We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Ranked #6 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was our first experience staying at a Bed and Breakfast. We look forward to many more.The courtyard was beautiful and serene. This is a great place to stay in the historic district in a lovely quiet area. Everyone is very helpful and nice. The king size bed was very comfortable and they had easy accessible WiFi. The wine & cheese was a very lovely touch after walking around Savannah. We enjoyed meeting other people from around the country who were staying there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Staci G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

662 - 668 of 1,178 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Eliza Thompson house is located on Jones St. This is by far the prettiest street in Savannah. The hotel is nicely done and takes you back to another time. The staff is super friendly and helpful. It's easy and safe to walk to restaurants and attractions. Parking might be a problem but we took a taxi from the airport and never needed a car. The hotel provides a very nice breakfast which you can eat outdoors in a quaint courtyard. Overall, a great experience!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brandstadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Eliza Thompson house in the Fall of 2013 and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were given the "most haunted" room in the house that was on the top floor located inside of the actual original home. We loved reading about the home's history in the book that was located inside of our room. Our room was very nice and we enjoyed the turn down service each evening. The bathroom was a little cramped, but this is an older home that has been converted to a bed and breakfast. The bed was super comfortable and relaxing.

The House is a bit of a hike from River Street and City Market, but if you're ok with walking and/or staying more on the outskirts of the action this is the place for you. We thoroughly enjoyed our leisurely walks back from the "party" scene of River Street and City Market each night.

The buffet style breakfast was excellent. I especially enjoyed the biscuits. In addition, the wine and cheese hour was also a major pplus. My husband and I attended it twice and loved drinking the complimentary wine in the courtyard. We never made it to the dessert hour, but I heard it was nice as well.

Would we come back to the Eliza Thompson House? You'd better believe it! It's a little extra money than some of the other bed and breakfasts in the city, but it's definitely worth it.

Room Tip: If you prefer a quieter room stay inside the main house. If you choose a courtyard room you'll b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We could not have enjoyed ourselves more at this lovely inn as we celebrated our 15th anniversary. We arrived just in time for wine and cheese which we chose to take to the beautiful courtyard. A wonderful atmosphere in the parlor, where appetizers were served, was also available with several couples enjoying a glass of wine and each others' company. Our room, The Liberty on the third floor overlooking the beautiful courtyard, was nice and cool when we checked in....just the way we like it. Staying on the third floor was perfect for us as we prefer to arrive for breakfast a little late.....so no noise from the early breakfast bunch. Breakfast in the courtyard was amazing. Miss Virginia makes the best biscuits ever. We enjoyed meeting other guests including new friends from Florida and Las Vegas. The Jones Street location is near many shops, restaurants, and historic sites. Since we had already been traveling a few days, we took advantage of a very reasonable laundry service at the end of the block. Another highlight was meeting Bailey, a beautiful yellow lab, at the Pink House gift store on the corner. THANKS to ALL of the staff for making our stay so nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our trip to Savannah was really a one night stop over on our way to Orlando but we wish we could’ve stayed longer. When we arrived at the Inn, we were promptly and politely greeted by a gentleman who offered to carry any of our bags. Check-in was no problem and we were in our room in no time. Our Garden Courtyard King room was on the third floor in the corner overlooking their beautiful courtyard. Our room was absolutely gorgeous and that had a historic charm to it. While trying to decide what to do with our short time in Savannah, we picked up some brochures down by the desk and decided on a ghost tour. While we had no luck in making reservations for the Hearse Ghost Tours, the man at the front desk went above and beyond to book us a tour for that night. The next morning after a quick jog around the area, we had a healthy and delicious breakfast in the courtyard. Check out was just as easy as checking in and the lady at the front desk gave us a wealth of information and directions for getting around Savannah. We had a memorable time in Savannah and it all started with the Eliza Thompson Inn. Anytime we’re back in Savannah, we’ll be making reservations here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed in one of the 2 original rooms. To be expected, bathroom is small, but manageable, however, the room was good sized and the bed was SOOOO comfortable. Located on lovely Jones Street. The parlor is charming. The breakfast is really an unbelievable fresh homemade buffet with hot entries, fresh fruit, drinks, and they even had grits. The breakfast courtyard is just beautiful and the old tree with the hanging Spanish moss was perfect. Parking is on the street for $12 per day, a little inconvenient but not impossible. Everything is within walking distance. We walked all over the place... all the squares, down to the waterfront and back. Really doable for anyone. Very reasonably priced compared to the other historic inns.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lv2travelSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

#1 BnB in Savannah Historic District - Don't Look any Further! - we booked Eliza T. after reviewing 100s of Bnbs and others helpful reviews. We initially booked 2 nights and then extended to 3. On the famous and very central Jones st. Just a few steps from all the history - Loved our spacious clean downstairs quiet sanctuary. On street parking with pass, fabulous cooked breakfast with accomodations if needed by Miss Virgina. Erin at front desk was SO helpful, informative and friendly.

We really enjoyed social time at 530 - meeting others from all over the worlds (Aussies. Brits,and a great spread of Yankees and Southerner's) with good quality wines, cheeses and nibbles - inside in drawing room and outside in patio garden - go early for all meals and choose the more spacious tables - beautiful shaded outdoor areas to relax and rest your feet after walking tours of savannah - noble jones private tour - a must! Of note, at least 3 of the guests we spent time with over social hour were repeat guests - 2,3,5 times. This BnB is one of a number owned by a private group of locals and very professionally run.

We were two ladies on a 50th Birthday Celebration - very special - looking forward to coming back with our husbands another time. For two single wormen - choose downstairs - Chatham room - spacious, quiet, calm and clean!

Room Tip: Two ladies (45-50 age) specifically chose downstairs Chatham room - spacious, two double beds, clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nparry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,850 reviews
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 114 in Savannah
1,340 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 114 in Savannah
3,130 reviews
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#16 of 114 in Savannah
1,422 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliza Thompson House Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza Thompson House Savannah

Address: 5 W Jones St, Savannah, GA 31401-4503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#4 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#6 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $164 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza Thompson House Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliza Thompson House is an exquisite 1847 bed and breakfast inn located on beautiful Jones Street. Recommended by Conde Nast Johansens and known for superior service, this inn is private, peaceful, and just a short walk from Savannah's most-loved historic attractions. Included in your rate are: complimentary WiFi, breakfast, desserts, and wine & hors d'oeurvres. Very close to Forsyth Park, Clarey's Cafe and Mrs. Wilkes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Eliza Thompson House Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliza Thompson House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing