We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private half day tour in January”
Review of Explore Savannah

Explore Savannah
Ranked #29 of 143 Tours in Savannah
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Private half day tour in January”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a delightful time with Bobby as he guided us through his beautiful city. He was witty, informative, easy going,& funny He knew every passing pedestrian. He had a plethora of intriguing stories and insiders little known facts to share. The tour is done at a leisurely pace. You get to enjoy the sights and sounds of Savannah. I especially enjoyed Bobby pointing out details that I would never notice such as the dolphin heads on the end of the drain pipes, carvings in wrought iron gates, differences in the quality of brick used on some buildings, etc. I would highly recommend his services. He is a very proficient and willing photographer as well.. We really appreciated the photos he took of the day we shared. Casey V.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey9163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,118
    24
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a GREAT Tour!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Bobby was absolutely amazing! We had a wonderful tour from beginning to end. Don't change a thing. We will be back for more fascinating stories of Savannah! This tour is so much more than the canned trolley tours. This is the way to really learn about this wonderful city.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank meemee529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“History with a sense of humor”
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 4 (12 and 15 year old children) took a 3 hour walking tour with Bobby on December 29th. Bobby was knowledgable and entertaining. He was prompt in communications prior to the tour. He actively engaged our hard to engage teenage children. They are still saying, "the waaaar" with chuckles. He is willing to adapt the tour to your personal interests and what you would like to see. I found the history of the city fascinating as told with Bobby's humor. Bobby is a terrific guide and we will have a lifetime of memories. Thanks Bobby!!!

Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Walking tour of Savannah”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our walking tour with Bobby Davis was really wonderful. He was very knowledgeable on the history of the city as well as minute details - such as where the stain glass in the cathedral came from (Innsbruck, Austria if you are curious). He tailored the day to our interests and packed a lot in for us in the 1/2 day tour. With Bobby we saw some hidden gems that we know we would have missed out if we did a self-guided tour. We both agree that this was one of the highlights from our trip and without hesitation would recommend a tour from Bobby to anyone. It really was just an excellent tour.

I booked the tour by e-mailing him one week in advance with our dates and interest. He was extremely professional. He e-mailed me back the same day and via e-mail we set up the tour. The evening before the tour he called to confirm and set a meeting place. He offered our hotel lobby but also gave us a suggestion for breakfast before hand if we wished (Goose Feathers sticky buns with pecans).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tory J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
1 review
“Great tour”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had just a short time to spend in Savannah during our trip to Hilton Head so we booked the tour with Bobby based on the reviews here. We've done the generic hop on hop off trolley tours in other cities and wanted something more personal for a city like Savannah. We are really glad we made this decision since we got to ask lots of questions and focus on the things that we were most interested in seeing. Bobby even got our teenage son to laugh and smile so that says a lot! An added bonus was getting photos with all of us together.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Explore Savannah also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Explore Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing