We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back! Great Hotel”
Review of Andaz Savannah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Andaz Savannah
Ranked #14 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2011

Not only is this an amazing hotel, you could not ask for a better location. We spent 4 nights here, our second trip to Savannah and we will be back again as we love this city and now will always stay at the Avia. We were upgraded to a luxury suite so it was very spacious and a huge bathroom with separate tub and shower. Room service was one of the best I have experienced and we travel a lot. A very modern and extremely clean hotel, worth every penny!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trav69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVIASavannahGM, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

I am so pleased to read that AVIA is your hotel of choice in Savannah! Thank you for the nice comments regarding room service and the amenities offered in the room.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to hosting you again!

In hospitality,
Pedro Perez, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,776 - 2,782 of 3,155 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2011

This is my third stay at the Avia in Savannah and certainly won't be my last. We have a daughter at college here and stay when visiting her from the West Coast. In a town where you spend your days wandering around the history of the old south, coming back in the evenings to the modern and chic feel of the Avia makes for a perfect match.

The service at this hotel from the valet, front desk, fantastic restaurant and bar, front desk and yes..........you will not pass anyone in the halls who works at this hotel who will not greet you with a smile and a pleasant word or two. Very impressive service here.

The staff in the bar downstairs is A+ and the cheese plates at this little boutique hotel are heaven. You can take your wine out to Ellis Square to enjoy a beautiful evening or up to the fire pit by the pool.

The rooms are nicely decorated, lovely bathtubs and in a steamy town like this, the air will keep your room lovely and cool for sleeping.

I can't recommend this hotel enough - we love this town, it's amazing dining holds everything from hole in wall bbq joints to fine restaurants and bars (don't miss Angels BBQ, Leoci's for italian and the downstairs bar at The Old Pink House).

See you soon Avia.......you always make us feel so very welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OCPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVIASavannahGM, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Wow! We couldn't have asked for a nicer review. Thank you so much for taking the time to post such wonderful comments about AVIA and the lovely city of Savannah.

We thank you for being a repeat guest and look forward to hosting you again and again!

In hospitality,
Pedro Perez, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We chose the AVIA after reading all of the fantastic reviews. We'd never been to Savannah before and wanted to stay somewhere central, yet easy to access. Well - location is everything, and the AVIA is in the prime spot for just about everything! It's a quick trip across the street to get down to the river, it's steps from Ellis Square and City Market, and just a hop, skip, and a jump away from all the other main attractions. We walked everywhere and had no problems. We got parking passes at the visitor center and self-parked in the garage below the hotel which was very convenient.

The first thing I'd like to mention is the staff. They were outstanding. Every person we encountered was poilte and friendly. The afternoon cookies were a very welcome treat after an afternoon walking around the city, and the bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. The lobby area was very cool, and the breakfast/bar area was nice as well. There happened to be a wedding the weekend we were visiting, and I got a sneak peak of the room being set up and it was just gorgeous!

If I have to nitpick, I will say that the room is on the small side - we had room 621 which I believe is one of the smallest rooms available - and we did have a sort of obstructed view of the pool area below. Our room was VERY quiet, which was fantastic and we actually ended up with a tiny sliver of a river view between the surrounding buildings. As another reviewer mentioned, there wasn't much room for our suitcases and I didn't find a suitcase stand/caddy in the room which would have been helpful. The lighting in the bathroom was on the dimmer side, and the light around the zoom mirror in the bathroom didn't work at all. Otherwise, the room was very clean, beautifully appointed, and it was a pleasure to stay at the AVIA.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leeshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

What everyone has said about this hotel is true! I would definitely stay here again. It was very clean and nicely furnished. We had a balcony overlooking Ellis Square and the back facade of The Lady and Sons (Paula needs a new awning!!) It's close to many, many things. Our car stayed parked the whole two days we were there.

Our room was on the smallish side (no extra space for a suitcase caddy), but it was adequate. I found the bathroom lighting to be dim. I needed/wanted more light. However, the nightlight was much appreciated as we like to keep a low light on in an unfamiliar room to avoid kicking something on nocturnal bathroom trips. The shower was fabulous!

I dinged the service because of issues with valet parking. When we were ready to check out, we asked for a bellman and gave reception the number of our valet parking claim check. However, no one told the valet folks -- and our car was not available when we got to the entrace with our luggage. One of the valets made a quick trip to get it, though, so the wait wasn't too terribly long.

Well kept secret -- there's a public elevator between City Hall and the Hyatt to access River Street. We aren't that mobile, and the first trip up and down the stairs was tough. Then we learned of the elevator. We mentioned it to others, who were also very surprised to learn that it existed.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSW47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVIASavannahGM, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

We are so happy to know you found AVIA to be in a great location in historic Savannah within walking distance to many restaurants and shops. I do apologize you felt your room was on the small side. We do offer several room types, so you may want to speak with the front desk prior to your next stay to reserve a room that will meet your needs. I also apologize that your car was not waiting for you upon check out. However, I am pleased to read that our valet retrieved it promptly.

Thank you for choosing AVIA and we look forward to hosting you in the future.

In hospitality,
Pedro Perez, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Just returned from Savannah and a stay at Avia. After reading previous reviews, I had high expectations...and they were all met. The service was phenomenal. I was able to check in early and was given a free upgrade "for waiting". They gave great recommendations for restaurants. When I missed out on the free, freshly baked cookies in the lobby during the day, the Executive Chef (Mark Krystopa) baked another batch at 10pm and had some delivered to my room for FREE. Everyone was very attentive and helpful.

Aside from the fabulous staff, the breakfast was fantastic, the location was great (parking, shops, restaurants, sights, etc.), and the room was perfect (clean, comfortable, quiet, and well-appointed).

I travel frequently and usually stay at a Ritz-Carlton...but I would choose an Avia if they were in more cities.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viajeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVIASavannahGM, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Wow…thank you for such wonderful comments regarding our hotel and all we offer! We're glad we exceeded your expectations and you found the staff at AVIA to be gracious hosts bringing southern hospitality at its finest. We are so thrilled AVIA will be your hotel of choice when traveling, and we can't wait to see you again!

In hospitality,
Pedro Perez, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

Stunning room with fun colors and giant bath tub. We had drinks and small plate at the bar each evening with yummy cheese and ?! wild boar salume! Mary cooking at the breakfast buffet was friendly and cooks some great food. Couldn't pass on the shrimp and grits and the smoked salmon at the buffet. Everyone in the building was friendly and helpful. My 60th birthday trip and Avia helped it be a success!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vt&nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVIASavannahGM, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting a second review of your time at AVIA. Again, we are so happy you had a wonderful time in Savannah for your birthday and hope you will visit us again.

In hospitality,
Pedro Perez, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

We stayed at AVIA April 2 - April 6, 2011. We had a Grand Studio Suite that overlooked the pool and terrace. The room was beautifully decorated, the bed very comfortable and the throw blanket to die for (according to my wife who spent a couple afternoons napping under it). The hotel is located in the Historic District with virtually everything within walking distance. The staff is outstanding and genuinely interested in making your stay as pleasant as possible. We will definitely return to AVIA whenever our travels bring us close to Savannah.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sc0ttn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVIASavannahGM, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

I am so delighted you had a wonderful birthday with your stay at AVIA Savannah. Thank you for the great comments regarding the evening small plates and breakfast offerings. It is great to know you had a memorable time and we hope to see you again.

In hospitality,
Pedro Perez, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,889 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 115 in Savannah
3,046 reviews
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#16 of 115 in Savannah
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 115 in Savannah
1,135 reviews
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Savannah

Address: 14 Barnard Street, Savannah, GA 31401-2521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Savannah
#2 Business Hotel in Savannah
#2 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#6 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $169 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah, Georgia has a whole new hotel experience. With its artful decor, relaxed urban vibe and new South sophistication, Andaz Savannah offers a bold new sleek style and a sophisticated attitude to historic Savannah. Experience a fashionable urban escape across from Ellis Square shopping, nightlife and entertainment at Andaz Savannah.When you're ready to get down to relaxation, our 151 ultra-modern guestrooms and suites are sanctuaries of calming repose. Each of our Savannah, Georgia hotel rooms feature sophisticated textures, a modern color palette, large windows, and surprising decor elements, resulting in a stylish haven of city-chic comfort. Delight in thoughtful in-room details such as king-sized beds cloaked in fine linens, walk-in showers and 42" flat screen televisions - details which make Andaz the most captivating of Savannah, Georgia hotels.For the very best in in Savannah dining, join us for dinner at 22 Square. Our very own "Market to Table" restaurant will delight our guests in the local flavor of the city. Our Chef has gone to great lengths to source out ingredients from local farmers and producers to ensure seasonality and freshness. Our bar at 22 Square takes you back to the "Art of the Cocktail" with hand-crafted cocktails made from fresh fruit juices,homemade syrups and tonics and artisanal liquors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Savannah Hotel Savannah
Avia Hotel Savannah
Savannah Avia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing