We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ballastone is tops!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballastone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ballastone Inn
Ranked #17 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Ballastone is tops!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2004

My Husband & I recently traveled to Savannah to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary, and staying at the Ballastone made it all the more special! The accomodations were spectacular - we stayed in the Sorgum Cane room; very spacious & the bed was the best I have ever slept in on vacation! Staff was very attentive to all our needs -from letting me use their computer to print out our airline check-in tickets so I didn't have to wait in line at airport, to making all our dinner reservations for us - their suggestions were superb! I would highly recommend the Old Pink House restaurant be first on your list.
We have wonderful memories of our few days spent at the Ballastone - from the scrumptious full breakfast to start the day, to the afternoon lemonade - delicious! - to the brandy at turn-down service, they truly deserve a 5-star rating.
We definitely have on our list to return to the Ballastone in future visits to Savannah.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    65
    28
    21
    20
See reviews for
62
468
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2004

We knew the Ballastone would be nice, but the Inn turned out to be even more than we expected. The staff was wonderful, spending as much time as needed to help us arrange our dinners and tours. Their dinner suggestions were right on. The Inn itself is wonderful, located within walking distance of most everything you want to see. We stayed in the "Peach" Room and were very happy with the accomodations. The breakfasts were first rate, as was the afternoon tea. We will defintely be back.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2004

This was a get away gift from my wife and our first visit to Savannah and I can't think of a better way to get initiated to the city. The service, food, rooms and atmosphere were superb. I highly recommend the China Trade room; excellent. We will definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank Wharris47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croton-on-Hudson, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2004

The service was extraordinary at the Ballastone Inn. They anticipated your every need. The breakfasts were superb! Indeed the best I have ever had anywhere. The staff was incredibly helpful. I stayed at the Sorgum Cane. I must say, the bed was so comfortable, I haven't slept like that in years. I coming back.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2004

My wife and I just spent two wonderful days at the Inn. There simply aren't words to describe the facility. If one expects five star treatment you will be in the right place. I have not had all that TLC since I married and left my Mama. All the staff members offered first class treatment, all one has to do is ask! I definitely will be back, and soon.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2004

If you ever want to truly experience the most beautiful, intimate, and romantic inn with the "most outstanding staff" ever, please choose the Ballastone! From the moment we entered the front door and were greeted by Dewayne, we knew we had chosen the most perfect setting for our wedding and honeymoon. We stayed in the beautifully decorated Gazebo Suite, which was our favorite and surprisingly awoke each morning to the ringing of church bells. What more could you ask for? Well, delicious breakfasts, tea at 4 o'clock, cocktails and h'ordeves in the evening, relaxing by the fire, visiting in the courtyard, and a family of wonderful people who truly know the meaning of spoling their guests!! Can't wait to return to Ballastone for our anniversary! Many, many thanks Jim and Jennifer and staff!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2004

An open courtyard with tropical plantings and a fountain where you can relax and enjoy a drink and a smoke if you are so inclined, your choice of teas and freshly baked pastries at 4:00, hot and cold h'ordourves in the bar shortly afterwards, complimentary brandy and port in the evening, an absolutely delicious breakfast served at your choice of locations, including the courtyard and your room, a faint hint of lavender on the table linens, ice in your room when you arrive and every evening afterwards, the best chocolate mint you've ever tasted on your pillow at turndown... these are a few of my favorite things at the Ballastone, and they are the difference between the ordinary and the outstanding. You can expect a friendly and helpful staff of the best caliber to see that your stay is pleasant and relaxing. The owners, Jennifer and Jim Salandi, always seem to be available and willing to suggest interesting places to visit as well as where to eat. I really can't imagine staying anywhere else when I am in Savannah.

Helpful?
Thank lmandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballastone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballastone Inn

Property: Ballastone Inn
Address: 14 E Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-3707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballastone Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a romantic bed and breakfast in Savannah GA steps to everything in the center of the Historic District. Our Savannah GA B&B features delectable breakfasts every morning, high tea on sterling silver every afternoon, and evening hors d'oeuvres with drinks at the elegant antique bar. Our 4 Diamond Savannah bed and breakfast is dedicated to gracious southern service with top rate 24-hour concierge. Romantic suites, free off-street parking and a private elevator rival the offerings of other Savannah luxury hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ballastone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballastone Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing