We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn
Ranked #6 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We booked our elopement at The Gastonian and it was better than we could have imagined. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which was two large rooms with a giant tub in the second and two beautiful fireplaces. The houses and courtyard were beautiful and the service was great. We loved having breakfast in our room on our wedding day and the day after. I also enjoyed that it was a little further away from the river which made it peaceful and made you feel like you were a part of the city rather than a visitor. Overall, our stay was wonderful and we would recommend if you want a taste of southern hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank docious1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (871)
There are newer reviews for The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

644 - 650 of 871 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I, our families, and our wedding party recently stayed at the Gastonian for our destination wedding, and I cannot say enough wonderful things about the property. We actually booked the entire B&B for our small wedding back in April, but had to cancel the whole booking due to some of our guests having scheduling conflicts. When I called them frantically to rearrange our plans, Michael, the innkeeper, was calming and reassuring, and handled everything smoothly. We had several instances before the wedding where guests wanted to switch rooms, and the staff was always gracious and accommodating. We also had a child staying in our party, and even though the Gastonian now has an over-21 policy, they reassured us that the little girl would be more than welcome since we had booked our stay before the policy change.

When we arrived, Walter (a consummate gentleman and the shining star on the Gastonian's staff) showed us to our room and helped us with our bags. We stayed in the Caracalla Suite (more on that later) for three nights, then switched to the Pulaski room for our fourth night. As many of the other review mention, breakfast in the morning begins with muffins and scones, followed by a few yummy choices. The menu is a little bit limited, but they will do eggs and omelettes just about any way you want them. The afternoon cocktail hour consists of wine and some light h'ors d'oeuvers -- mini quiches, canapes with chicken salad or sliced cucumber, small biscuits with herbed butter, that sort of thing. Dessert hour features cordials and usually cookies or cake slices. And yes, the hotel does just skirt the edge of the historic district, but I like the excuse to wander through the city (and it didn't hurt to walk off all the extra calories I took in during my stay!)

The decor is classic bed and breakfast without feeling stuffy; we especially enjoyed the Pulaski room. (If I could have taken that beautiful trunk from the Pulaski restroom, I would have!)

A few notes about the Caracalla Suite. I did not have a very large bridal party (three adults and one child), but when you have five people in a room, plus a hair stylist, plus a makeup artist, PLUS a photographer, it helps to have a large room so people can move around, and the Caracalla is definitely it. The room features a huge draped bed, a ridiculously large hot tub/bathtub, two working fireplaces, and a long vanity with pedestal sinks at each end. The toilet is located in small closet carved into the room (word to the wise: the lock is a bit stiff). While the room is beautiful and the space was much appreciated while I was getting ready for the wedding, overall it is probably not the most romantic room on the premises -- next time, we'll try to stay in the Pulaski or Scarborough rooms. And as mentioned by other reviewers, some of these rooms do not have showers; instead, they have tubs with handheld shower nozzles, which is wonderful for relaxation but not great when you just want an efficient shower before beginning your day.

The only real complaint I have was that one of the staff chose the morning of the wedding to drop a small bomb on me: the hotel had held an extra room open for us, although we had canceled the room weeks earlier (a guest was not able to make it). Since we had put deposits on all the rooms, I got to spend my wedding morning (which is stressful enough) worrying that my husband and I would be charged an extra $700. Luckily they straightened everything out, but they could have been a bit more delicate and waited until the day after to address the situation with us.

Room Tip: Before booking, call and ask the staff which rooms have showers and which do not.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JupiterKLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

A must stay when in Savannah beautiful inn, food is delicious staff goes above and beyond. We will be back. Stayed in room 106 superior king room a little dark on the lowet level of the main house. Would have perferred a little more light with a view,but room was beautiful !

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelcin57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We just returned home from our third visit to the Gastonian and have yet to find a complaint. Each of the 17 rooms is unique and we have chosen to stay in a different one each visit. The rooms have all been clean, spacious and nicely appointed. The afternoon snacks and evening cordials are a nice touch and offer guests an opportunity to socialize. We were fortunate to have met several nice people this trip and we really enjoyed the conversations. The turn down service and full breakfast choices are also really nice touches that can't be found in a typical hotel.

The structure is nice but the staff is what makes the Gastonian special. The staff can't be beat and definitly make you feel welcome. When we arrived we were happy to see familiar faces. Karen went out of her way to help us find the location of the greek fesitval by looking it up and printing the walking directions. Walter was nothing but friendly and welcoming as he showed us our room and made sure that we had everything that we needed. He knows the area well and is an excellent resource if you need help finding things to see and do. James prepares a great breakfast and is also very engaging. As we were leaving, we passed by some housekeepers who were quick to ask how we enjoyed our stay before wishing us a safe trip home. Again, the staff is very welcoming and they make you feel like a guest.

The location of the Gastonian is also quite convenient. We like to park the car when we arrive and walk for the rest of our stay. However, there is a plethora of other options including pedicabs, bus service, and even carriage rides.

Again, another great visit. We are already looking forward to planning next years trip.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms facing Gaston St. can be a bit noisy from cars passing by. We also prefer the wal...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvolrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We enjoyed staying at this wonderful Inn. The Inn comprises of two old restored houses joined by a elevated walkway overlooking a lovely garden.

Our room was nicely appointed with antique furnishings, the bed was very comfortable.

The stay included breakfast, afternoon snacks, and deserts in the evening plus soft drinks and wine.

The staff could not be more helpful. From the location it is an easy walk to downtown Savannah and the old homes and parks.

Room Tip: Ask for a large bathroom
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albertm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Arrived late-staff was very helpful and w/carrying luggage up 2 flights of stairs! Full breakfast that was delicious that you pick the day/night before. Were able to add on something that I forgot to choose. Wish I had more time to enjoy the accomodations and the area.

Room Tip: I stayed in main building which since I wasn't there long was a plus. Make sure you let them kno...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliehthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our first trip to Savannah. We are seasoned B & Bérs, and this was the finest B & B we have had the pleasure to stay at. It was clean, comfy, right on the edge of EVERYthing, and the staff were top-shelf. We stayed in the Garden Room, and had our own entrance, our own small pond/garden/sitting area, too. Parking on site, which was great - we parked and never moved the car the entire trip. The staff were so attentive to our EVERY need, and even went beyond, with the unexpected extras that they did for us. The breakfast was outstanding - cooked to order, in front of us, every morning. The Chef was great, the banter back and forth between us, the other guests, and the Chef and wait-staff was so much fun! We would definitely recommend The Gastonian, and we would stay there again, if we travel back to Savannah. Thanks, Gastonian staff, for a great vacation!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonflies8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 114 in Savannah
1,319 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 114 in Savannah
3,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn

Address: 220 E Gaston St, Savannah, GA 31401-5612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $205 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a classic, elegant residential atmoshpere and unsurpassed service. Private gardens, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, complimentary wine and hors'doeuvres reception in the early evening, and complimentary homemade desserts and cordials at night. Other amenities included in your rate are free parking, free wifi and complimentary turndown service. AAA 4-Diamond Award winner and a Diamond Collection Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gastonian Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing