We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome in EVERY way”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ballastone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ballastone Inn
Ranked #15 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Oak Ridge, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awesome in EVERY way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2009

a true representation of Southern charm, hospitality, and elegance --- from the accommodations and food to the superb staff --- they make you feel really 'special' and pampered. We would not dream of staying anywhere else in Savannah. A couple of our friends were with us and said it was truly the best place they had ever stayed. Can't say enough about the staff. The Inn is exquisite in every way!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schnauzerfan03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    68
    30
    22
    20
See reviews for
63
489
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2009

A somewhat impersonal B&B. Had a cold feeling to it. Our room was very small and poorly laid out. Most B&Bs we've stayed at provide a complementary cocktail hour. This one charges for it. We also stayed at the palmer house. It was superb. I would not recommend this place. Way overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rochester_NYTrunkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grits2, Owner at Ballastone Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2009
The Ballastone Inn is housed in a 170 year old, an original home built in 1838. We strive to maintain the integrity of its period with antique furnishings as much as possible. Our passion is to remain in every way possible a genuine representation of the period of Southern grandeur. Every detail is hand picked, the silver and china at four oclock tea, tthe sterling tea set and trays, the antique linen napkins, our dessert dishes are collectable depression pieces. Our wines and liquors hand selected as some of the best in the country and our guests want a superior wine and liquor that is "top shelf".
Our staff is the best in Savannah as we told over and over again. "It is like walking into someone's home" we hear over and over.
We cannot please everyone although we try. There is a wide selection in Savannah with hundreds of new hotels with all the modern amenities one can ask for. Come visit our wonderful city but please try and appreciate our passion for the past here at the Ballastone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

This is the most beautiful Inn and we loved it. The room was so beautiful and felt like we went back in time. The service was exceptional and the food was great. We loved ha ving tea in the mid afternoon. My husband loved the bar in the Inn because he could have a drink in the early evening with appetizers. I loved that they had a coffee latte machine so I could have my favorite drink in the am.

The staff was impeccable. We could highly recommend this Inn.

Myrna & Brent

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brentmyrna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

Nice staff, clean rooms, but the inn desperately needs a facelift. Kind of dowdy....Hard to believe this place is rated the best in Savannah..... very overrated.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Discerning Texas Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2009

We arrived at this gorgeous inn and found everything we had hoped to find. The beauty of our surroundings was matched by the exceptional staff who took great care of us from the moment we arrived until we checked out 4 days later. Dwayne made recommendations and reservations that never disappointed and he did all this with a great deal of charm. The warmth and kindess we experienced from the staff (Jessica, Estelle, Melissa, Charlotte the chef, Monique and Jackie) is the very reason we choose to stay at inns rather than hotels. We felt as though we were welcome guests (not customers) and enjoyed conversations and stories shared by staff and fellow guests throughout our stay.
Charlotte's breakfasts were fabulous and we had a lovely private table for two each morning. The afternoon teas and evening cocktails were a wonderful addition and we made sure we were back at the inn to enjoy these opportunities to mingle with other guests.
To Jennifer and the entire staff, thank you for helping us celebrate 25 years of marriage in your glorious inn. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EALINDA09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calif
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

We spent 3 wonderful nights here and can't wait to return. The owner Jennifer, and her staff are so helpful and run a wonderful Inn. The breakfasts' are not to be matched. Simply delicious.
The Baumann's

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smokey54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit at The Ballastone Inn! The rooms are beautiful, the staff is amazing, and location is convenient by car, trolley, or on foot. My husband and I arrived late at night, delayed by involvement in an auto accident, and we were welcomed by Jessica, who immediately took care of us. She offered us refreshments, explained the parking and key procedure, showed us to our room, and went over the breakfast planner and chef's selection. Jessica also showed us some brochures of things to do while in Savannah, offered to make any reservations for us at any time during our stay, shared info about the history of The Ballastone, and all around made us feel special. At that point I knew we had chosen the perfect place to stay! The rooms are gorgeous, the beds are very comfortable, you are invited to walk around and admire the beautiful furnishings and accessories, and to sit and relax in the main floor rooms. We were greeted every morning for breakfast by Melissa's beautiful smile, and her service was fantastic! We sat at an intimate, elegantly set, table for two by the window, and enjoyed various breakfasts each day, the Eggs Benedict was particularly scrumptous! They not only offer breakfast, you are invited to Afternoon Tea w/delightful sweet treats and Evening Brandy / Port Wine, which we found refreshing after a full day out touring the town. For us personally, our favorite memory will be the quite afternoon in their courtyard, where my husband and I renewed our vows to each other. He was scheduled to leave the country for a year on a tour of duty the next week, and this was our romantic getaway before he left. Thank you to the wonderfully friendly staff who helped to make this an unforgetable time for us. We look forward to the opportunity to stay at The Ballastone again!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggieSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,522 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#11 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,922 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballastone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballastone Inn

Property: Ballastone Inn
Address: 14 E Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-3707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballastone Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a romantic bed and breakfast in Savannah GA steps to everything in the center of the Historic District. Our Savannah GA B&B features delectable breakfasts every morning, high tea on sterling silver every afternoon, and evening hors d'oeuvres with drinks at the elegant antique bar. Our 4 Diamond Savannah bed and breakfast is dedicated to gracious southern service with top rate 24-hour concierge. Romantic suites, free off-street parking and a private elevator rival the offerings of other Savannah luxury hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballastone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballastone Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing