We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ballastone-A Magical Holiday Weekend”
Review of Ballastone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballastone Inn
Ranked #9 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Ballastone-A Magical Holiday Weekend”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

When you experience something great you want to share it with everyone! My husband and I stayed for a romantic getaway at The Ballastone Inn. The Ballastone was decked out for the holidays! Everything was picture perfect, and was so festive and magical! It really put you in he holiday spirit! The high tea was delightful. The staff was so attentive to addressing all our needs. Jennifer Salandi, the owner does a fabulous job of making all her guests feel right at home! Cheers to Jennifer and her superb staff! I can see why your inn is one of the most sought after places to stay in Savannah! I will definitely recommended The Ballastone to all my friends, patients, and family! The Ballastone is a class act!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mark138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    71
    30
    23
    21
See reviews for
68
508
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I had a wonderful time. The staff makes this place shine and it's number one for this reason alone. The rooms were beautiful and well appointed. The arrangements the staff made for outside the Inn activities were great. I will be back. If you have questions, just ask. The place was wonderful and I'd recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: Any room would be wonderful. I choose one with a fire place and larger bathroom. it was a good cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Perry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Words cannot express the time that we had at the Ballastone Inn. From the minute we walked thru the door upon arrival to walking out the door for departure we were treated unlike another customer, but like a part of their family. This is the perfect place to have a romantic getaway or like us a wedding/hooneymoon. The staff was quick to help us in anyway we needed, we loved each and everyone of them! If you go during Christmas time, the house is breathtaking with beautifully decorated mantels and stair case. The rooms are kept clean and smelling good and the high beds were so comfortable. The food was excellent from breakfast to the afternoon tea and the evening horsdoeuvres. We enjoyed the turndown in the evening with the mints left on our pillow. The home is located within walking distance of every thing you would like to see and do. Thank you Ballastone! We will forever remember each and everyone of you. See you next year!

Room Tip: Staying in the back of the house on the second floor allowed us to listen to the Church Bells chimin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We've tried several places to stay in the Savannah area and were extremely pleased to find The Ballastone's excellent staff, service, food AND decor as absolutely the best of the best. Add their extremely competitive prices for a huge bonus to a delightful find!

Until you share this experience, you haven't experienced the best of Savannah! ENJOY!

Room Tip: We were fortunate enough to see several of the suites and they ALL were gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
191 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We are now staying in the Gazebo room -- spacious with fireplace and sitting area on 2nd floor. The room is beautiful and the super-lux linens on the bed made for a wonderful sleep. Also loved the 4 large soft down pillows. We were a short walk from the shopping street of Broughton. And also had a nice dinner at Alligator Soul right around the corner on Barnard near Broughton. Our bikes were stored by the Inn and we plan a nice day of sightseeing. Breakfast will be French Toast with sausages. A breakfast dining choice of three options was in our room last night. Also you may pick the location where you want to sit. Yesterday around 4PM was Tea Hour in a Drawing Room. The lemon bars and scones were delicious. We were not around for appetizer hour in the bar area around 7PM but plan on trying it tonight. You cannot beat the location and fine Inn if you want to pamper yourselves in Savannah.

Room Tip: Look on-line an choose the room of your liking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryla_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we were treated royally. We came in just before 8 AM, hoping to just leave our bags, as we knew check-in was late afternoon; we were given breakfast, and, before we finished, were told that our room was being readied. The breakfasts were delicious, as was the afternoon tea. Everyone we met from the staff were ready to do whatever it took to provide us with information, directions, etc. Should we visit Savannah again, this will be the only place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Florida
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed at the Ballastone Inn for the Rock 'n' Roll Marathon. It was our first trip to Savannah! They were so welcoming and even had a special runner's breakfast before we all had to go to the start line!! The staff is amazing and the inn is spectacular!! Can't wait to go back again!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,632 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
1,259 reviews
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballastone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballastone Inn

Property: Ballastone Inn
Address: 14 E Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-3707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballastone Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a romantic bed and breakfast in Savannah GA steps to everything in the center of the Historic District. Our Savannah GA B&B features delectable breakfasts every morning, high tea on sterling silver every afternoon, and evening hors d'oeuvres with drinks at the elegant antique bar. Our 4 Diamond Savannah bed and breakfast is dedicated to gracious southern service with top rate 24-hour concierge. Romantic suites, free off-street parking and a private elevator rival the offerings of other Savannah luxury hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Ballastone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballastone Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing