We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautiful room in Savannah”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Ranked #5 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston
1 review
“Most beautiful room in Savannah”
Reviewed February 25, 2009

I have stayed at the Eliza Thompson House several times, and my favorite room is #130. I checked in last night and discovered it has been1 recently renovated. It is even more beautiful then before. Great job to the Innkeeper

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMSavannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    186
    55
    28
    11
See reviews for
141
701
51
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2008

Recently my girlfriends and I took a trip to North Carolina, South Carolina and Georgia. While in Georgia we stayed at The Eliza Thompson House for 3 days. The staff was very, very attentive. The moment we pulled up in front of the house, we had Tony at our car door welcoming and ushering us into the house while he paid the meter and unloaded the car. Check in was a breeze and pleasant. We had reserved the Telfair Room, which was wonderfully sized for the 4 of us ladies. Upon entrance, we found Tony had all of our luggage arranged on stands, our beds turned down, chocolates on the pillows and robes placed thoughtfully for each of us. He also had the forecast for the following day prepared on a card, which was placed by the on CD player at the bed side. These nice touches were repeated each evening. There were 2 very comfortable queen beds, with lovely linens (all appeared to be brand new). The bathroom was not huge, but a fine size. The room had multiple mirrors which came in very handy for all of us getting ready at the same time. Our door opened up to the outdoors and faced Jones Street (the street just in front of the inn). Breakfast was served each morning (on the patio), which consisted of an egg/cheese casserole, hashbrowns, grits, bacon, sausage, yougurt, fruit and a variety of breads, hot drinks and juices. Each evening a lovely spread of appetizers and wine were served in the "living room or lounge". Later each evening, there was a cake and hot drinks available in the same area. There was a computer with internet access always available, with a printer as well in the living room. I found the Eliza Thompson house (as a whole, my room, the house itself, and the outdoors) to be very comfortable and extremely pleasant. The staff really went out of their way to make us feel special and they truly seem to love their jobs. One evening for example we had another guest coming in, which we picked up at the airport. When we returned, there was no parking immediately in front of the house, but instead just across Bull Street. The attendants are so observant, Kevin in this case, saw us arrive and park a bit a way, and he raced over to help with luggage! That was outstanding! I read several reviews when deciding where to stay while in Savannah, and a few times The Eliza Thompson House had dustiness mentioned -- I went out of my way to find some trace and was happily unable!

  • Liked — Everything! Location, accomodations, staff, everything was great!
  • Disliked — Parking, but even this was not a big deal!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank MaryBethOnTheGo-Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2008

I stayed at the Eliza Thompson House for a couple of days prior to moving downtown to a larger hotel for a conference. My conference hotel was large but generic-- it could have been anywhere. It was more or less the same price with no breakfast and they charged 10 bucks a day for internet. At the Eliza Thompson House, however, I could always feel that I was in historic Savannah. The courtyard was stunningly beautiful, and my room with the 4 poster bed (so high that one needs a step ladder to get on--how fun!) and the period furniture was lovely. Yeah, the air conditioning unit was a little noisy, but it's often like that in other hotels, and at least here I had the option of turning it off and just keeping the lovely ceiling fan on. I enjoyed the breakfast and wine/hors-d'oeuvres. I've stayed at many hotels and believe me.. this food is good. I've had worse and I've been charged extra for it. There were always several items to choose from and they changed daily. And there's nothing like coming back late in the evening after a long day and settling on a couch in a cozy historic parlor with a piece of carrot cake, biscotti, and coffee. I'm heavily technology-dependant, so I really appreciated the fact that there was free wireless internet (there's also a computer in the parlor with a printer) and that the alarm clock included a cd player and mp3 output for my ipod. The location is great, on a quiet street surrounded by historic homes and moss-covered trees . You can easily walk from here to any area in the historic district and the waterfront. There are several historic inns in this area but you have to be careful as some of them are located on moderately busy streets or a few doors down from a tourist hot spot. I understand that parking is tricky here, but that's to be expected in any city center or historic district where the streets are small. Everyone who worked at the house was polite and helpful. They gave me a couple of good restaurant recommendations. The famous wilkes boarding house restaurant is just a few steps away. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Location, Decor, Atmosphere, Little Perks
  • Disliked — not the quietest air conditioning unit
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GothikTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tell city
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2008

My Husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon. Neither of us have stayed at a bed and breakfast before. We loved our room and we loved going into the parlor during the evening to have wine and meet with the other visitors. We experienced a couple of odd things but nothing anyone could have helped. We believed our room to be haunted. Luckily, we didn't stay in the room that is considered to be haunted, though we were only a couple doors down from it. The breakfast every morning was wonderful and the staff was great. They are about to start renovating which I wouldn't complain about because you could tell it was due for a change. Either way I still recommend staying there. It's just simply beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kkdeloach80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2008

Needed to have a relaxing and romantic weekend and found it. The Eliza Thompson House offered a spacious room and great amenities. The bell hop checked us in and gave us a great tour, including the history of the Inn.

Wonderful breakfast with everything fresh and the coffee was great! The staff made us feel as though we had been there before with friendly recommendations on where to eat and things to do.

Loved it!

  • Liked — the staff
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2008

All I can say is: I should have read the reviews. This place is not what they make it sound to be. The inn looks fantastic on the website - trust me: it is NOT! Not only is it worn and faded it is also not very well kept. Dirt on the floors everywhere. Go somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BB43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2008

I am not sure where to start. How about the dusty fake flower arrangements in the hallways? Or the front desk agent who was pleasant but not very informed (not to mention the more than casual dress code - crinkled shirt not tugged it). Our room was in the Carriage House (be aware: not more special than a 2 star chain hotel). The furniture was very worn and the entire room looked "unkept". The floor was dirty and I didn't dare to walk around barefoot. Breakfast is a joke. The food is very plain and nothing seems to be made fresh. The selection is large .... but not very good (unless you enjoy previously frozen pastries). It also does not add to the place that the staff hangs around in the breakfast area (which actually is part of the courtyard) after breakfast is over and uses it as a "break lounge area" for them. The had loud conversations and didn't seem to care that everyone could hear them (all that while they were having a leisurely breakfast). The staff needs to be supervised better (I didn't see the manager at all and we were there 3 nights). Savannah us a beautiful city but the Eliza Thompson House is totally over-rated.
To sum it up: dusty & dirty, worn furniture, poorly trained staff, boring and plain breakfast ....... don't go to the Eliza Thompson House.
On a positive note: the ccourtyard is very charming.

  • Liked — courtyard is very pretty and the location is good
  • Disliked — service, dirty room, bad food
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sherylk22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,632 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,000 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliza Thompson House Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza Thompson House Savannah

Property: Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Address: 5 W Jones St, Savannah, GA 31401-4503
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#3 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#6 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza Thompson House Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliza Thompson House is an exquisite 1847 bed and breakfast inn located on beautiful Jones Street. Recommended by Conde Nast Johansens and known for superior service, this inn is private, peaceful, and just a short walk from Savannah's most-loved historic attractions. Included in your rate are: complimentary WiFi, breakfast, desserts, and wine & hors d'oeurvres. Very close to Forsyth Park, Clarey's Cafe and Mrs. Wilkes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Eliza Thompson House Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliza Thompson House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing