We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,370)
Filter reviews
1,370 results
Traveler rating
1,071
196
61
31
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,071
196
61
31
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjones streetwine and cheesebeautiful streetthe main houseother guestsegg casserolegarden courtyarddessert hourhistoric districtbed and breakfaststreet parkingsouthern hospitalityfriesparking passbreakfast is servedevery morningeach evening
Filter
Updating list...
218 - 223 of 1,370 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2017

We gave this historic inn an extra star due to the outstanding service provided by nearly everyone. Here's what to know about staying at the property:
- Kelly was the most amazing in terms of customer service and making us feel at home; everyone else was good too with the exception of one maid who seemed unaware of basic housekeeping etiquette
- There are two parts of the property - the main house and the courtyard rooms (the higher-end rooms are in the main building)
- Furnishings are beautiful and beds are comfortable in the main building where we stayed
- Bathrooms are older and only two bath towels are provided for two guests (puzzling since women typically need a second towel after washing their hair; no plastic shower caps either...)
- HVAC is a wall-mounted unit and a bit noisy, but very good at keeping the rooms at a fairly decent temperature
- While the quality of the wine and sherry is not high, they are drinkable; canapes, dessert, and breakfast were decent given that they were complimentary
- No parking is provided; guests must self-park on the metered residential street, but the bell staff will attempt to help guests find a spot (no valet service though) and work through issues such as street sweeping, etc.
- The "no guest over 21" rule was fine for us as we were seeking a quiet weekend
- It's a 20-minute walk or longer to the City Market or the Riverfront; this can be difficult when the weather is not fair, but Uber only costs around $5 - 6 per ride
The stay was enjoyable overall and the surrounding area is beautiful. If a historic inn with all its quirks and charm is what you seek as a couple vs. a modern property with more amenities, then the Eliza Thompson House may be the right place for you.

Stayed: June 2017
2  Thank LuxFirstTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizathompsonhouse, General Manager at Eliza Thompson House Savannah, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review! We take all reviews seriously and we appreciate your honesty. Your review will allow us to make the crucial improvements that are necessary for our continued success. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our staff and their amazing hospitality. I will make sure I pass along your kind sentiments. We hope that you will have a chance to come see us again in the future, we would love to have you!
Sincerely,
Del Mundle
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2017

I loved staying in this house! The room was beautiful with a view of the lovely courtyard gardens and fountains. I enjoyed the bathrobe and high quality towels and toiletries. There was a very nice evening reception in the parlor with wine, cheese and crackers and sweets, and a delicious hot breakfast buffet in the courtyard with eggs, sausage, grits, fruits and pastries. The other guests were very friendly and the staff extremely efficient, helpful and pleasant. The location is perfect for exploring Savannah on foot, and I greatly appreciated being able to drop in periodically during the course of the day to enjoy the chilled flavored waters and to return in the evening. The area is safe and very walkable, and I was able to buy a parking pass on check-in for street parking just outside the house. I highly recommend this place and look forward to staying here again!

Room Tip: My beautiful room was at the back on the top floor, which was nice and quiet with a lovely view, but required climbing the stairs.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizathompsonhouse, General Manager at Eliza Thompson House Savannah, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2017

Thank you for your detailed and thoughtful review! I will definitely pass on to Chef Shane how much you enjoyed his delicious breakfast! Thank you for recommending The Eliza Thompson House and our beautiful city! We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Del Mundle
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2017 via mobile

Such an amazing place! The B&B is in a lovely and beautiful historic house very close to everything in Savannah. Kelly at the reception is so welcoming and so helpful. The breakfast is delicious. No bad point at all! I will come back again for sure

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DinoQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizathompsonhouse, General Manager at Eliza Thompson House Savannah, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2017

Thank you for your review! We are overjoyed with how much you enjoyed the house as well as the hospitality of the staff! I will be sure to pass along your thoughtful compliments to Kelly and Chef Shane! Hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Del Mundle
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017

We have just returned from a stay here and this beautiful inn is truly worth your time! The house is beautiful with wonderful rooms and excellent service from everyone who works here. The inn is within walking distance of downtown Savannah but is quiet for a restful retreat. The breakfast is outstanding and you eat in a beautiful outdoor terrace. There is wine and cheese and desserts served in the parlor, which allows you to meet the other guests. We meet folks from all over the US, Europe, and even new friends from New Zealand.
The best thing going for this beautiful inn is the exceptional staff! To a person, they are friendly, helpful, professional and attentive to every need. Our luggage was handled by friendly folks; Kelly and the other front desks folks were extremely helpful and just plain fun, and Dale did everything from baking cookies to running the inn. We were so impressed by the level of service--- truly outstanding and exceptional!

Room Tip: Stay in the rooms that face the courtyard.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank _jodyb3317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizathompsonhouse, General Manager at Eliza Thompson House Savannah, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Thank you for your outstanding review! We are thrilled you had such a wonderful time! I will definitely have fresh baked cookies ready and waiting upon your next return!
Sincerely,
Del Mundle
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I had reservations for two nights, but we loved the Inn so much we decided to extend our visit an extra day! Everyone at the Inn were friendly and Chef Shane is amazing!! Great breakfasts, evening hors d'oeuvres and desserts were wonderful!! We stayed in the Lee room and our room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. We will definitely stay here again when we visit Savannah again

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ShillaLovesStAugust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizathompsonhouse, General Manager at Eliza Thompson House Savannah, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

We are honored and pleased you enjoyed your stay as well as extending! I will pass along your kind compliments to Chef Shane and the rest of the staff! We look forward to your next visit!
Sincerely,
Del Mundle
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews