We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Laid back southern charmer.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eliza Thompson House Savannah

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Ranked #4 of 111 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Bowie, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Laid back southern charmer.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

If you are looking to stay in an unhurried location, the Eliza Thompson House is the place. The house is lovely and the staff is attentive. I stayed on the weekend with my mother. Everything you'd like to see and everything you want to do in Savannah is in walking distance.

The rooms are comfortable. Ours was on the first floor right off of the main entrance. The noise from guests was minimal even at that location. But if I have an opportunity to go back, I would request a room facing the courtyard which is lovely. It is not an inexpensive stay. But if you are looking for Southern charm, comfort, and a bit of history, you have found the right place.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    172
    52
    26
    9
See reviews for
126
635
45
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had a small one double bed room with a bathroom that was small because it had no counter space. I guess you give up certain amenities when you stay in a "Bed and Breakfast" type hotel. I must say the price for the room was excellent so I cannot complain about the size of the room as I knew what I was getting and it was just one night. The included breakfast was wonderful and the hotel was located on a beautiful street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2travel720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

The Eliza Thompson House is a beautiful, tranquil bed and breakfast with service that is outstanding. In addition to a nice breakfast every morning, it offers wine and delicious desserts every evening. The entrance to this quaint hotel was always staffed with a person willing to go the extra mile to meet all our needs; such as calling a trolley to take us places, giving us advice on what to see and which tours would best fulfill our desires, and the best places to find that special seafood restaurant. It is a bit expensive but a place that ensured we had the best Savannah had to offer for service, tranquility, and beauty.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaSimonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Located on Jones Street about 9-10 blocks from the River. But very close to everything if you don't mind walking. Just a few doors from Mrs. Wilkes Dining and a few blocks from Forysthe Park. Trolley can pick you up in front for tours if you like. Happy hour was very nice and a lot of interaction from the guests. We had guests from as far away as Austria.

Room Tip: Slept in room 134 overlooking the courtyard. large high bed, tv, 4 piece bath. Lots of stairs, up an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a great place and a wonderful B&B. Close to a lot of historic places in Savannah. The are many eating places very close. We had great meals at Clarys. The cheese and wine hours in the evening were a good place to meet with other visitors and exchange ideas as to where to go and what to do.

Room Tip: We had a garden view room and it is a great upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARBBAQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Kentucky
Level Contributor
153 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

First time to Savannah for a couple of nights. Prefer B & B's over hotels. The exterior of the Eliza Thompson House is very attractive. The inside is another story. This business needs a real deep cleaning. It could be spectacular with a good updating. The parlor couch and chairs need replacing. The carpeting is dirty and worn. The courtyard could be amazing, but it is drab with ground in dirt. A good power washing on the exterior stairs would be a good start. Then power wash the pavers. Two complaints about our room: 1/ The carpet needs replacing. 2/ The air conditioner does not work properly and is very annoying. This place could be brought back to glory.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corvette1871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights in Savannah at this delightful inn. Service with a smile. Everyone went above and beyond to make us comfortable and have an enjoyable stay inside and outside of the inn. Arrangements for reservations, transportation, and sightseeing were made for us which simplified our visit. Breakfast and hors d'oeuvres were excellent and the restful courtyard was a great place to relax. Clean, comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JP G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 111 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,274 reviews
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 111 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#9 of 111 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,723 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliza Thompson House Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza Thompson House Savannah

Property: Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Address: 5 W Jones St, Savannah, GA 31401-4503
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#3 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#6 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza Thompson House Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliza Thompson House is an exquisite 1847 bed and breakfast inn located on beautiful Jones Street. Recommended by Conde Nast Johansens and known for superior service, this inn is private, peaceful, and just a short walk from Savannah's most-loved historic attractions. Included in your rate are: complimentary WiFi, breakfast, desserts, and wine & hors d'oeurvres. Very close to Forsyth Park, Clarey's Cafe and Mrs. Wilkes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Eliza Thompson House Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliza Thompson House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing