We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Hospitality at its Best”
Review of Ballastone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballastone Inn
Ranked #9 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Southern Hospitality at its Best”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The decor and ambience were firat rate, But what made it special was the staff. They not only arranged for a rental car for us, but when it turned out the only available car that day was at the airport, without our asking they had a staff member drive us out to the airport to pick it up on our schedule and without charge.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gakst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    71
    30
    23
    21
See reviews for
68
508
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

After searching on the internet for a Honeymoon Destination in Savannah, I was anxious to find the memorable weekend for our celebration. The minute we were greeted at the front door was more than what we had hoped for. The Inn is perfection. Our suite was beautiful. The decor, the gas burning fireplace and the ambience of our suite was more than we expected. The staff met our needs and high tea was something that we looked forward to daily. The location was within walking distance to historical sites, incredible eateries, and shopping. The tour trolleys have a stop next door to the Inn. We didn't realize until, we took a tour, that the Inn was visited by many celebrities. It is understandable because we were treated as if we were the only ones there. We want to return again on our first anniversary! We recommend it HIGHLY!

Room Tip: They are all beautifully done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KE J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Canaveral
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

What a chore to select a B&B in Savannah. There are so many to compare they almost all begin to blur. What clinched it for us were a couple of things. Location is important since our goal was to park and not touch our car again until check-out. High tea is a big plus for us. We travel to England often and enjoy the afternoon nosh. Their presentation is splendid and satisfying, although both days there were not the essential scones and clotted cream to be found. The themed rooms as described looked fun and we chosen Rhett's Retreat. The bed was surprisingly comfortable. Rarely does a travel bed provide the relaxing sleep we are used to at home so that was a pleasing surprise. The pillows were dreamy as well. Breakfast was very well prepared and fulfilling. We also looked forward to the evening hors d'oeuvres and complimentary port. Ballastone possesses great attention to detail in all aspects. This is supported with a very amiable and dutiful staff. They were always accessible to help in any manner and were very obliging with assisting us with local reservations. Yes they are pricey, but all is top notch. Yes you’ll find other places to stay more inexpensive, but you will have to forgo some of the superb attributes we experienced at the Ballastone. We will return.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms bordering the front (Oglethorpe) it is a pretty busy and noisy thoroughfare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

My wife and I spent four nights at the Ballastone Inn in early January. We selected the Oglethorpe State Room on the fourth floor because of its comfortable sitting area and fireplace. We chose well. In all respects, the room, the inn and the people who run it met our high expectations (at $300+ per night, expectations should be high). The room was beyond comfortable. The breakfast outstanding. The service warm and attentive but not overly so. And plenty of room for privacy. If you don't want to mingle with strangers, you don't have to. If forced to complain, I'd say simply that the coffee could be stronger. And the recommended tour guide told us little more than what was on the historic markers and in "the book," which I was reading. Otherwise, I would highly recommend the Ballastone Inn, and we will likely return.

Room Tip: There's a great variety, from expensive to really expensive. The front desk, and web site, will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed here right after Christmas for a belated 25th anniversary celebration. The Inn was beautifully decorated and it is a lovey and cozy place. The food was wonderful and afternnoon tea made the day. Everything was delicious. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The Inn is within walking distance of everything. This is the only place to stay in Savannah.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed at the Ballastone Inn between Christmas and New Year. It was a wonderful escape after a very busy holiday season. We stayed in Rhett Butler's retreat, and the linens were exquisite, we did not want to get out of bed in the mornings. The accommodations, as well as the attentiveness of the staff, made our stay in Savannah memorable! We will return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wstbrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple City, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We loved our experience at the Inn. Everything and everyone was "top notch." The breakfast had to be the best we have ever had. I still remember the taste of the orange ricotta pancakes. This breakfast fills you up and you are warmly received and taken care of to the "nth" degree. The hors d'oeuvres for cocktails were second best of all. But, the people who run the house should be honored everyday they work for the inn. Their helpful suggustions and overalll care made for the ultimate experience. We hated to go on with our trip... Thank you!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Gazebo Room with another room (Oglethorpe) that was connected to us for our friend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xelajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,632 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
1,259 reviews
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballastone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballastone Inn

Property: Ballastone Inn
Address: 14 E Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-3707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballastone Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a romantic bed and breakfast in Savannah GA steps to everything in the center of the Historic District. Our Savannah GA B&B features delectable breakfasts every morning, high tea on sterling silver every afternoon, and evening hors d'oeuvres with drinks at the elegant antique bar. Our 4 Diamond Savannah bed and breakfast is dedicated to gracious southern service with top rate 24-hour concierge. Romantic suites, free off-street parking and a private elevator rival the offerings of other Savannah luxury hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Ballastone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballastone Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing