We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“worth every penny!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballastone Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ballastone Inn
Ranked #15 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
ny.ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“worth every penny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

our 1st time in Savannah, chose the Ballastone based on tripadviser reviews, and all we can say is the high rating is well deserved. Able to park the rental, and walked everywhere. Great location, great property, and truly pleasant and helpful staff. Breakfast , afternoon tea, and evening snacks were perfect reasons to come and go. Again, thanks to everyone there for helping make our three days in this lovely and interesting city memorable . You can trust the reviews completely.

Room Tip: we booked the Mary Musgrove room, and we were upgraded to the Palmetto Fan room. Melissa let us loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warren c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    58
    28
    19
    18
See reviews for
56
422
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The room was beautiful and very comfortable. The service from staff was exceptional. Breakfast in the courtyard was delicious...asparagus and eggs in a basket and roasted potatoes. We will definitely return for another stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vjb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had such a lovely time in Savannah and couldn't have been more pleased with the lovely Ballastone inn. It is in the heart of all that you want to do while in Savannah. No car needed. The rooms were very comfortable and the staff was exceptional! From recommendations to making you feel like royalty. The breakfast was second to none. I would definitely stay at this location again. Thank you for all the little touches.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I was part of the same group cited in the review left by Ed C, so I will not waste time duplicating his comments. True, the original impetus for the trip was the offer of a day-long tour of Ossabaw Island, which I must say was an exceptional experience. When we began looking for a place to stay, we examined the usual run of chain-operated city hotels. I must say, the decision to choose The Ballastone Inn instead was an inspired one, because the charm and intimacy of the place turned our reunion into a very fun and gracious "house party." The friendly, outgoing, and efficient Staff members went "beyond excellence" in their enthusiastic efforts to respond to our every need and whim; they are to be commended as a truly dedicated team who all obviously take personal pride in the ambiance of their hostelry. The Ballastone has been rated as one of the top B&B's in the nation, and this reputation is absolutely deserved. Furnished throughout in antiques and lavished with tasteful colors and textures in wall coverings and window treatments, a stay in this 1838 mansion is a delightful return to the fondest memories of childhood visits to the homes of our grandparents and great-grandparents. An exceptional added bonus is that this is one of the few B&B's in Savannah to have its own small private parking lot adjacent to the rear entrance of the house. I parked the car right next to the back door upon arrival and did not move it again until check out time. Five stars for atmosphere, friendliness, and, yes, convenience!!! You can't beat that combination.
Peter S

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The ambience evokes a bygone age of elegance, the service is exemplary, our visit memorable. We recommend The Ballaston unreservedly. A real gem! In the heart of historical Savanna surrounded by beautiful parks and an eclectic mix of cafes an

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

A group of us went on a "senior road trip" to Savannah last weekend to spend a day touring Ossabaw Island, a barrier island with a long and colorful history that is now a nature preserve. Most of us stayed at the Ballastone Inn and found it to be a very charming and well-run establishment. Each of the 16 guest rooms has its own name, such as "Peach" or "Scarlett's Retreat", rather than a number, which added to the charm and distinctiveness of the place. Our breakfast was simple but exceptionsl and the afternoon tea and open bar were welcomed amenities. The well-trained and outgoing staff members made the environment very friendly and welcoming. The owner, Jennifer, runs a first-class operation in every respect, which one would expect from a proprietor whose middle name must be "Hospitality"! My wife and I had a wonderful experience, and everybody in our group looks forward to returning to the Ballastone.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddam, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We decided to spend a couple days in Savannah and on a whim, took a chance on staying at a smaller location in the historic section. I could NOT have been more pleased with the beautifully decorated rooms, the wonderful people, refreshments and amazing breakfast. The Ballastone has a rich past and, today, makes you feel extra special. Perfectly located between the river and Savannah's beautiful historic district, it's a winner on all counts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 112 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 1,066 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#6 of 112 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#9 of 112 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 2,536 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballastone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballastone Inn

Property: Ballastone Inn
Address: 14 E Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-3707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballastone Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a romantic bed and breakfast in Savannah GA steps to everything in the center of the Historic District. Our Savannah GA B&B features delectable breakfasts every morning, high tea on sterling silver every afternoon, and evening hors d'oeuvres with drinks at the elegant antique bar. Our 4 Diamond Savannah bed and breakfast is dedicated to gracious southern service with top rate 24-hour concierge. Romantic suites, free off-street parking and a private elevator rival the offerings of other Savannah luxury hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ballastone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballastone Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing