for sitting and chatting which is all we did. Loved the in-room kitchenette complete with unlimited free snacks, juice, and plenty of dishes to use. We also made good use of the free wireless! I'd like to give a special acknowledgement to the overnight security guard who with great enthusiasm provided endless options for late-night pizza dining within walking distance of the hotel. He was a great sport and quite helpful. Really, all of the staff provides excellent customer service! We were all very impressed. Andaz is also in a great location- walking distance to the water front, Paula Deen's restaurant, and tons of shopping. Overall, I would DEFINITELY return to Andaz Savannah if/when I visit the city again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta,Ga.
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

It is my understanding from speaking to the manager of the Andaz hotel that the Hyatt has recently taken over. In our opinion, the Hyatt has hit a home run. The Andaz is very well located across from the City Market and Ellis square. You are right on top of the outdoor cafes, restaurants and shops.

Tom and I have never stayed in a boutique hotel before. We really enjoyed the concept. The lobby was open to the restaurant, bar and lounge area. Check in was in the middle of the room. Upon checking in, we were offered a glass of either red wine, white wine or juice. We thought that this was a very nice touch and set the tone for our stay.

Although the room was on the small side compared to those at the Hyatt, we really enjoyed the ambiance. The room had more of a bedroom feel than your typical hotel room. I thought that the winged back chair and throw was a nice touch. We had a beautiful view of Ellis Square. Be sure to ask for a room overlooking the park.

The bathroom was a nice size and featured a walk in shower. The counter space around the sink was more than adequate.

We did not eat at the restaurant so we can't give you any feedback. I felt it lacked a bit in decor. There are so many wonderful restaurants in Savannah to choose from. We tend to enjoy eating outside of the hotel more.

Parking for the hotel is on Whitaker Street, about one and a half blocks away. This didn't bother us at all although it may be a problem for some people.

All and all we had an excellent stay at this hotel. We usually book our room through Priceline or Hotwire. If we happen to get the Andaz Hotel again, we will be very well pleased!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a "view".
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma_Atlanta_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
1,333 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,749 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#32 of 113 in Savannah
2,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#21 of 113 in Savannah
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Savannah

Property: Andaz Savannah
Address: 14 Barnard Street, Savannah, GA 31401-2521
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#2 Family Hotel in Savannah
#2 Business Hotel in Savannah
#6 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah, Georgia has a whole new hotel experience. With its artful decor, relaxed urban vibe and new South sophistication, Andaz Savannah offers a bold new sleek style and a sophisticated attitude to historic Savannah. Experience a fashionable urban escape across from Ellis Square shopping, nightlife and entertainment at Andaz Savannah.When you're ready to get down to relaxation, our 151 ultra-modern guestrooms and suites are sanctuaries of calming repose. Each of our Savannah, Georgia hotel rooms feature sophisticated textures, a modern color palette, large windows, and surprising decor elements, resulting in a stylish haven of city-chic comfort. Delight in thoughtful in-room details such as king-sized beds cloaked in fine linens, walk-in showers and 42" flat screen televisions - details which make Andaz the most captivating of Savannah, Georgia hotels.For the very best in in Savannah dining, join us for dinner at 22 Square. Our very own "Market to Table" restaurant will delight our guests in the local flavor of the city. Our Chef has gone to great lengths to source out ingredients from local farmers and producers to ensure seasonality and freshness. Our bar at 22 Square takes you back to the "Art of the Cocktail" with hand-crafted cocktails made from fresh fruit juices,homemade syrups and tonics and artisanal liquors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Savannah Hotel Savannah
Avia Hotel Savannah
Savannah Avia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing