We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Stay at the Gastonian” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn
Ranked #6 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Galloway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay at the Gastonian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I spent five lovely days at The Gastonian. The house was decorated beautifully. The staff was exceptional throughout our stay. We enjoyed a full breakfast , afternoon wine & hors d'oeuvres, as well as dessert and port/sherry each day. The location was absolutely perfect. I would highly recommend staying at The Gastonian for your visit to Savannah!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank srsnj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    105
    38
    27
    26
See reviews for
62
551
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had our small "elopement" wedding at the Gastonian. booking was very easy. the honeymoon suite was booked for months in advanced on the weekends but we were flexible and stayed Monday through Wednesday. we booked about a month in advanced, i received a few emails to nail down the details for the ceremony and everything went smoothly. the staff was wonderful. they went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect. we were able to take pictures all over the building after the ceremony. the ceremony was perfect and beautiful in the courtyard. they booked the Minister, Chad Baker. he was awesome. i was a little nervous not having met him til i was walking down the isle but he was so great. at the end of the night we had chocolate covered strawberries and wine in the room. the whole wedding experience was perfect. we didn't want to leave!
Lola was the best part of the staff. she was very friendly and entertained us in the parlor in the evenings with wine and jokes. we were very spoiled while we were there.
my husband and i are 25 years old, we were by far the youngest guests there. it was quiet and relaxing. my parents stayed in the hotel with us and they loved it just as much.
the room was amazing. the bath tub could fit 8 people! the room was very clean for a building being over a hundred years old. we always had fresh towels that smelt amazing.
we are planning on coming back for a 1 year anniversary.
the only complaint i would have is the parking, but its not really their fault for old city streets.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stay here on weekend away upon return from deployment and what a wonderful time. The rooms are grand- eclectic and fun.....the service outstanding and the breakfast so good and plentiful that we almost (maybe not) didn't make our pilgrimage to Mrs. Wilkes's Boarding House

Great location- walking distance to all the best of Savannah

That said- it is a "Bed and Breakfast" within two historic 19th centuries buildings- I read some of the reviews in regards to issues with parking and noise and heating/cooling. None of these should overcome the charm of the Gastonian and if they are- look into the Hilton

Highly recommend

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jameslfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Really liked the location in the Historic District close to Forsyth Park....however, don't book the "old kitchen" room that is in the basement....Noisy, with traffic on street, the main kitchen right above where they start cooking at 5:30 AM each morning. Bad smell in the room. Security a concern too because it has access right out to the street adjacent to the B&B...we eventually got moved after two nights in that hell hole....after that, the next room was great and the service is A-Okay.

Room Tip: Make sure not to book "The Old Kitchen" room in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were told of the 2 rooms (2) nights I booked, our room would be upgraded. Not so. Avoid the room called the " old kitchen". Sleepless night. Next to noisy road and buildings' machines,walking feet in above kitchen. Double parking is necessary, yet isn't too much of a problem. I did call and requested information on using the tv remote and I was told "just play with it" it never did work for us. Breakfast arrived 40 minutes late.They told us we were first to complain. "Not true" another couple was moved to another location from the "old kitchen" room the night before we arrived and we met them on checking out. However Karen, the assistant director, did move us to the Marshall for last night stay and that did work for us. Monies will be refunded 'comped'. Other then these incidents my son and his wife enjoyed their stay there.

Room Tip: Avoid "old kitchen room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOCRLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Booked the Gastonian thru Expedia at last minute. We were thrilled with our choice! The staff and hospitality was phenomenal. Our room was beautiful. The host made arrangements for a city tour and had the bus pick us up at the door. It was great. My daughter can't wait to return with her fiancé.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LannieBry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The good: hotel is lovely, and convenient to the historic district; the beds are comfy and the rooms well-appointed; the food is good; the concierge(s) are helpful and sweet (Lola was particularly helpful with dinner reservations). The bad: buildings are really noisy; you can't control the temperature in your room so we were alternately too warm or too chilly on our early March visit (had to sleep in bathrobe one night!); but most troublesome was the erratic maid/kitchen service. One night the maid removed the pillowcases from our pillows and never replaced them, and the same glasses sat (dirty) in our room for 4 days. On our first night we requested that our breakfast be delivered to our room. It arrived 40 minutes late and was not what we ordered. The next morning we decided to eat in the dining room. We waited 15 minutes for a table, and then were seated at a dirty table cloth. We sat for 30 minutes before our breakfast was delivered. The next 2 mornings we were seated immediately and got our breakfasts in about 15 minutes. The hotel was completely full during our stay and apparently the staff were over-whelmed. I wish I could give a better review but for this price, I honestly couldn't recommend the place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PAJX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,449 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#10 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn

Property: The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn
Address: 220 E Gaston St, Savannah, GA 31401-5612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a classic, elegant residential atmoshpere and unsurpassed service. Private gardens, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, complimentary wine and hors'doeuvres reception in the early evening, and complimentary homemade desserts and cordials at night. Other amenities included in your rate are free parking, free wifi and complimentary turndown service. AAA 4-Diamond Award winner and a Diamond Collection Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gastonian Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing