We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming "home" while in Savannah”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Ranked #5 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
TX
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming "home" while in Savannah”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights, Jan. 7-11, 2014, and found it to be absolutely wonderful. We wanted a room with 2 beds, and had our choice of 3 rooms when we checked in. Our room was on the first floor, close to the lobby area (room 121), with a powder room across the hall, which was nice, because with 2 women friends traveling together, one of us could use the "facilities" there while the other might be showering, etc. There were plenty of towels and washcloths furnished, which was nice. We had a view of the street, which was nice. The staff was absolutely delightful, so friendly and helpful, each one. Virginia, the cook, and Shirley, her helper, were always very attentive at breakfast, which was in a glassed-in, heated area off of the courtyard (where one could eat during warm days, which ours weren't!!), and contrary to one negative review I read, the breakfast was not what you get at any other generic standard breakfast buffet. It was delicious, with lots of choices, and delicious grits also each morning! The early evening "social time" in the parlor with wine and hors deouvres was fun, and nice to visit with other visitors. And the dessert time at night was also, except we only partook of that once, because we were too full from dinner out!! The house is located in a wonderful location, at Jones and almost the corner of Bull St., easy walking to places in the historic area. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone--friends traveling together, couples, honeymooners, you name it!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    188
    56
    28
    11
See reviews for
147
715
53
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

On 1/10/14, I stayed at this charming B&B on the beautiful tree-lined Jones Street with a mix of residential homes and a few homes discreetly converted into businesses. It was fun looking at all the lovely homes with plaques indicating when they were built.

I was assigned Room 119, an outside corner room just two short flights of stairs down from the main house. I liked being able to leave from a side door instead of having to pass through the main house/ welcome desk. The room overlooks a courtyard with a fountain. The constant sound of the water flowing didn't bother me at night. It is a good size, well maintained and nicely appointed with dark cherry wood armoire and dresser. There are also two upholstered chairs and a nightstand. The queen size bed was comfortable with a pillow top mattress, which wasn't too soft though. The bathroom was clean with an elegant off white & grey floral wallpaper. The rain shower head was especially nice with a good flow of water.

The staff was friendly. The early evening (5:30pm) snack time was a pleasant opportunity to meet friendly visitors. The staff put out some crackers with cut up cheese, ham finger sandwiches, warm brie, red and white wine, and brandy. Desserts consisting of store bought carrot cake, chocolate cake, cream puffs and decaf coffee were put out at around 8:30pm. When I arrived at around 8:45pm, I was the only one so I just took a cream puff, a small slice of carrot cake and coffee to my room. A few of the guests had told me earlier that they were going out for dinner. Since I had a huge lunch at the highly recommended Olde Pink Restaurant, I decided to skip dinner since I had some of the early evening snacks. For breakfast which started at 8am in the semi-enclosed dining area in the courtyard, there was a good buffet selection of items like fried eggs, mini hash browns, fried fish, sausage links, biscuits, grits, breads, breakfast bars, muffins, milk, orange juice, and coffee.

The location on beautiful Jones street made all the main attractions accessible. It is less than five minutes to walk to Forsyth Park with the fountain. Walking on the parallel Bull street took me to all the main attractions by simply either going straight towards River Street or turning left or right onto side streets for easy access to attractions such as Cathedral of St. John the Baptist (they still had the Christmas displays that are fun to look at, as of 1/10/14), Colonial Park Cemetery, City Market and many squares. The furthest walk was to the Harbor Light off of Bay Street (or River Street). It took me about 5 hours to walk around to see the attractions and shop for sweets at the River Street Sweets including an hour lunch break. It was slightly humid which made the weather feel like 85 degrees. I had to strip down to my tank top at one point. It drizzled intermittently. There were also a lot of trolleys and alternative transportation options.

I thoroughly enjoyed my visit and stay at Eliza.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We spent two nights in this wonderful B&B and highly recommend it.

Location: fantastic, within a short walking distance to all major sights in the historic district; we did not drive and cannot comment on the parking situation.

Room: stayed in room 130, spacious with period details, quiet, bright; the bathroom is dated but as would expect in a historical home

Staff: extremely friendly and helpful

Breakfast: hearty; although it was a bit chilly to sit in the courtyard, it would have been a lovely space to have breakfast

Special features: we appreciated the nightly wine (and Sherry) and cheese (and other delicious savory and sweet treats) as a great opportunity to meet other travelers and their travel tips; wifi works well

Value: we booked ahead and thought the place has a great value

Room Tip: Room 130 is one of the largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tacz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My husband and one of our adult sons stayed at the inn for several nights the day after Christmas. The inn was decorated for Christmas, which added to the charm. The front desk staff is friendly and welcoming, and for first time visitors, give a short tour around the inn. Our room was in the main inn, right outside the lobby and furnished with lovely antique furniture. Both beds were very comfortable and turned down in the early evening with chocolate. The bathroom was charming, but there was only a step in shower with a small tub-like basin; it would have been really nice to have a full bathtub. The only complaint I would make, being in a room directly in view of the lobby, is that whenever we opened our door, guests could see whoever happened to be on the bed next to the door. The included buffet breakfast, held in the courtyard in good weather, and in an enclosure adjoining the courtyard in cooler weather, was excellent...coffee, tea, juice, a quiche-like egg dish, one meat, delicious biscuits, oatmeal, muffins, fruit, cereal, and several other dishes. We missed the cocktail hour because we were always out to dinner, and missed the dessert service because we were too full from dinner, so plan accordingly if you want to partake. The inn is very conveniently located to walk to all of the squares, downtown and the river area. We bought a parking pass when we checked in for $12 so we didn't have to keep feeding a meter. All in all, a delightful visit to a beautiful town.

Room Tip: If concerned about privacy, ask for a room on the second floor. Also, if interested, ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sc1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Very nice B&B in the heart of Savannah. The house is attractive with lovely public rooms. The location is perfect, in the heart of the historic area with lovely buildings and walks all round the hotel. Our room was a bit of an odd shape - long and narrow but nicely furnished with antique furniture including a bed you needed steps to climb up into!! Only issue was it was cold and the heating a bit difficult work out but eventually we got it to heat up!! The staff were mostly pleasant, particularly the guy who showed us round the hotel and the staff who served the food in the evening. The highlight was the array of appetisers and drinks in the evening - fabulous artichoke dip (they gave us the recipe!!!) and a range of choices, followed by desserts later in the evening. Excellent food. Breakfast also good but the breakfast room was cold - beware if you go in the winter!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
2 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The Eliza Thompson House has been our place to stay in Savannah for seven (7) nights on two different occasions this past year. The accommodations and staff hospitality are over the top! The House was beautifully decorated for the holidays. The staff went out of their way to ensure a great experience and offered good recommendations in Savannah. Breakfast was well prepared and filling. The very cordial innkeeper was busy but took time to come greet us and meet friends at breakfast. The Eliza Thompson House is a true Southern experience and we'll be back again to our favorite Savannah B&B in 2014.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first and second floor of the main house are the choice ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We decided to come back to the Eliza during Christmas and were pleasantly surprised at how well everything is running and how beautiful the property looked!
Christmas was in full swing and the tree was stunning! No detail is overlooked here!
Our favorite employees are still there (Erin, Nell, and Brandon) with the exception of Kevin who has left for greener pastures! Everyone was helpful, smiling, and busy working. Nell made us wonderful dinner reservations and Erin arranged a carriage ride before hand. These ladies are fantastic! We again stayed in our favorite room, the J. Stephen (again, make sure you CALL the hotel and request a room). It has a lovely 4 poster bed with a lace canopy and a great sitting area overlooking the garden courtyard. It was clean and comfortable.
Breakfast, wine/cheese, and desserts were delicious and as always, very thoughtful. The breakfast attendant was a nice touch as well, our plates were cleared quickly and with a smile. She even offered to refresh our coffee.
My wife and I wouldn't stay anywhere else. We love Savannah and we love the Eliza Thompson House.

Room Tip: Always call the hotel to make sure of room availability. Main house rooms are nicer, more historic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justified81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,749 reviews
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
1,302 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,078 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliza Thompson House Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza Thompson House Savannah

Property: Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Address: 5 W Jones St, Savannah, GA 31401-4503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#3 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#6 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza Thompson House Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliza Thompson House is an exquisite 1847 bed and breakfast inn located on beautiful Jones Street. Recommended by Conde Nast Johansens and known for superior service, this inn is private, peaceful, and just a short walk from Savannah's most-loved historic attractions. Included in your rate are: complimentary WiFi, breakfast, desserts, and wine & hors d'oeurvres. Very close to Forsyth Park, Clarey's Cafe and Mrs. Wilkes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eliza Thompson House Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliza Thompson House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing