We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome historic B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Ranked #5 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
“Awesome historic B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

Awesome historic B&B in the heart of Savanna downtown historic district. Great street, easy walk to downtown shops, restaurants and river front shopping areas. Rooms are great, clean, large and comfortable. The breakfast is very good, both hot and cold options. Wine and appetizers served late in the afternoon are very good; this is a great opportunity to chat with other travelers from around the world. The staff is wonderful, knowledgeable, and pleasant. We highly recommend the Eliza Thompson!! Be sure to dine at the “Old Pink House” when you are in Savanna”

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg1336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    182
    54
    27
    11
See reviews for
135
681
49
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TBauer23@aol.com
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2010

My wife and I spent two nights at the Thompson House with friends. The staff (Kevin, especially) was very helpful in suggesting restaurants, attractions, and directions to them.. . The location was superb, in the historic district, close enough to everything, but not so much in the hubub as to be loud. Excellent appetizers and wine and very good desserts were served in the late afternoon-early evening and at night respectively, in a parlor that was very conducive to visitng with other guests, enabling a comparison of experiences and sharing of information Breakfast was buffet style and average, mainly because it was not personalized (due to there being multiple guests to serve). However, staff did offer to and prepared me a a dish in line with my dietary needs, and the courtyard setting for breakfast was quite attractive. All in all, a lovely place to which I would return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2010

My sister and I enjoyed our stay at the Eliza Thompson Inn. We arrived late and were met on the steps . The staff was very helpful in finding restaurants, tours, and very pleasant. The breakfast in the courtyard was nice also. The room was comfortable and well kept.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choc2dip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

When we arrived, bellhop (Kevin) helped us find a parking spot and even reminded us to move our car the next day to avoid street cleaning. The concierge was also always cheerful and sweet. Completely, loved the extra mile they both went for us. The only thing this place is lacking in is space. Our carriage room was a little modest (about the size of a bedroom in a house with a tiny bathroom). The furnishings were new and well-suited for the room, but the bed was a bit too soft (everyone has different tastes). There is a wine and cheese reception and a later dessert session every night; however, we were too busy exploring Savannah to partake in either. The room was always clean, and was nice to look at, but the nature of this vacation wasn't to spend tons of time in our room. The location was absolutely perfect--walking distance to all of the downtown attractions and placed on the loveliest street in Savannah. What more could you ask for?
**ALSO, skip Lady and Sons--not at all worth it. Instead, you must try Back in the Day Bakery. Their banana pudding and old-fashioned cupcakes made my day.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank acstemec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2010

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Eliza Thompson House this past week on our first trip to Savannah and had a wonderful time.

Location:
You can not find a better location than this. Jones Street is considered the prettiest street in Savannah and now I know why. You are within walking distance of everything. Parking is free on Saturday & Sunday and you can purchase a parking pass from the B&B on weekdays so you don't have to worry about feeding the meters which are watched closely by the Savannah parking people.

Staff:
Kevin was just fantastic and we're still wondering when he finds any time to sleep. He was great about helping us find parking and then reminding us when it was street cleaning night which side we could park on. He also was wonderful about recommending great places to eat in the area.

Angela cooked some of the best breakfast eggs I've ever had and was always as pleasant as could be. She even gave me her recipe.

Room:
We stayed in the carriage house overlooking the beautiful courtyard in a Deluxe King room. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. Being on the ground level and able to walk right out to the courtyard for morning coffee and breakfast was really nice. The room was very clean and furnished with lovely antique furnishings.

Amenities:
We really enjoyed the cocktail hour each evening in the parlour. The food was wonderful and changed each evening. The parlour is a perfect size to get together and talk with fellow guests, get recommendations on places to go and things to do and just get to know some very interesting people.

We will definitely stay at the Eliza Thompson House on our next visit to Savannah and tell all of our friends and family to stay there too.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karklesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2010

We stayed 7 nights at the Elize Thompson. Our room was much smaller than expected. It only had one comfortable chair and no table. Not at all like the pictures. I spilled some hand lotion on our sheets the first night which lift a noticeable mark. Each day we would return from our exploring and turn down the bed. The sheets were never changed the entire week. There was some fuzz on the carpet the whole week too. We can assume the room wasn't vacuumed either. The sink and tub were cleaned but there was a build up of dust on the bathroom floor and baseboards.

The breakfast was satisfactory, considering that it was kept warm in steamer trays. The wine and snacks were a nice touch, but not much variety.

I think if you're only staying 1 or 2 nights you would find this inn charming, but for a whole week....not so much.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyluTacoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
183 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2010

I stayed at the Eliza Thonpson Bed & Breakfast on Feb. 6th as a treat to myself! It was wonderful in every way and I would not hesitate to stay there again!

Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank LoveBug41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#11 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliza Thompson House Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza Thompson House Savannah

Property: Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Address: 5 W Jones St, Savannah, GA 31401-4503
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#3 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#6 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza Thompson House Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliza Thompson House is an exquisite 1847 bed and breakfast inn located on beautiful Jones Street. Recommended by Conde Nast Johansens and known for superior service, this inn is private, peaceful, and just a short walk from Savannah's most-loved historic attractions. Included in your rate are: complimentary WiFi, breakfast, desserts, and wine & hors d'oeurvres. Very close to Forsyth Park, Clarey's Cafe and Mrs. Wilkes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eliza Thompson House Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliza Thompson House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing