We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in the Historic District on a beautiful street.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Ranked #5 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Eliza Thompson house is in a great spot in the historic district of Savannah. Jones street is beautiful and walking distance to almost all attractions. The rooms are nice and the service was great. They offer breakfast, afternoon tea, and dessert. I would recommend staing in the main house which is where we stayed in one of the larger rooms. The house has a garden courtyard in the middle which is very nice.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 130. It is the largest room with views of Jones st and the cortyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaharts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

920 - 926 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

As others have mentioned, the staff at the Eliza Thompson House is wonderful (Brandon especially was helpful and welcoming). We enjoyed the wine and appetizers as well as the coffee and desserts as others have mentioned. We were on a motorcycle, so parking wasn't much of an issue, but I can see how it would be.

Location is okay - nice, quiet neighborhood (we didn't want to stay too close to River St. as we're not big partiers). Forsyth Park is only a few blocks away.

Room - we stayed in the carriage house. The bathroom was smaller than those even in Europe - don't expect to have both people getting ready at the same time! Other than that, the room was fine and bed was comfortable.

Breakfast - sufficient buffet was served. They say 8am (we are earlier risers and were ready before then), but don't expect all the food to show up until about 8:10. The food is kept in chafing dishes, but there is no flame below the food, so it gets cold! Makes no sense. Each day was at least 1 type of egg, oatmeal, cereal, yogurt, breads/muffins.

The free shuttle (called "Dot") has a stop a few blocks away. Just walk about 2-3 blocks, then turn left. The stop is in front of the Mellow Mushroom (on Liberty I think). Just look for the purple sign. Yes, you have to ride around Savannah for a bit to get to your destination, but how bad is that? So if you don't feel like walking to / from River St, this is a (free!) alternative.

Room Tip: Carriage House rooms are quiet, but the fountain will either keep you awake or lull you to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Braveslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed one night. Wine and Cheese hour was very nice - lobby was a little warm - could use a little more air conditioning. Room was ok. Very little room to walk around the bed. Was in a room under the front porch - only one small window. Humidifier was terribly loud during the night making it rough to sleep. Breakfast very nice. Staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed one night on way to a cruise. Called to make reservation and asked for a military discount. Hotel rep told me to book online as it would be a lower rate than booking with her. That impressed me. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Bellstaff there right away to help with luggage. Room overlooking garden was very nice and clean. Wine and cheese in afternoon. Desert in the evening and Im not talking just some cookies. Complimentary breakfast in garden was very nice. Location is great-walking distance to all sights. Parking on street was no problem at all. Since we were staying only one night we didnt need parking pass or money in the meter until 8am next day. BUT read signs carefully because they do street cleaning certain nights. In any event desk person was able to explain parking very clearly. I would definitiely stay there again and highly recommend Thompson House.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankiboy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Eliza Thompson House is a very lovely b & b. Breakfast, wine & cheese, and nightly dessert service were all well-done. The staff was exceptional in providing suggestions and service. The location is superb; Savannah is very walkable, and I felt I got a great feel for the city staying in a more residential area, but still had easy access to historical sites, restaurants, and the riverfront. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here during a week long rode trip in August. Out of six very nice overnight stays in places such as Daytona Beach, Jeckyl Island, Hilton Head and Charleston, the Eliza Thompson House was voted the favorite stay by both of my daughters. The location was perfect and was within walking distance to everywhere we wanted to go. We stayed in an awesome room in the main building that had 2 queen beds. It was very clean and quite roomy with great character and decor. I can't even begin to describe the hospitality we were shown during our stay. We were very fortunate to be able to park on the street where our car was basically right outside the door to our room. We barely stepped out of the car and a friendly young man named Brandon was right there to greet us and show us our room. After we were all checked in Brandon gave us a tour of the premises and then made the perfect recommendation for a quick, inexpensive, delicious meal. (Be sure to check out the Beer Parlor which is about a 5 min walk from this inn) During our stay we enjoyed every amenity from the robes in the room to the chocolates before bed to breakfast where my daughter was even able to request unseasoned eggs. The Eliza Thompson House provided us a fabulous stay for a very reasonable cost. The only regret that I have is that we could only stay one night. I can't wait to visit again . . . hopefully in the very near future!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2travel127127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Location of this B & B was excellent, in close proximity to all the attractions and restaurants allowing you to walk almost everywhere. Parking is a problem- very difficult to find parking spaces on the proper side of street due to street cleaning overnight. This is not your typical B & B, much larger so you do not get the personal interaction with the owners as you would with a smaller one-almost has the feel of a small hotel. Rooms were good, beds and showers very nice - along with the roar of the air conditioner which is quite common in these older places. Breakfast was ok, certainly sufficient but if you are looking for that great , gourmet breakfast in more typical B & B's this is not the place. As far as the complimentary dessert each night, ok if what you like are thawed out frozen desserts- certainly did not appear to be made from scratch. Only other problem was this one thing- shortly after returning from breakfast our lower level room had a sewer smell? Only lasted for minutes but not very nice- very strange and my roommate said she she smelled the same thing overnight. All in all, an adequate place to stay- if I returned to savannah I would most likely look for a different place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatySt_Louis_Mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,845 reviews
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 114 in Savannah
1,337 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 114 in Savannah
3,125 reviews
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#16 of 114 in Savannah
1,416 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliza Thompson House Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza Thompson House Savannah

Address: 5 W Jones St, Savannah, GA 31401-4503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#6 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $164 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza Thompson House Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliza Thompson House is an exquisite 1847 bed and breakfast inn located on beautiful Jones Street. Recommended by Conde Nast Johansens and known for superior service, this inn is private, peaceful, and just a short walk from Savannah's most-loved historic attractions. Included in your rate are: complimentary WiFi, breakfast, desserts, and wine & hors d'oeurvres. Very close to Forsyth Park, Clarey's Cafe and Mrs. Wilkes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Eliza Thompson House Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliza Thompson House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing