We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eliza Thompson House Savannah

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Ranked #4 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

The Inn is beautiful and it is located on a lovely tree lined street. The staff is very nice and they are happy to see you arrive at the Inn. They will help you in way possible. We stayed in a room on the courtyard and it was quite and very lovely. The bathroom was a little small but that is what you expect from an Inn so I was not disappointed. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mkimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    172
    51
    26
    9
See reviews for
126
634
45
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I were visiting Savannah for the first time and love to stay at bed and breakfasts. We wanted a historical location with a garden area, that was not located in the hustle bustle of downtown, that had vegetarian options for breakfast and that was not too far from running routes. After narrowing it down to the 3, we chose the Eliza Thompson and we are SO happy that we did.

GOOD POINTS: it was built in 1847 but shows off like a home of 2012, there are ghostly occurrences in the main building, it has vegetarian options for breakfast (the buffet has something for everyone), it is 2 blocks from Forsyth Park, which is a main running park - approximately 1 loop = 1 mile, and it's on a quiet street about 4 squares from the hustle bustle of River Street – meaning you can leave the car and just walk everywhere.

NOT SO GOOD POINT: although not a deal breaker for us, this property is not ideal for those with wheelchairs. Although they do have a couple of first-floor rooms that face the street, getting to the breakfast and garden areas would be challenging.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

The staff was attentive, and wanted to please us. Very clean, well located, and easy access to everything in historic area. I actually would stay again. The bed was very comfortable for a king.
Breakfast good as it was complimentary as part of the B&B. They might have wanted to some lower calorie options, low fat yogurts, cereals, fresh fruit. Wine, snacks and deserts at night were great. They were not drawing lines in the sand if you arrived after the end of "happy hour"

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larrysd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Location and aesthetics are the top reasons to stay at this home. The house is beautiful and is on Jones Street - one of the most beautiful streets in Savannah with large, old tress and brick street. The staff was friendly and welcoming and a nice perk is the wine and cheese reception nightly in the main room downstairs. I've stayed in a few other Bed & Breakfast homes and I'm used to encountering hosts/hostesses who live in the home and create the personal vibe and feel. This home is run by a company so employees staff the home in shifts. They are all friendly and great, but the home lacked the personality of a true B&B. The breakfast was decent but quarters for eating are tight if the courtyard is full and/or if weather is in-climate. Overall the experience was great and the room/house were both beautiful! A great value for the price as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EventGuy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Lake, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for the thanksgiving weekend for 3 nights. We stayed in room 137 the Lincoln room, I believe. The room was very nicely appointed, yet the bathroom was extremely tiny. No where to keep toiletries and very few electrical outlets. The overall look of the room seemed cleaned,. Yet when I searched for an outlet for my phone charger, behind night stands, bed and dresser, found it to be very dirty. There were empty water bottles, wrappers from candy and lots of dust. The bed was comfortable and Had a nice flat screen tv. The best part was it's location, very convenient. The biggest negative I found was it really wasn't a bed and breakfast, more of a hotel. The breakfast was fair at best and very simple. We expected a better breakfast for this type of accommodation. Everyone on the staff was friendly and helpful. I personally would not stay here again, because if I want hotel accommodations, I would stay in a larger hotel with more space.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sutiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bell, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Greeted with a friendly welcome from the staff, almost like they were waiting for us to arrive. Stayed in the "Telfair" suite. Room was nice and true to the period of the Inn. Enjoyed the street front entrance to our room which was an unexpected surprise. Jones street and the entire B and B experience was well worth any extra compared to local hotels. Would have a hard time staying any place else now. Walking distance to everything. Will be back. Our twelve year old daughter (most likely the only child there) was made to feel special as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel4fun3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Everything about this place was perfect. Definitely an adults only kind of place however. Charming, cozy and romantic are the best things I can say. It is perfectly located in the residential area of the historic district so it was nice to spend time in the nightlife on the north side and come back to a nice quiet setting to end the evening. So glad I chose to stay here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#9 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,720 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliza Thompson House Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza Thompson House Savannah

Property: Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Address: 5 W Jones St, Savannah, GA 31401-4503
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#3 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#6 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza Thompson House Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliza Thompson House is an exquisite 1847 bed and breakfast inn located on beautiful Jones Street. Recommended by Conde Nast Johansens and known for superior service, this inn is private, peaceful, and just a short walk from Savannah's most-loved historic attractions. Included in your rate are: complimentary WiFi, breakfast, desserts, and wine & hors d'oeurvres. Very close to Forsyth Park, Clarey's Cafe and Mrs. Wilkes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Eliza Thompson House Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliza Thompson House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing