We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Ballastone Inn”
Review of Ballastone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ballastone Inn
Ranked #11 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved the Ballastone Inn”
Reviewed October 5, 2004

We enjoyed our recent stay at the Ballastone Inn. The staff was friendly and eager to please without being intrusive. The breakfast, tea, and appetizers were delicious. Someone must have a green thumb because the entrance and side garden were wonderfully full of plants and inside the house were orchids and live plants throughout. I agree with the reviewer who said the bed was the best ever in an accommodation. Problems were dealt with promptly and courteously; in fact, we were upgraded to a suite because of a mix up in a reservation. Beautiful rooms and immaculate throughout.

Helpful?
Thank Nelle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    71
    30
    23
    21
See reviews for
73
513
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2004

Negative reviews about this hotel cannot be trusted. THIS PLACE IS FANTASTIC. Do NOT let one persons bad experience sway you away from this hotel! My husband and I just returned from a trip to the Ballastone for our anniversary and were treated like royalty. My husband and I are Ritz Carlton regulars and this inn had alot to live up to. It is wonderful! All of the staff members were extra friendly and would do anything for you. I personally saw the owner greet just about everyone and he arranged for us to have our fireplace turned on in our room. (Too early for the gas to be turned on but he made arrangements for us). The room was immaculate with all towels being replaced, fresh sheets and wonderful turndown service every night. Free port and brandy are offered at night as mentioned on the website. You would expect to pay for liquor or wine. The evening appetizers were FABULOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I must say the breakfast was awesome too. The inn is right in the heart of the historic district and you can walk to just about everything. Do not hesitate to pay a little extra to stay here. If you want to feel pampered during your vacation, this IS the place to stay!

Helpful?
1 Thank CeCeTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 2, 2004

We were very excited to visit the Ballastone, with everything we read on tripadvisor and on their website. It was nice, but yet we were disappointed.

First, the positives: the rooms were beautiful and clean. The entire inn was very nice. The food was good. There were two very nice staff members (Nicole and Melissa) that helped us a lot with suggestions for dinner, etc.

Now the negatives: 1) the website indicates that there are appetizers and drinks from 6-7. It does not mention that you have to pay for the drinks. I thought that was sort of tacky, especially considering how much you are already paying.
2) The owner (man) was there, and never once introduced himself or asked us if we were having a nice time. Basically, he ignored us. 3) We opted for the in-room breakfast once and we were basically called to see if we were done with our tray and then someone knocked at our door, asking for the tray back (within 30 minutes). And then another 30 minutes later, we got another call, asking for the tray back. It made me wonder if there was some sort of tray shortage! It was extremely disruptive. 4) Housekeeping was substandard. One of our bathrobes became dirty, and we put it with the dirty towels and it was never replaced in the 4 days were were there. Housekeeping did the basics: made the bed and gave us fresh towels. They did not empty trash or take away coffee cups, etc.

Anyway, it was a pretty place. I wouldn't say it was the "most romantic" as other reviewers said. It was very average for $300 per night. I would definitely not return.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeeSavannah, Guest Relations Manager at Ballastone Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Regarding your 2004 stay: The current owner and management of the Ballastone Inn sincerely apologize that you had a displeasing stay during your visit in 2004.

First, thank you kindly for the nice comments on the decor and cleanliness of the inn, the food and staff. Nevertheless, we wholeheartedly regret that you had an unpleasant stay and that a less than positive memory is now associated with the inn.

We have updated out website to state that boutique wines and beer are charged to rooms. We are the only inn in Savannah to serve premium wine. We do have many other complimentary offerings, such as Victorian High Tea, Early Evening Hor's douerves, Cordials, Fruit Essence Water, Fresh Iced Tea, Breakfast and much more.

Let us assure you that the service you find at the Ballastone Inn today would exceed your expectations. We welcome the opportunity to serve you in the future.

The Ballastone Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 23, 2004

My Husband & I recently traveled to Savannah to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary, and staying at the Ballastone made it all the more special! The accomodations were spectacular - we stayed in the Sorgum Cane room; very spacious & the bed was the best I have ever slept in on vacation! Staff was very attentive to all our needs -from letting me use their computer to print out our airline check-in tickets so I didn't have to wait in line at airport, to making all our dinner reservations for us - their suggestions were superb! I would highly recommend the Old Pink House restaurant be first on your list.
We have wonderful memories of our few days spent at the Ballastone - from the scrumptious full breakfast to start the day, to the afternoon lemonade - delicious! - to the brandy at turn-down service, they truly deserve a 5-star rating.
We definitely have on our list to return to the Ballastone in future visits to Savannah.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 12, 2004

We knew the Ballastone would be nice, but the Inn turned out to be even more than we expected. The staff was wonderful, spending as much time as needed to help us arrange our dinners and tours. Their dinner suggestions were right on. The Inn itself is wonderful, located within walking distance of most everything you want to see. We stayed in the "Peach" Room and were very happy with the accomodations. The breakfasts were first rate, as was the afternoon tea. We will defintely be back.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2004

This was a get away gift from my wife and our first visit to Savannah and I can't think of a better way to get initiated to the city. The service, food, rooms and atmosphere were superb. I highly recommend the China Trade room; excellent. We will definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank Wharris47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croton-on-Hudson, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2004

The service was extraordinary at the Ballastone Inn. They anticipated your every need. The breakfasts were superb! Indeed the best I have ever had anywhere. The staff was incredibly helpful. I stayed at the Sorgum Cane. I must say, the bed was so comfortable, I haven't slept like that in years. I coming back.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,709 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
1,283 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballastone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballastone Inn

Property: Ballastone Inn
Address: 14 E Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-3707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballastone Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a romantic bed and breakfast in Savannah GA steps to everything in the center of the Historic District. Our Savannah GA B&B features delectable breakfasts every morning, high tea on sterling silver every afternoon, and evening hors d'oeuvres with drinks at the elegant antique bar. Our 4 Diamond Savannah bed and breakfast is dedicated to gracious southern service with top rate 24-hour concierge. Romantic suites, free off-street parking and a private elevator rival the offerings of other Savannah luxury hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Ballastone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballastone Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing