We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Savannah Live” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic Savannah Theatre

Historic Savannah Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.98*
and up
Haunted History of the Squares of Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator
Naples FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Savannah Live”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

The performers at Savannah Live were talented and friendly. The scouts (13-16 yrs old) and chaperones (40+) all enjoyed the show. The scouts especially appreciated the recognition at the intermission and the Happy Birthday shout out.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank FearlessLeader737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,523
    290
    32
    14
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lecanto, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Savannah Live Lights Up The Night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was our first time to see the production Savannah Live done by an incredibly talented cast and band at The Historic Savannah Theater. There were so many genre of music incorporated into this 2 hour powerhouse that nobody should leave the theater unsatisfied. Huxsie Scott knocked it out of the park with her voice as smooth as velvet. The heat was definitely on anytime Michelle Meece, Courtney Flood and Shannon Zaller took the stage. And words aren't enough to describe the vocal gifts of the talented men of the Savannah Theater....from Stephen Dobson's perfect tenor to Sheldon Pinckney's sublime voice like honey to the amazing range of musicality presented by the impressive Matt Meece and Mike Zaller. And that just covers the performers! The band is quite impressive in its own right! Josh Holley plays guitar like nobody's business and does a "dead on" version of the Roy Orbison hit Oh Pretty Woman. In this production, we were thrilled to see that Danielle Eggerstrand was highlighted several times. She plays saxaphone that will have you dancing in your seats. Her husband Nils Eggerstrand plays a mean bass guitar with Chris Fullerton doing some mighty impressive work on percussion...noting that he did a spectacular job on "wipeout"...a classic drum solo piece. And last, but certainly NOT least, the keyboard stylings of the incredible pianist, Charles Ancheta whose fingers move so quickly at times they are nothing but a blur. You won't ever find more talent in one place than at this beautiful historic theater. Savannah Live has a little something for everyone. If you're looking for an evening out and want to go somewhere you want to be totally entertained and leave feeling relaxed and rejuvenated, then call the box office and reserve some tickets! You'll be glad you did!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tmt57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
325 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Good entertainment value for the whole family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I saw the Savannah Live show on December 29, 2012. I loved it. I liked that it was entertaining, displayed a great variety of musical genres, and that it appealed to a wide variety of audiences. There aren't a lot of things that a family can do together, but this is one. There were some great vocals and instrumentals in the show, although I will agree that the dancing and choreography was not that great, but it was not so terrible as to detract from the rest of the show.

The show is lively, and keeps moving. You'll hardly notice the passage of time, and, as the show draws to a close, you kind of wish it would go on longer. I like a show like that. I pay my money to be entertained, and that is what this show does. Oh, and it's also nice that tickets for youth are half price.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ovolacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must see if visiting Savannah!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We were lucky to be able to see the Christmas show at the theater the Saturday night before Christmas and we couldn't have had more fun! The singing and entertainment was top notch and worth every penny we spent. The vocalists were fantastic and much better than I expected for a small theater in Savannah GA. We will definitely make this a must stop on our next visit to Savannah!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank frauchatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Talented and energetic. What a night! The Savannah live! performance was truly outstanding. It was our first trip to Savannah along with 2 of our teenage children and my gosh we ALL had fun. Go and go again

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Connecticut F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Savannah Theatre also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Historic Savannah Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing