We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful stay, again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eliza Thompson House Savannah

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Ranked #4 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay, again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I have stayed with the Eliza Thompson House many times before and this time was just as wonderful! It was our honeymoon and there was no doubt where we would be staying!
The staff, again, were wonderful and friendly as we've come to expect! It's nice to see dedicated people, many of whom have been there for years. It's like coming home each time we stay! Erin, Nell, and Kevin were amazing as usual!
We always book the J. Stephen room, overlooking Jones Street and The Garden Courtyard. It was Eliza's master bedroom and our personal favorite. Ms. Virgina out does herself with breakfast! (despite what one reviewer said). The pancakes were so yummy, we had seconds! We come for the beauty of Savannah, but stay for the genuine hospitality of the staff at the Eliza Thompson!

Room Tip: To get the best room, call. Do not book online! Stay in the main house, even if it's more expens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justified81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    164
    50
    26
    9
See reviews for
123
600
43
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a beautiful old home with lots of charm. It is over 150 years old, so you can expect that everything is not like a modern Hyatt, thank goodness. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, and the food at Breakfast, Cocktails, and Dessert and coffee was very good. The food is put out in smaller quantities and then refilled as needed so was fresh and hot. The chafing dishes were electric, so did not have a flame and water visible underneath, as someone else complained about. Some of the rooms are smaller, but in the house itself they are lovely, and rooms over the courtyard are very quiet and comfortable. The location is terrific, near everything but not in the midst of frantic tourists. Savannah is lovely.

Room Tip: The Lincoln Room is very small with a king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rickjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

If you're looking for a classical B&B experience in the heart of the Savannah Historical District, the Eliza Thompson House may not be for you. On the plus side, the ETH on Jones Street is right in the heart of the district, surrounded by antebellum ambiance. The staff is friendly and helpful, and their parlor is a great place to mingle with fellow guests during the daily 5:30 to 7:00 pm wine & cheese gathering to exchange the day's experiences before venturing out to dine.

On the minus side is their steam-table breakfast. If you have visions of sharing a special southern breakfast in a Victorian dining room with guests, hosted by B&B owners , you can forget it at the ETH; there is no dining room. Instead you get a serve-yourself offering indistinguishable from the fair provided at freeway hotels: an uninspired egg casserole, bacon wallowing in its grease, sausage patties almost rendered to leather, package muffins and cereals, a bowl of apples and bananas, and yogurt. You get to toast your own bread, serve your own coffee, etc. And "the South" was announced by an offering of grits. The adjoining courtyard with its fountain is quite nice, but not the place to dine on blustery mornings such as we experienced during our stay. The alternative is to be seated at small tables next to the steam table line in a drafty ground floor space warmed by overhead heaters. The blades of the overhead fans in this area cried for a good cleaning.

We stayed in a rather small, but comfortable and clean motel-style room that was part of a three-story L-shaped addition attached to the back of the historic ETH. A peek into rooms of the main house confirmed that classical accommodations are available. The bottom line is that the ETH did not meet our expectations of a $200/night B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

While this is a historic property and convenient to everything in Savannah, it certainly is not your typical B&B - the property is more like a Holiday Inn experience. Room was musty and needed attention. The property is managed by a property manager and NOT OWNERS, and all staff is employed so no interest in the property other than a job. Did not have the touch or feel of a Bed and Breakfast where breakfasts are homemade and served. This was outside in a courtyard area, not enough tables for all guest, you had to clean up your table and put your dishes in a tub when you were finished. If you just want a place to stay this may be it but for the price you can choose a property managed by owners on site and have a TRUE B&B experience.

Mary

Room Tip: if you want a B&B check for OWNER run properties not properties that are managed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great location, lovely street, grim rooms, dirty kitchen. Our room had two windows that were sealed shut and, although it was a lovely 60 degrees outside we had to run the noisy air conditioner unit to cool the hot room down. The bathroom was low-end motel quality with scrapes in the wallpaper covered with butterfly shaped wallpaper band-aids. The pillows were hard foam. The kitchenette downstairs was filthy. Savannah is the prettiest city and I wish there was an equally lovely place to stay. This is not it!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank decarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My 18 year old niece and I enjoyed our annual trip to Savannah. It was her first time to Savannah and her first time staying in a bed and breakfast. The location is close to all of the action, but still quiet at night. The Staff was welcoming, and Kevin,in particular, was very attentive, helped us with dinner recommendations, parking, and was always just around the corner with a smile. The rooms and beds were very comfortable. We enjoyed the morning breakfast, afternoon reception and the beautiful courtyard. We walked everywhere, and always felt safe. I would highly recommed this location to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streatley
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at this beautiful Inn. Our room overlooked Jones Street and was very quiet. We enjoyed excellent wine and cheese in the courtyard before dinner. After walking to a nearby restaurant with local friends, we returned to have dessert and coffee--superb. We had a tasty and filling early morning breakfast buffet in the courtyard on our last morning, which included eggs, cheese and vegie casserole, grits, sausage, biscuits, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, juice and coffee. We will definitely return to this Inn. Location is close to restaurants, shops, and 10 minute walk to the river. We never used our car.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Streatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 112 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 1,097 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#6 of 112 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#9 of 112 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 2,604 reviews
Downtown
Gastonian
Gastonian
#5 of 112 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliza Thompson House Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza Thompson House Savannah

Property: Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Address: 5 W Jones St, Savannah, GA 31401-4503
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#6 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza Thompson House Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliza Thompson House is an exquisite 1847 bed and breakfast inn located on beautiful Jones Street. Recommended by Conde Nast Johansens and known for superior service, this inn is private, peaceful, and just a short walk from Savannah's most-loved historic attractions. Included in your rate are: complimentary WiFi, breakfast, desserts and wine & hors 'doeurvres. Very close to Forsyth Park, Clarey's Cafe and Mrs. Wilkes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Eliza Thompson House Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliza Thompson House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing