We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Second Great Tour with Bobby Davis!”
Review of Explore Savannah

Explore Savannah
Ranked #29 of 143 Tours in Savannah
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Hartfield
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Our Second Great Tour with Bobby Davis!”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We loved our first walking tour with Bobby Davis and were not disappointed with our second one. It was wonderful! This time, we brought along another couple and they, too, were absolutely thrilled. It was a great way to experience Savannah and learn about its history along with a lot of "fun facts". Bobby makes it all so interesting and convenient. He is helpful, friendly and energetic...to say nothing of his contagious sense of humor! Don't miss out! We will definitely be back for a third tour the next time we are in Savannah!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,118
    24
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Left us wanting more”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We booked a half day tour with Bobby, for our first afternoon in town. And are we glad we did! Really nice, easy, relaxing time wandering around beautiful Savannah. We saw gardens and learned about homes we probably would have missed had we been walking ourselves. We met Bobby, knowing him as a tour guide, someone we'd corresponded with via email. We left feeling like we were old friends. From the booking right throughout, the whole experience was a smooth one. He takes constant pictures of you whilst walking around, which were then with us later that evening. He even sent some extra ones. Good recommendations for dinner too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank rosamund_bone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A fun light hearted tour!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We wanted a tour of Savannah that was entertaining and fun and Bobby fit the bill! We certainly enjoyed our time with Bobby. Being a local, he is very knowledgeable about the city. The time flew by and we learned some history and fun facts!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank afotiadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
508 reviews
171 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Personable guide but just not right for us”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I am fortunate to travel frequently and take many private tours. I find it difficult to write a less than 5 star review but ultimately my goal is to help other travelers find the guide that will work best for them. Obviously based on his #1 rating, Bobby is highly regarded by many who take his tour. They enjoy his lighthearted style of guiding. He conducts his tour with humor and a sense of familiarity; however, we would have preferred a tour that was heavy on the history of Savannah and did not rely on trying to entertain us. While said with humor, conversation was directed more often than we liked on UGA, Savannah ladies, home prices in the historic district and personal stories. Much of the private guide experience relies on the personalities matching up so this review is simply offering a different perspective and hope it helps confirm your decision to tour with Bobby or perhaps research other options that might more closely align with your personality.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
18 Thank Rhonda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Maryland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Personable and So Much Fun!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

What a truly FUN experience we had on our private 2 hour walking tour with Bobby Davis! We had just picked up our son from FSU in Tally and wanted to "Explore Savannah" on our way back home north. I had read so many positive reviews of Bobby that I made sure to book him a few weeks in advance of our trip. Needless to say he did not disappoint! The combination of knowledge, humor, and love of football, made for a fabulous tour for Mom, Dad, and 18 yr old. Much appreciated were the pictures Bobby took of us along the tour, and additional tips on places to eat, drink, and visit. Can't go wrong with Bobby....highly recommend!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank B2K2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Explore Savannah also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Explore Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing