We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Minimalist boutique style” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andaz Savannah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Andaz Savannah
Ranked #10 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
576 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
“Minimalist boutique style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed here previously before Hyatt bought the property and loved the location so we came back for another stay post-Hyatt. The Andaz is contemporary and sleek inside and out.

Check in/Lobby:The lobby has the 'new' concrete finished floors, the furniture is a cross between Scandanavian modern and sleek, minimalist Shaker. There are no true check-in desks but the staff all carry Ipads or notebooks to check in guests. We found this a little awkward as we tried to balance bags and sign in (there were no valets available or luggage carts). It also gives the appearance that there are a lot of employees just standing around waiting for something to do but check in was efficient.

There is a popular bar with boutique designer drinks. There is also an open concept dining area serving breakfast (not included) and dinner.The breakfast was good but it was the staff that made it so good---some of the friendliest and most welcoming folks ever! The made to order eggs were excellent but the other offerings from the buffet were pretty average.

Rooms: Again, minimalist in style but functional. We had an issue with housekeeping but it was resolved when noted. The beds were comfortable but not over the top. It is unfortunate the windows don't open as the rooms seemed stuffy and required the fan or a/c to run which was on/off-on/off noisy all night. The stocked minibar/fridge is a nice touch since it is all free except for the alcohol.

Pool area: It was way too cold to swim but we really enjoyed having a drink by the firepit located by the pool. Not sure too many people knew about it as we were the only ones there on a Friday night. May be because the pool deck is on the 2nd floor?

Check out: Again, no place to set things unless you moved over to a sofa or chair in the lobby. We had used points for the stay but were charged for rooms anyway so that had to be sorted out, which it was.

Overall, the hotel left us with a 'this is just okay but not what we remembered' feeling.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamgoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,016
    634
    162
    50
    15
See reviews for
528
1,528
86
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We recently returned from a five-night romantic getaway and truly enjoyed everything about our stay. This was our first time staying at an Andaz and we were really impressed. If you’re familiar with the Kimpton brand of hotels, the Andaz reminded me a lot of them, particularly the Eventi in NYC. I love this type of hotel, which is best described as a small, but modern boutique hotel. Their attention to detail is proven. Check in was quick and we were offered a complimentary glass of wine. The location was perfect as we were located off of Bay and River streets and directly on Ellis Square, next to the City Market. We loved eating our lunch outside on one of the small tables in Ellis Square. We walked for hours every day and covered a lot of ground. The Andaz is close to everything. The staff was outstanding. Someone was always there to assist with anything and everything, open the door, offer an umbrella, restaurant suggestions, etc. We loved the comfort, hospitality and overall feel of the hotel. The mini-bar was refreshed daily with complimentary snacks and non-alcoholic beverages. In addition, the hotel bar and restaurant were a scale above the rest. I love of a great Manhattan and was swooned by the East of Hudson Manhattan served at the hotel bar (voted best in Savannah), made with a Woodford Reserve and a smoked cherry! The smoked cherry was like a campfire in your mouth. Odd, but awesome…and instead of bar nuts, they served it with candied bacon. We highly recommend the Andaz Savannah and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mousemott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Simply the best nights stays in a new, sleek, and sophisticated atmosphere. In its price range, this hotel cannot be touched for its quality, serenity and customer service. The mini bar/fridge is stocked, and everything is "on the house" with the exception of the alcohol. I found this very convenient when i was suddenly thirsty right at bed time - no walks to a machine or calls to room service, there was a nice bottle of pom-aide in the fridge for me. Cleanliness that any white gloved queen would approve of and the staff is outstanding. I will be back again and again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt0550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at the Andaz for a four-night romantic getaway and loved everything about the hotel. It may be under the Hyatt umbrella but you'd never know it. A stylish staff greets you in a shabby-chic lobby. The service is great, from the housekeepers to the bartenders (get the Manhattan with two kidns of bourbon and a burnt cherry) to the front desk staff. The rooms are a mix of contemporary straight-line furnishings and funky beaded and flowery elements--fun yet sophisticated. You get free soft drinks and high-quality snacks such as sweet-potato chips in your room, replenished every day. The only snag: It was hard to connect to the free WiFi. The management has got to fix that; it was a constant source of frustration. BTW, there is a Staycation rate for residents of Georgia, Florida and South Carolina.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RudyLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

First off, the location was by far for myself and family, (for a short period of time) was really beneficial! From the time we arrived, throughout our stay and when we departured the staff that we met was (in our own opinion) very very professional and extremely friendly! Although it was a one night stay in the hotel we definitely recommend this hotel & would give it a 6 star rating! As a visitor, I admired the use of the modern equipment (iPads, notebooks etc) as well as the interior decorations and its modern-ized theme throughout. One downside was the open terrace did not have a hot tub/ jacuzzi for vacationers. Overall, the next time we drive or stop through Savannah definitely worth staying at!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Surferduder28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithonia, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Me and my girlfriend came to Savannah looking for venues and such for her Sept wedding. We had a 10am appt to meet Ann of the catering and sales dept. She was on time and professional. Very down to earth and new her stuff. Since my gilrfriend is having a beach wedding, she showed us the grounds and venue locations to have the reception. The terrace area is open and a good space to have a get together.

We wanted to look at some of the rooms but the hotel was booked and we could not look at any suites. But we asked even is dirty did she have any avail that had checked out and she was very accomodating. While there we noticed that the tour trolleys and horse carriages rode by often and was nearby. The square is right across the street and we were told by guest in the lobby is where everyone meets and hangs out in the evening. We did not eat there but the breakfast area looked nice and smelled wonderful. We did hear that the chef there has won awards.

We did not use valet, we parked in the parking garage down below for $5. I think we will be coming back for her event, at least I hope she picks this venue. If not me and my husband will def be back for a little getaway.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear the noise from the square at night you may want a room not facing that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Forgivn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro P, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review about your visit to our hotel. I have shared your great comments with Anne. She really enjoyed meeting you. We are looking forward to your return. Best Regards Pedro Perez General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

The lobby area is very sleek and modern. I like the way the front desk checks you in with hand held tablets, it is not like a traditional front desk. There are a lot of people available to open the door for you. We did not use valet, we parked at the Whitaker Street Garage, very close, turn left out the front door and go about 3 shops down and there is the garage entrance. Check in was a breeze. The lady named Dot had been mentioned in several reviews already, so I said "are you Dot?" and she was very friendly and genuine. The bar and restaurant is expensive, my glass of house chardonnay was $12, but it was good and the atmosphere is nice. The hotel is in a great location near the historic tours trolley stop, and near some of the top tripadvisor rated restaurants. Our room was comfortable and stylish, free internet worked fast. Every staff member is nice and greets you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzannesp8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#15 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Savannah

Property: Andaz Savannah
Address: 14 Barnard Street, Savannah, GA 31401-2521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#2 Business Hotel in Savannah
#2 Family Hotel in Savannah
#6 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah, Georgia has a whole new hotel experience. With its artful decor, relaxed urban vibe and new South sophistication, Andaz Savannah offers a bold new sleek style and a sophisticated attitude to historic Savannah. Experience a fashionable urban escape across from Ellis Square shopping, nightlife and entertainment at Andaz Savannah.When you're ready to get down to relaxation, our 151 ultra-modern guestrooms and suites are sanctuaries of calming repose. Each of our Savannah, Georgia hotel rooms feature sophisticated textures, a modern color palette, large windows, and surprising decor elements, resulting in a stylish haven of city-chic comfort. Delight in thoughtful in-room details such as king-sized beds cloaked in fine linens, walk-in showers and 42" flat screen televisions - details which make Andaz the most captivating of Savannah, Georgia hotels.For the very best in in Savannah dining, join us for dinner at 22 Square. Our very own "Market to Table" restaurant will delight our guests in the local flavor of the city. Our Chef has gone to great lengths to source out ingredients from local farmers and producers to ensure seasonality and freshness. Our bar at 22 Square takes you back to the "Art of the Cocktail" with hand-crafted cocktails made from fresh fruit juices,homemade syrups and tonics and artisanal liquors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Savannah Hotel Savannah
Avia Hotel Savannah
Savannah Avia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing