We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful home away from home in historic district”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Ranked #5 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful home away from home in historic district”
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights in Savannah at this delightful inn. Service with a smile. Everyone went above and beyond to make us comfortable and have an enjoyable stay inside and outside of the inn. Arrangements for reservations, transportation, and sightseeing were made for us which simplified our visit. Breakfast and hors d'oeuvres were excellent and the restful courtyard was a great place to relax. Clean, comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    186
    55
    28
    11
See reviews for
139
700
50
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pottsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Elizah Thompson House is nestled on a beautiful , quiet Savannah street. When we arrived I felt I had stepped back into a kinder ,more genteel era. The house is beautiful. The antique furnishes in the main room drip with history A well trained staff is anxious to make your stay as comfortable as possible. They are friendly, attentive, and informative. Rooms are well appointed and very clean.
Yummy breakfast! The wine reception is held in the main room but you can enjoy your wine and appetizers in the lush courtyard. Each evening tasty desserts and coffee are served. The wine and dessert provide a vehicle to meet other travelers.
A hidden gem away from the bustle but close enough to walk to points of interest.

Room Tip: We were very happy with the accommodations. How peaceful to look out on the courtyard which contains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamcg13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was one of the best values we have ever experienced in accommodations. The rooms were lovely and the staff was exceptional. A special shut out to Kevin. Breakfasts and cocktails were really something to look forward to. Would highly recommend for a great Savannah experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard garden room? They do not have a swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Located on "the prettiest street in Savannah" did not disappoint with it's trees canopied over the brick streets. Delightful enclosed patio area, quiet and peaceful neighborhood make it ideal for relaxation. The Mercer House and Mrs. Wilkes is just a block or two away... walk everywhere to eateries, shops and town squares. Location was perfect! Staff was attentive, breakfast was buffet, but very good with egg casserole, pancakes, biscuits, 2 meat choices, grits, cereals, yogurt & blueberries. Evening wine & cheese/creckers, as well as a few munchies was nice, too.

Room Tip: Lafayette Room just off the patio and breakfast serving area was very quiet, at a reasonable price f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wichita_KansasDiKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

They have a wonderfully helpful staff, that takes the time to make sure your stay is comfortable. On our stay, the lady at the desk took time to mark a map with all the locations that we wanted to visit.

Our room was in the carriage house. It doesn't have the atmosphere of the room in the main, house, but that is made up for by overlooking a courtyard with fountains and sculpture. Plus it's away from the street, so it's very quite. My biggest criticisms are that the bath room was very tiny and that what ever they cleaned the toilet with overwhelmed you whenever you came into the room.

And it can't be faulted on location. Although it is not in the busier (and noisier) river front section, that is a plus. The hotel is located on Jones Street, often mentioned as the prettiest street in Savannah. It's also more residential and quite. But, it's still in the heart of the historic district and all the attractions that you want to see are in walking distance.

Room Tip: Choose ones in the carriage house for quiet and ones in the main house for character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFMMBCanton_Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed at the Eliza Thompson House April 3rd and 4th. The location was in the historic district and perfect for walking. We stayed in the A. Turner Room on the parlor level. Room was clean and large.The beds were very comfortable and nice soft sheets. The afternoon staff was wonderful. Thanks Kevin and Ella. Breakfast was good. May think about adding fresh fruit. Only issue was I wished that they starting serving before 8am. We could not eat our last day due to our transportation home. Afternoon wine cheese and snacks and getting to know others was very nice. Also enjoyed sweet snacks at night. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank tarheelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
265 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We met some friends in Savannah and the Inn was a great location to base all our walking tours from. The room we had was large but right on the street rather than the courtyard that we enjoy. The afternoon wine and snacks were fun. We were able to meet a wide cross-section of folks. The morning breakfast was hardy and tasty.
We have stayed at this Inn several times over the last 30 years under the old ownership. The new group has done some cosmetic upgrades that have helped but some of the quaintness factor is gone. However, the location and reasonable cost make it still one of our destination places.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimickinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,624 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
2,991 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliza Thompson House Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza Thompson House Savannah

Property: Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Address: 5 W Jones St, Savannah, GA 31401-4503
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#3 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#6 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza Thompson House Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliza Thompson House is an exquisite 1847 bed and breakfast inn located on beautiful Jones Street. Recommended by Conde Nast Johansens and known for superior service, this inn is private, peaceful, and just a short walk from Savannah's most-loved historic attractions. Included in your rate are: complimentary WiFi, breakfast, desserts, and wine & hors d'oeurvres. Very close to Forsyth Park, Clarey's Cafe and Mrs. Wilkes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Eliza Thompson House Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliza Thompson House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing