We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly service, good food, could be cleaner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Ranked #5 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Nice, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly service, good food, could be cleaner”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Loved the location, very friendly staff, great breakfasts, comfortable beds. We just think the floors could be cleaner, not vacuumed we'll enough. The bathroom fans were pretty clogged with lots of dust. Otherwise beds we're clean as well as bathtub

Room Tip: Check rooms online. Some are bigger than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lejardinmanom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    182
    54
    27
    11
See reviews for
135
681
49
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Very intimate, low key property for those looking for an out of the way hotel.Love the breakfast which you can take out into the courtyard. Great location to see and wander over all of the history of "Old Savannah". Excellent staff that will look out for any of your personal needs, and within walking distance of any significant historical site in downtown. Many good restaurants nearby as well.

Room Tip: Each room is different and tastefully appointed in the old Southern Style. There is not a bad room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We chose this property based on location, availability (2 month in advance), and price. The location was almost perfect. It was right in the middle of the Historic District with easy walking to the most important sights. It was nice to have each day at 5:30PM complimentary wine and snacks and at 8:30pm some desserts. Some breakfast items were changed each of 3 days we stayed and were very tasty.. My only complaints there were that it was chilly sitting out in the open under the walkway, the food was a little too salty (I guess a Southern tradition), and breakfast began at 8AM. Now for the things we were not happy about. The room was very basic for such a historic house compared to other rooms after spending $210/night total. There was no turn down service each night as described on TA (no big deal). They kept the outside fountains going all night (to aerate the fish I guess), but it was a little irritating. The bathroom was pretty cramp. But the worst part was that the bath tub knobs looked like they were not cleaned for months. They were covered with soap scum and corrosion. It was disgusting (what you might find in a $39 motel). All they needed to do is use Comet or Soft Scrub from the very beginning of the installation each day. I would have given 3.5 stars, but I couldn't so I was generous with 4.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed for a single night - was visiting Savannah because of the book & was very happy to remember, while re-reading it on the train, that Jones Street featured. On the Book Tour that I took, it turned out that Joe Odom & John Berendt lived down the street.

The staff were lovely - I got in at 7am & the lady at reception let me leave my bags with her & directed me to the diner around the corner (Clary's Diner - from the book) for breakfast. When I came back, the room was ready & lovely - great shower, too.

The cheese & wine pre-dinner reception and post-dinner desert gathering was a nice way to meet other guests and breakfast the next morning was really nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Spent the weekend with my husband took the pedicab into downtown Savannah to and from only cost about $10. With some nice restaurant mainly the house and enjoy the ghost tour pub crawl!

Rooms are clean And authentic for the period of the house. Staff was kind and breakfast is nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatesBestGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2013

From help getting into the house with our luggage to a leisurely wonderful southern breakfast (slightly different every morning) in the courtyard; the Eliza Thompson House exceeded our expectations in every regard.The receptionists helped us with reservations, secured rides, watched for our driver and even made sure our reservation at one restaurant was held as she anticipated we might be late. Wine/cheese and the dessert/coffee times allowed a free flow of conversation among participants. We were in a lovely decorated bedroom at the front of the house near reception looking onto the street..we always travel with a "white noise" machine so we heard nothing.This room was wonderful for us..spacious with a sparkling clean bathroom. I'm already looking forward to returning to the Eliza Thompson House.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 55C_Mtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Make the Eliza Thompson House YOUR house while you stay in Savannah. It's located perfectly in the middle of historic downtown. A stone's throw away from all of the little squares that make Savannah America's prettiest town. The staff couldn't be nicer and the rooms are so comfortable. I felt like royalty during my stay. Make sure you take advantage of the great breakfast. The courtyard is perfect too. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,498 reviews
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#11 of 113 in Savannah
2,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliza Thompson House Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza Thompson House Savannah

Property: Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Address: 5 W Jones St, Savannah, GA 31401-4503
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#3 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#6 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza Thompson House Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliza Thompson House is an exquisite 1847 bed and breakfast inn located on beautiful Jones Street. Recommended by Conde Nast Johansens and known for superior service, this inn is private, peaceful, and just a short walk from Savannah's most-loved historic attractions. Included in your rate are: complimentary WiFi, breakfast, desserts, and wine & hors d'oeurvres. Very close to Forsyth Park, Clarey's Cafe and Mrs. Wilkes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eliza Thompson House Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliza Thompson House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing