We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming B&B with great staff for a girls reunion trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn
Ranked #6 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Charming B&B with great staff for a girls reunion trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Savannah and the Gastonian were perfect for the first reunion weekend of three high school friends after many years. We hope this is the standard for future trips. Every review mentions the staff, and their friendliness and helpfulness is also at the top of our list. James, Mario and Lakeshia invited us into "their" kitchen to sit at one of the small tables set up there, and visiting with them while eating their wonderful breakfasts was the perfect way to start our day. And the food just kept coming; hors d'ouvers at 4:30 and dessert at 8 were too good to pass up. We walked our feet off for three days, and it was very relaxing to meet and talk with other guests before dinner each night. We reserved both a double double and a queen, which was good because the claw-foot tub was too high for an older person (me) to climb into, so we all used the walk-in shower in the double-double. It was 90 each day, so those showers were important. Garden between the two buildings was lovely.

The location was accessible to the historic district and Forsyth Park, so we took a food tour and a separate personal tour related to the book "Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil" which really made the book/movie come alive in the context of the real Savannah of those times. the guide clarified what was true and fiction, and many of the participants in the real story are still alive today.

We ate at Crystal Beer Parlor (where the locals go), Olde Pink House and at North Beach Bar and Grille on Tybee Island next to the lighthouse (also a local hangout). All were excellent. We thought the Pink House was "overhyped", but good food and great service. As native southerners who have eaten in historic homes before, it was not something new. We really prefer to avoid the tourist spots.

A terrific trip.

Room Tip: This is a historic town house, which requires climbing a steep set of stairs just to the main (1st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    108
    39
    27
    26
See reviews for
64
559
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

The service is incredable. We had a cab waiting for us at the airport that the inn helped to set up. We tend to visit modern B&B's so this one was a little bit of a stretch for us. It is more victorian in decor and service is very formal. We like to sit and chat with our inn keepers because they have great insight to the local places and history of things. We felt very secluded in our room, and it was difficult to get anything from the house because we had to go out onto the street and the door locked later at night. The food was alright but I think I would have rather stayed at a hotel and purchased breakfest daily. It was mostly what I could have made at home. It was nice to have snacks and wine at night but a beer option would have been nice also. It was fun to talk with the other guests at these gatherings. The room was always well maintained and clean towels daily. I would have liked to have the option to resuse my towels at least one day. The turn down service was a nice touch that always left a sweet treat on my robe. Also having a card with the next days weather is a nice touch. We coulnd't access the wi-fi from our room, although we could get the signal in some areas (only the area by the desk) we could not connect.

Room Tip: Our room was not in the main house but actuall outside under the dinning room. Used to be the old k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Gastonian for our Honeymoon in Savannah. We absolutely loved our stay! The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. When we arrived the woman at the front desk greeted us with delight and insisted on carrying our bags for us to the second floor. We were so impressed with the overwhelming hospitality. This place couldn't have been a better place for us to spend a relaxing honeymoon after a whirlwind week of wedding festivities. We can't wait to make this our anniversary getaway and experience the wonderful time over and over again! This place will never disappoint!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights June 2nd room was fantastic breakfast superb evening desserts amazing but what really separates the gastonian from other Inns is the staff so helpful so friendly cannot rate this place highly enough

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenk741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I began our vacation with a week at Disney World but wanted a more romantic and relaxed end to the trip so we chose to drive up to Savannah for three nights to unwind. We are luxury hotel kind of people and were very leery of doing a B&B type accommodation. We debated about choosing a more modern hotel like the Andaz or the Bohemian but thought we would be short changing ourselves out the "Savannah" feel of the trip. We chose the Gastonian room 200 and made an outstanding choice. Room 200 is the old carriage house of the property built in 1868. The Gastonian is a marvel, rich in history matched only by the welcoming and charming employees that truly make you feel as if you're home. Upon arrival, Fred was a great help in finding parking and assisting us with our luggage. The three concierges (Lance, Lola and a woman I can not recall her name) were also very welcoming and helpful. Lance ordered a petty cab one evening that peddled us to our evening destination which was a wonderful option to see Savannah. My wife and I were even more blown away the next morning when we met Lakeshia. My wife and I planned to stay in our carriage house room and avoid the awkward morning breakfast with other guests so we had "tray service" and Lakeshia brought us our breakfast along with a smile. The next two mornings we decided to have breakfast in the main kitchen area and had the pleasure to meet James. James cooks the most delicious scrambled eggs. We really enjoyed talking with James and Lakeshia in the morning and they made us feel as if we were home and helped start our day off on the right foot. The whole staff was excellent and the owners should be grateful to have such excellent employees working for them. Savanna did not disappoint. Make sure you hit The Olde Pink House, Vinnie Van Go-Go's pizza, Mrs. Wilkes Boarding House (it's worth the wait) and Leopold's Ice Cream. We also would recommend a ride on the Olde Town Trolley, a visit to Bonaventure Cemetary and a tour of Mercer House. River Street is a lot of fun as well. I would stay away from Elizabeth on 37th. Savannah is truly a city to behold! Thank you Gastonian and thank you Savannah!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is a lovely inn with a very friendly, courteous and helpful staff. Our rooms were very nice, although the clawfoot tub/shower was a bit tricky. The food was very good. Breakfasts were excellent, but we would have enjoyed a little more variety from day to day. Wine and snacks in the afternoon were nice. We did not take advantage of evening cordials and desserts, but they were nice enough to set a plate aside for us.. Not real close to shops and restaurants but doable if you like to walk. If not (or if you're wearing heels), the pedicabs are fun.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Wow, what a night! My husband & I just spent last night at the Gastonian B&B to celebrate our 29th wedding anniversary! The staff were all very welcoming, attentive, & charming. We had a gorgeous suite overlooking the beautiful courtyard, as well as lovely Gaston street! The evening wine & appetizers were scrumptious, & so was the breakfast this AM. We found champagne & desserts in our room last night with a card from the staff wishing us a happy anniversary! Needless to say, we didn't want to leave! Hoping we'll be able to return for our 30th next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn

Property: The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn
Address: 220 E Gaston St, Savannah, GA 31401-5612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a classic, elegant residential atmoshpere and unsurpassed service. Private gardens, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, complimentary wine and hors'doeuvres reception in the early evening, and complimentary homemade desserts and cordials at night. Other amenities included in your rate are free parking, free wifi and complimentary turndown service. AAA 4-Diamond Award winner and a Diamond Collection Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gastonian Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing