We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Southern Hospitality.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Ranked #5 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We now know what "Southern Hospitality" means after staying here! The B&B is centrally located in the historical district within walking distance of parks, museums, and dining. Our room was well appointed, quiet, clean and very comfortable. The staff at the Eliza Thompson House is wonderful. They go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. The wine and appetizer reception was a great time to socialize with other guests as was the desserts and coffee reception. We totally enjoyed breakfast and relaxing in the courtyard. We would highly recommend Eliza Thompson House and would stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,170)
There are newer reviews for Eliza Thompson House Savannah
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

685 - 691 of 1,170 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed at Eliza T House on recommendation of my brother, to whom we gave proper thanks. The reception staff was readily available and helpful, in recommending restaurants and finding us a tour guide for the Bonaventure Cemetery. The wine and cheese time was a good opportunity to meet other travelers, with whom we had some very enjoyable discussions. The breakfasts were decent and fresh. The courtyard is, weather permitting, a delightful place to read, talk, or eat. Our room was smallish, but quite adequate. Everything is clean and well appointed. Last but not least, location, location. It's on the further edge of the central section, away from the river and the traffic. Very, very quiet, encouraging strolling. An easy walk to all the squares, Forsythe Park, and the riverfront. Just lovely. Would definitely return there!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My two sisters and I recently visited Savannah for the first time and wanted to stay in a B&B as opposed to a chain hotel. What a wonderful experience the Eliza Thompson House was! The suite we had was comfortable with lots of southern charm. We totally enjoyed the breakfast in the courtyard as well as the evening ritual of wine and hor d'eourves followed later by coffee and dessert. I can't say enough about the staff who were all friendly, helpful, and courteuous. What a wonderfully enjoyable experience!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shere M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is a beautiful B&B at a great location. Our room was comfortable, clean and roomy. The staff was very accommodating. The garden area was great for their afternoon serving of wines and hors d'ouevres of their evening desserts. And everything served was delicious including the breakfasts.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and I booked our room the day before we arrived in Savannah, our experience from start to finish was wonderful. The hotel itself was beautiful, tastefully decorated and our room and its amenities were very pleasant. The king sized bed was very comfortable, the staff were all very helpful. The buffet breakfast was very nice, there was something for everyone, and the courtyard is mostly shaded and very relaxing. We stayed in a room overlooking the courtyard and could hear the fountain all night, it was very soothing. We will be back to stay again the next time we are in town.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard may experience more noise, but unless you are alight sleeper it isn...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We have been staying in Savannah B&Bs for a number of years, and though this location is not only beautiful, but ideal, there were......well, a few disappointments. The breakfast was not a special well prepared & graciously served Southern breakfast as it is at other B&Bs, but unfortunately it is a buffet (like at a moderate priced hotel) with tired food and very limited selections. The coffee was good.

The courtyard is a lovely place to relax and enjoy the pretty plants & the peaceful sound of flowing fountains, but once again....a HUGE disappointment. Each time my husband & I attempted to visit the courtyard, we were met with the foul odor of one man's cigar polluting the entire area & and when we commented to the staff that the smoke ruins the enjoyability for others, we were told, "well, they can't smoke in the rooms, so they have to smoke somewhere." REALLY? And ruin an entire space for the rest of the paying guests?

Also, there were significant cleanliness issues. We've never had the slightest complaint about any other B&B in Savannah, but this is the last time we will be at the Eliza Thompson House! We will be coming back to Savannah, but we'll be returning to one of our previous choices.

Room Tip: Sorry. There is no restaurant - couldn't delete that accidental rating.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kacie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The house is a true southern classic. My favorite part was the free wine and food in the parlor. It was great to meet others who were staying at the house.

The room was a little small, but the grounds are amazing, and you can walk everywhere. The house is also located on the most photographed street in the country.
Breakfast was gooooooooood as well!! Stay here, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brett A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 114 in Savannah
1,320 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,806 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#12 of 114 in Savannah
3,107 reviews
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#16 of 114 in Savannah
1,380 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliza Thompson House Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza Thompson House Savannah

Address: 5 W Jones St, Savannah, GA 31401-4503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#6 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $165 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza Thompson House Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliza Thompson House is an exquisite 1847 bed and breakfast inn located on beautiful Jones Street. Recommended by Conde Nast Johansens and known for superior service, this inn is private, peaceful, and just a short walk from Savannah's most-loved historic attractions. Included in your rate are: complimentary WiFi, breakfast, desserts, and wine & hors d'oeurvres. Very close to Forsyth Park, Clarey's Cafe and Mrs. Wilkes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Eliza Thompson House Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliza Thompson House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing