We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect birthday vacation.”
Review of Ballastone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ballastone Inn
Ranked #11 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect birthday vacation.”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Perfect location in Savannah. We parked the car in off street parking. complimentary of the Inn, and walked during our entire stay. Beautiful Inn and the rooms are each unique and comfortable. The 4th floor Gazebo Suite was large, comfortable, lovely furnishings, nice bathroom area with a separate wet bar, and a pretty view of the courtyard. Walk the stairs or ride the elevator. So quiet and restful. Breakfast was presented beautifully each morning, served at your choice of parlors and table. We particularly enjoyed the table looking out front of the Inn thru double, floor to ceiling windows. Fresh fruit, smoked salmon with bagels. breakfast breads, granola and yoghurt, and your choice of the hot entree of the day. And of course, carafe of coffee and / or hot tea. Fresh flowers on each table made every morning a delight to start the day. Tea service at 4, each afternoon, served from a lovely silver tea service, was a nice treat. Delicious tea sandwiches and a couple of choices of cookies or cake. The German Chocolate squares were my favorite. At 6pm the bar is set up with appetizers and complimentary adult libations. Iced tea and essence water is available all afternoon. Very refreshing after a 6 hour walking tour of the city. The Staff treats you like family and welcomed guest. From making my reservations to check out, nothing could have gone better. Any request, 24 hrs a day, they are available with a smile. And last but certainly not least, the owner is present and available. She is a big personality and the Inn decor reflects her energy. Beautifully furnished. We loved our entire experience at the Ballastone Inn. Looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Top floor was very quiet .Serviced by an elevator. Bottom floor had smaller room, although lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieK53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    71
    30
    23
    21
See reviews for
73
513
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lighthouse point
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a beautifully furnished and maintained B&B. The breakfasts were delicious and exceptionally well prepared. Afternoon tea was graciously served with wonderful goodies. The pampering is non stop as delightful early evening hors d'oeuvres followed tea. Our room, the Victoria Suite, was spectacularly appointed with priceless antiques and a lovely comfortable king size bed. The linens, duvet comforter and down pillows were luxuriously soft. The best part wa s the staff. Melissa went out of her way to expertly overcome the disappointment of a canceled tour. Lea graciously anticipated our every need and Nathan was an excellent and professional presence. We have stayed at The Ballastone twice and will definitely return.

Lucie & John, Lighthouse Point, FL

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Staying here made our Savannah experience perfect. The Ballastone Inn is in a great location. They have a wonderful staff, eager to help in every way. Great breakfast ! Their recommendations on things to do and see were wonderful. We highly recommend you stay here while in Savannah !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slpelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The location, decor and staff are first rate. But the sleeping was disturbed by beautifully soft micro fiber sheets that were hot and sticky. The Duvet was covered in nice white cotton and in the middle of the night we kicked off the top micro fiber sheet and slept with the duvet. The air conditioning in Oglethorpe suite was also very loud and noisy. The small bath tub with a shower is way out of date. They ought to consider removing the out of date tubs and installing showers in their place as many hotels have done. Since they are charging over $300.00 a night for this room one expects a bit better.

The quality of the before dinner snacks and the breakfasts were fine, but not special. The help from the front desk was excellent.

Room Tip: The air conditioning in this room was very noisy. I am not sure it is the same in every room.There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank celebrationtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

My husband and I have stayed here several times and love it. The rooms are amazing each one has a unique decor. We have stayed in the Gazebo and China Trade Rooms, the Gazebo being my favorite so far. We are going back soon and have the Scarborough Fair booked. The staff is courteous, knowledgeable about the area, and will do whatever it takes to make you happy. That is why it is the ONLY place we have stayed in Savannah.

Room Tip: The Gazebo Room is on the 3rd floor, so it is quiet and very bright and airy. Looks into the courty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryWes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

What a wonderful place the Ballastone Inn is! From the time you walk in the door, you realize just how special it is. Melissa was truly wonderful and welcoming to us. We were able to get into our room a little early...thanks to Jackie, who did a wonderful job everyday. We stayed in the Mary Musgrave room on the 3rd floor. It was beautiful with it's four poster bed and maroon colored walls. We were surprised with a small bottle of champagne and a couple of glasses upon returning to our room one evening. Nice touch! Thanks to Kirsten and Lee for helping me open it! :)
Breakfast both mornings was delicious....especially the Cinnamon French Toast. As others have stated...there is also afternoon Tea...with the best Lemon Squares I have ever had... and Social Hour at the bar, later on.
We met some wonderful people while there and had some great conversations at breakfast.
There are about 7 parking spots out back, but none really handle a huge car. Once you park....you can pretty much walk wherever you are wanting to go. Centrally located....Ballastone is in the heart of everything.
It really is a wonderful place to stay and they bend over backwards to accommodate you. Go pay them a visit...you will not regret it!

Room Tip: Quieter on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gldnpupper27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed for two nights as part of a road trip and would gladly go straight back. Nothing was to much trouble for Lea or any of the staff. From helping with very heavy bags to moving our car for us. The inn is perfectly located with all of the squares and the river within walking distance. Make sure you have tea at 4pm and sherry later on!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weegiexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,709 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
1,283 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballastone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballastone Inn

Property: Ballastone Inn
Address: 14 E Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-3707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballastone Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a romantic bed and breakfast in Savannah GA steps to everything in the center of the Historic District. Our Savannah GA B&B features delectable breakfasts every morning, high tea on sterling silver every afternoon, and evening hors d'oeuvres with drinks at the elegant antique bar. Our 4 Diamond Savannah bed and breakfast is dedicated to gracious southern service with top rate 24-hour concierge. Romantic suites, free off-street parking and a private elevator rival the offerings of other Savannah luxury hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Ballastone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballastone Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing