We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Ranked #5 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
North Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Southern Hospitality”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This historic boutique hotel sits on one of the most beautiful streets in Savannah. From the moment of check in we had excellent customer service. Our room was very comfortable and clean. I love their complimentary wine and cheese in the parlor during the evening hours.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diamond9517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    188
    56
    28
    11
See reviews for
147
715
52
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed for three nights in February. The property was filled with guests every night attesting to its popularity. Our room was in the back overlooking the attractive interior courtyard and proved to be very quiet. The concierge staff was exceptionally helpful with dinner recommendations and reservations. It is located just a few blocks from the Mercer House which is a must see. Each afternoon there is complimentary wine and cheese. The breakfast was delicious each day and the staff was helpful in accommodating my wife's need for a gluten free breakfast. This is a fun and charming place to stay where you can feel pampered.

Room Tip: Room facing the interior courtyard will be quieter than those in the main house where there is more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I joined my brother and his family for a mini vacation in Savannah. I can't imagine staying in a better place! The Eliza Thompson house is charming, comfortable and lovely.
Our room was spacious and well appointed, breakfast and happy hour was fantastic! (Great Food) We enjoyed having the ability to walk to near by shops and restaurants. We took a Trolley tour, visited the Mercer House (a MUST) and took in the sites on the waterfront.
You have to stay here at least once! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie Rose J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Our favorite place to stay in Savannah
Wine hour is a great way to meet fellow guests and get ideas where to go and where to eat and more travel spots to visit. We go there in February and October
October is really our favorite time.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robin2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soddy Daisy, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Went for a long weekend with some friends. The house was everything I expected from a historic building. Expect some creaks & character! Beds were super comfy, breakfast every morning was delicious and the happy hour was fantastic each day. The B&B even provided menus from some of the local restaurants, which was helpful.
I had a king size bed room that opened up into the courtyard. I was able to hear the fountain all night, which I loved. The bathroom was SMALL but, we weren't in the room all that often, anyway. This is one of the only B&Bs that has a courtyard, so enjoy. Staff was very pleasant and helpful.
Jones Street is one of the most beautiful streets ever. This was my first experience at a B&B and I will definitely be going again! It is within walking distance of everything-River Street, the squares, shopping district, etc. Be aware, this B&B does NOT allow children. It was perfect for our "mom's weekend away" and would be fantastic for a couple's getaway.

Room Tip: If you are a couple, choose a room looking onto the courtyard, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Went for a girls shopping/eating/fun trip. Stayed in the Telfair room(two beds entry from the street). The breakfast was delicious each morning, The staff was super. The happy hour was awesome. The beds were comfy. Great location. Great value. I would definitely stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DannisHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsend, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed overnight at the Thompson House, an anniversary gift from our children. The hotel is attractive from the street & the reception area was well furnished tho a bit shabby. Our bedroom was pleasant and well furnished except for the bathroom. This space made Motel 6 look upscale. The toilet was small and low, the wall and floor coverings were all plastic, the shower faucet didnt work and I could get no hot water at all for a shower. I finally gave up because I didn't want to freeze in cold water. The same situation with the sink, the faucet was cheap and didn't work, I never could get hot water in the sink. This bathroom needs to be completely redone to at least a minimum standard. The towels and toiletries were both way below standard for an hotel of this type. The breakfast was good, the dining room and courtyard pleasant, and the staff seemed to care about the hotel clientele.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryRita39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,741 reviews
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
1,301 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,074 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliza Thompson House Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza Thompson House Savannah

Property: Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Address: 5 W Jones St, Savannah, GA 31401-4503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#3 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#6 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza Thompson House Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliza Thompson House is an exquisite 1847 bed and breakfast inn located on beautiful Jones Street. Recommended by Conde Nast Johansens and known for superior service, this inn is private, peaceful, and just a short walk from Savannah's most-loved historic attractions. Included in your rate are: complimentary WiFi, breakfast, desserts, and wine & hors d'oeurvres. Very close to Forsyth Park, Clarey's Cafe and Mrs. Wilkes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Eliza Thompson House Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliza Thompson House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing