We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B so far...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn
Ranked #7 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best B & B so far...”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Gastonian in September, for our annual vacation. It did not disappoint. From the moment we checked in, until the minute we left, we were treated like Royalty. The Gastonian has an ambiance about it, that cannot be matched. The room we stayed in was wonderful (The Garden Room), spacious, comfortable, with a touch of "old world", and the bed was comfy. I loved the fact that there was a fireplace in our room, and even though it was quite warm during our stay, we did put it on the first night, but only then... Our room was very clean, too - which is EXTREMELY important to me.. The cleanliness and smell of a place will make or break it for me, in the first ten minutes of being in a room... and this place made my "grade"! We even had our own private entrance, with a small pond and seating area outside our door. This made us feel like we were "home", as we are gardeners/ponders, too! The breakfasts were "To die for"...We were given personalized breakfast menus, and could choose to dine in our room or join the other guests for family-style breakfasts, which we did, as we like to meet people from other areas. The afternoon Repast's were wonderful, and we had a fantastic time socializing with the other guests. The evening desserts, also, were wonderful. Walter, one of the staff members, is truly a gem. The second day there, my husband noticed there were chocolate covered strawberries in the 'fridge, and commented on my love of them... They had been made up for another couple for a "special", but they decided not to have them...unbeknown to us. While we were gone for dinner, Walter placed them on our bed , along with our Bedrobes, next day's menu, and a few other treats. We were blown away! He did this again( strawberries), the night before we left... We will never forget his kindness to us, and the exceptional treatment he, and all the staff gave to us. From their knack of knowing what type of restaurant to suggest, to the historical knowledge of the area, and the genuine concern for all the guests - it was the best B & B experience we've had... and we are seasoned B & B'ers... We will definitely be going back to Savannah, and The Gastonian is the only place we will stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dragonflies8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    115
    42
    28
    26
See reviews for
72
583
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Only stayed one night, great experience, great people, great ambiance, very personal. Lots of free stuff - great surprise! Great room, bathroom could use a bit of an update but didnt detract from a great stay. Loved the book containing all the current menus from Savannah restaurants - great idea.

Room Tip: Get one with a fireplace - it works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My sister and I enjoyed a lovely weekend in Savannah, and the Gastonian immediately felt like home. Every staff member was the epitome of hospitality and kindness, the room spacious and charmingly furnished. Every courtesy was extended; overall a great experience in one of my favorite cities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Kentucky
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I went back to Savannah for a formal dinner and decided to make a long weekend out of the trip. We booked the Gastonian because we had always heard of their strong reputation from our time when we were stationed in Savannah. The rooms are large and luxurious and the staff are extremely warm and friendly. We have enjoyed many B and Bs but the Gastonian has the right touch of modern conveniences with old Southern charm. The extras are to numerous to mention but we enjoyed sitting on the porch and enjoying a cup of tea in the evening before dinner. Restful, charming and polite and warm are just a few words that describe this gem located in the heart of Savannah. A must for a small destination wedding as we watched two young people from Australia start their lives together. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Get a King with a canopy for true southern charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed for one night, wonderful experience! Great complementary wine and appetizers in the evening when we arrived, lovely room, very nice staff. Full Complementary Breakfast was pre-ordered in the evening, served either in the room or dining room. Very nice. Great location (quiet and nicely located in the historical district) walked to nice evening restaurant, all together was a great value and experience! Would highly recommend. Thank you.

Room Tip: Call hotel directly for walk-in rate, usually less than internet rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank farnorthtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

From the moment the staff brought up our suitcases into their home, we knew that we would love this place. We arrived in the afternoon, just in time for an afternoon snack of home cooked appetizers and wine, coffee, and tea. Our room was so homey and comfortable with a working fireplace and modern amenities in the bathroom; large bath, walk in modern shower, 2 sinks and beautifully appointed fixtures, tile and flooring. The staff was so helpful in arranging for a cab to the restaurant and confirming our restaurant reservations while suggesting other options. Home cooked breakfast was so delicious and the chef and kitchen staff were so delightful. This B&B was located in a picturesque neighborhood, surrounded by parks, tall trees and beautiful gardens. It was our first time in Savannah and we were given alot of options re sightseeing, eating, relaxing, and shopping. It was a fun place to come back to at the end of the day, to share our adventures with others and have good food and conversation before getting ready for dinner. We will definitely recommend this to our friends and hope to revisit again. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor, with our our entrance. It was very private. To get to the main pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarjGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012

What a delight to stay at this wonderful B&B. The staff was so very wonderful and made us feel so welcome. The three days we stayed there the staff felt like family. The room was so wonderful and cozy. The breakfast was the hilight to start our day as it was so yummie! You can eat in the kitchen with the most wonderful kitchen staff I have ever incountered. Mario, Ronald and Big Man were always out to see that you had the time of your life.The Gastonian is in such a great part of town. We walked all over when we wern't riding the trolly. The big oaks with their spanish moss are so majestic and pretty to the sight! Even at night when the traffic lights turned red the moss glowed like it was on fire. The park was just two blocks away and it has a most beautiful fountian. The entire visit was awsome. I will return to the Gastonian and see all my new friends and probably make some more. The place was well staffed, friendly to the max, clean, and so very nice.

Room Tip: we stayed in 107 it was so very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SafariJohn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
1,258 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
2,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn

Property: The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn
Address: 220 E Gaston St, Savannah, GA 31401-5612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a classic, elegant residential atmoshpere and unsurpassed service. Private gardens, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, complimentary wine and hors'doeuvres reception in the early evening, and complimentary homemade desserts and cordials at night. Other amenities included in your rate are free parking, free wifi and complimentary turndown service. AAA 4-Diamond Award winner and a Diamond Collection Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gastonian Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing