We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, awesome staff”
Review of Andaz Savannah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Andaz Savannah
Ranked #13 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Agawam, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location, awesome staff”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed 4 nights and we could not have had a better experience, the accomodations were excellent, staff outstanding and location the best. So many things to see in very close proximity to the hotel. The Historic District is beautiful and you are just minutes away from the Riverwalk. Best vacation we have had. Thanks

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nan420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,158
    674
    172
    56
    19
See reviews for
568
1,613
98
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Arrived Oct 25th @ 3pm and stayed through Oct 28th 7am. Staff had iPads ready to check us in. They swiped our credit card with an add-on to the iPad and we were told our room was ready. Additionally, they said, "We hope you enjoy your 1st visit to Savannah. We want to make your anniversary as special as possible." - all of which I had alerted them to during the online reservation process of our balcony suite 3-weeks earlier. During the online process, I asked if we could have a room overlooking the Square. We got room 322...the room closest to Ellis Square facing South. Perfect!!! One should be able to assume that rooms 422, 522, and 622 would offer the same view. The hotel's location in relation to most of the best sightseeing places is fabulous and unparalleled. The river front is 1 1/2 blocks away as is Paula Deen's "The Lady & Sons" restaurant. City Market is on Ellis Square and evening entertainment is played nightly - ending by 10pm at the very latest. Johnson Square (the oldest and prettiest square by which all others are modeled) is 2 blocks away, the famous The Olde Pink House restaurant, Papillote cafe, and Goose Feathers Cafe (all top 5 TripAdvisor restaurants) are within 2 1/2 blocks. Lastly, the 2nd stop of 15 with Old Town Trolley tours is directly across the street (a ticket counter is there all day too). We never felt far from "home" and always knew where we were in relation to the hotel.

If traveling with 2 or more people, I would strongly recommend buying the breakfast option as an inclusion with the room since the per person cost for breakfast far exceeds the additional cost of the breakfast option on the room. The European styled buffet was well-done, clean, and offered made-to-order chef fare for eggs, etc. Never tried the coffee but enjoyed the various tea varieties each morning. Water was hot yet immediately drinkable.

The area around Ellis Square is vibrant and active. Horse drawn carriages, trolleys, cabs, bikes, pedestrians, etc. are all passing by frequently but the speed limit is ~20mph - so loud noise discussed by previous reviewers is unfair and an exaggeration. Noisy? The sound can permeate with all that activity and we could definitely hear it BUT it didn't cause sleep issues and, frankly, any seasoned traveler knows to bring ear plugs with them regardless of where they go. As previously mentioned, the sound from live music from City Market was significantly diminished by 9pm and completely stopped by 10pm since they're conscious of surrounding hotel occupants.

While there, the city imposed a 20-minute electricity "brown out" in the morning. Obviously the elevators weren't working but the hotel didn't skip a beat. The next morning, one of the staff chefs had a stroke and, again, the hotel addressed it without skipping a beat.

We would highly recommend this hotel as it offers an amazing proximity to the most desirable sights within the Historic District. The staff (including maids, cleaners, bell men, waiters, front desk, and concierge) were efficient, always accessible, and eager to please. If you want a quiet, lifeless hotel experience, this hotel isn't for you and I'd suggest booking a hotel outside of the Historic District - which completely defeats the purpose of visiting Savannah for pleasure. On the other hand, if you're there to see the Historic District, this place should be high on your list. It is not on the main drag (as is the Hyatt) where traffic is constant and loud. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brett R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We just returned from trip to Savannah, stayed for 3 nights at the Andaz Savannah, hotel is in the histroric district right in Ellis Square, Perfect location, great restuarants all around. You can walk to most of the historic sights, Riverwalk and great shops. Andaz staff were wonderful, very helpful in suggesting sights and restuarants. Room was fabulous, had a loft room. Bedding was wonderful, mattress one of the best I have had in a hotel, decor very tastefully done. The overall feel of the Andaz is a boutique hotel run by the Hyatt chain, not a large hotel, much nicier and staff more personable. I will definetly suggest hotel to friends. Room was good value considering other hotels in same area much more expensive.

Room Tip: We always ask for a high floor and quiet location. Coming from NYC I know street noise can be a prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReniNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed at the Andaz Savannah last Friday night. I was ignored by the valet when I check in. I found the front desk staff to be unprofessional. The room was ok. The worst part was the noise level. I did not sleep a wink! It was so loud from music on the square, I don't think the windows had any sound proofing. I lived on a main avenue in Manhattan and this did not even compare! The TV did not work well and their was no tub. I did call the manager the next day (I left at 6am for a flight). I requested a full refund which he did eventually agree to. Definitely not worth $300 a night! If you do stay here, request a room on the river side so you can sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeahVT_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We couldn't believe the great value of the hotel, having gotten a great deal through Expedia. The location can't be beat-- a block from the Riverwalk, next to City Market, and smack in the middle of the historic district, we could walk everywhere! Previously the Avia, they have re-named the hotel (part of the Hyatt line) and recently had a complete renovation.

Everything about the place is decidedly upscale, and many little perks-- like free wine upon arrival, easy check-in via front desk staff with ipads, free food in lobby, free wifi throughout hotel, and free minibar for everything non-alcoholic-- really made this a top notch stay.

We were upgraded to a suite with full kitchen & a balcony overlooking Ellis Square, which was only to be $20 more per night, but when the bill came they did not charge us for it at all. Valet was $23/day with unlimited in/out privileges, which for a hotel of this kind was reasonable. ALL the staff were extremely courteous and professional, and very prompt with services.

Nice outdoor pool area and fire pit, although we were always out and about in the evenings so never got to use the fire pit. No hot tub. The bar was great also, very friendly bartenders and the open atmosphere really encourages conversation.

The breakfast looked wonderful, but at over $20 we passed, choosing to dine elsewhere. We heard from several tour guides though that the restaurant at the Andaz has wonderful food. Overall, this was a fantastic stay, and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask about a room with a balcony facing Ellis Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runnindoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

The Andaz was terrific in every aspect. The rooms were VERY clean, have high end door closures (no slamming doors here), complimentary in-room snacks and really comfortable beds. The staff is extremely polite, smile all the time and help with directions to the tons of nearby locations. The pool deck (2nd floor) is so nice for a swim or just relaxing. Our room was a deluxe loft and found these rooms do not have bathtubs or soaking tubs at all, just a walk in shower. The Andaz is SUPER quiet, very clean, in a good location with superior staff. You can't go wrong with a stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Relda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Having never been to Savannah before we chose to stay at the Andaz based on Reviews. Turns out the Andaz was perfect for what we needed. We had a really nice stay and would definitely go back. Here's the rundown:

PROs:
- Fantastic location in close walking distance to just about everything.
- Modern rooms with VERY comfy beds and robes
- Helpful, friendly staff
- Pool area w/ bar and cool fire pit (pool is small)
- Free snacks and soft drinks from the in-room minibar and in the lobby too (there is a fee for liquor and beer)

CONs:
- Shower pressure wasn't great
- Hotel is a bit pricey
- No dedicated concierge. Which a hotel like this should have...though the front desk staff are helpful

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodes244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
1,334 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,752 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#32 of 113 in Savannah
2,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#21 of 113 in Savannah
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Savannah

Property: Andaz Savannah
Address: 14 Barnard Street, Savannah, GA 31401-2521
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Savannah
#2 Family Hotel in Savannah
#2 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#6 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah, Georgia has a whole new hotel experience. With its artful decor, relaxed urban vibe and new South sophistication, Andaz Savannah offers a bold new sleek style and a sophisticated attitude to historic Savannah. Experience a fashionable urban escape across from Ellis Square shopping, nightlife and entertainment at Andaz Savannah.When you're ready to get down to relaxation, our 151 ultra-modern guestrooms and suites are sanctuaries of calming repose. Each of our Savannah, Georgia hotel rooms feature sophisticated textures, a modern color palette, large windows, and surprising decor elements, resulting in a stylish haven of city-chic comfort. Delight in thoughtful in-room details such as king-sized beds cloaked in fine linens, walk-in showers and 42" flat screen televisions - details which make Andaz the most captivating of Savannah, Georgia hotels.For the very best in in Savannah dining, join us for dinner at 22 Square. Our very own "Market to Table" restaurant will delight our guests in the local flavor of the city. Our Chef has gone to great lengths to source out ingredients from local farmers and producers to ensure seasonality and freshness. Our bar at 22 Square takes you back to the "Art of the Cocktail" with hand-crafted cocktails made from fresh fruit juices,homemade syrups and tonics and artisanal liquors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Savannah Hotel Savannah
Avia Hotel Savannah
Savannah Avia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing