We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“wonderful long weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eliza Thompson House Savannah

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Ranked #4 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Orangeburg, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“wonderful long weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We celebrated our wedding anniversary here. Don't bother buying a trolley pass, you can walk everywhere from the front door faster than waiting for a trolley. The staff was very nice. We had a courtyard room. I would have loved to see the rooms in the main house, but they were all occupied. Breakfast was ok, great biscuits. We really enjoyed the wine and cheese time. We met people from Canada, Oregon, and Scotland. It was really relaxing sitting around with them having wine in the afternoons. After we met the first day, we all gathered each day to share our events with each other. Our room was very pretty. Climbing up to the bed was no problem at all. It was the perfect blend of privacy and b&b friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    162
    47
    26
    9
See reviews for
120
586
43
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This Inn is in a great location in the historic Victorian district. The wine and cheese and deserts/coffee in the evening was a nice touch and the full breakfast in the courtyard patio in the mornings was fantastic! The bed was a little high but had a stairstep to get into it. I stayed in one of the courtyard rooms in back,not the main house which I think I would prefer. There are some stairs to manage so that could be an issue if you need special accomendations.

Room Tip: Back in the courtyard on the second floor would be my preference. The breakfast is right outside the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Atlgirl108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Eliza Thompson House. The staff was every welcoming and friendly. Erin and the two bellman took good care of us! The innkeeper was friendly and personable. We found the location was superb, quiet and centrally located. We were a short walk from all the city has to offer and we felt we picked the best location possible.

Our room was spacious and bright, we stayed in Eliza's master bedroom. It's the J.Stephen room with a lovely lace canopy bed, separate sitting area and lovely views of the courtyard and of jones street. The fireplace was non-working but added a nice touch in this lovely well cared for home. We loved the courtyard and being able to mingle with other guests. Beats the big box hotels any day!

Breakfast was good. We had a fantastic quiche and good biscuits. We enjoyed the grits and bacon too. Wine and cheese was good, the dessert even better (oh my chocolate cake!)
We will be back to stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReedJus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bound Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
155 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spent only one night here. Our room was very comfortable and homey. The paintings on the walls were classic and enchanting. Our bed was high up but very comfortable. The wine and cheese at 5:30 were a plus as was a complementary dessert later on. The breakfast was good with bacon, sausage, and eggs as well as the usual things. The employees are charming notably Brandon who helped us find a parking spot. The hotel is located in the old section and convenient to all. We stayed in room 131 which is on the 2nd floor in the front and the internet there was occasionally intermittent and the signal weak. Also, there was some noise from the street at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesV1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My girlfriend. and I decided to take a road trip and go to Savannah for the weekend. We arrived at 11pm and were greeted by the staff like we were old family coming home for a visit. The rooms we had were perfect. They were spacious and quiet. Breakfast in the courtyard area was a perfect way to start the day. And drinks in the afternoon were a great way to end our day. The location is ideal with many unique shops close by that any visitor would be tempted to stimulate the local economy. It also is located in a quiet area so there is no noise that could disrupt a good night sleep. We definitely will be back with more girlfriends and maybe we'll bring the husbands too!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cwilsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My wife and I investigated various places to stay at in Savannah for our anniversary. It was our first experience in a bed and breakfast and we absolutely loved it. The food, service and environment were everything we were hoping it would be. It was very quiet and relaxing at night. We would definitely stay at the Eliza Thompson House again.

Room Tip: The courtyard room was very private and pretty view of the plants and Koi fish from the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Eliza Thompson House. I took my mom to Savannah for a "thank you" trip. We booked a room with two double beds. We were a little disappointed and worried when we got a street-level room - but it ended up totally fine. We were never awoken by street noise or by people going into the courtyard via the gate next to our door.

The room itself was huge, though the bathroom was small (expected and not a big deal). My nitpickiest comment is that since there aren't that many plugs in the room - at least not close to one of the beds - I wish the alarm clock was one that had a plug in it so I could put my phone there.

The breakfast was good, though we skipped it a couple of days since we'd been eating large lunches.

The staff was incredibly nice and helpful. The wine and appetizers in the evening were awesome as well. And you absolutely cannot beat the location - do not stay close to the river, we greatly preferred being out in the middle of the historic district.

Overall we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cmjnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 112 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 1,067 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#6 of 112 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#10 of 112 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 2,539 reviews
Downtown
Gastonian
Gastonian
#5 of 112 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliza Thompson House Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza Thompson House Savannah

Property: Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Address: 5 W Jones St, Savannah, GA 31401-4503
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#6 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza Thompson House Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliza Thompson House is an exquisite 1847 bed and breakfast inn located on beautiful Jones Street. Recommended by Conde Nast Johansens and known for superior service, this inn is private, peaceful, and just a short walk from Savannah's most-loved historic attractions. Included in your rate are: complimentary WiFi, breakfast, desserts and wine & hors 'doeurvres. Very close to Forsyth Park, Clarey's Cafe and Mrs. Wilkes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Eliza Thompson House Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliza Thompson House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing