We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scares me”

Talmadge Memorial Bridge
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Downtown Savannah Helicopter Tour
Ranked #34 of 217 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Panhandle Florida
Level Contributor
157 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Scares me”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I have been going to Savannah 5 or 6 times a year for a decade. This bridge is a great backdrop for photos. But I go miles out of the way to avoid driving over it. I am phobic about bridges but there are quite a few I can drive on. This one combines steep with high. Quite a lot of cargo shipping under it so the possibility of a structural hit is high. I do wish someone in reviewing would describe number of lanes, how much buffer there is between lanes and railing. Those things could be helpful to the phobic among us.

Helpful?
9 Thank Taylorcat2us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    64
    11
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
162 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Architectural wonder”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Beautiful bridge as you arrive into Savannah. Great memorial as the city fight to change its name. Affords some unique views of Savannah as one drives over.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank hungry_eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1,753 reviews
1,339 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 633 helpful votes
“nice views!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

High bridge spans the Savannah River. Nice views of city below. No walking lane. take it to the convention center. worth a drive over for the views.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jlantern3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A nice bridge.”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Think of it as a miniature Ravnal Bridge. Nice views of downtown Savannah and the river. You can get a goid view ofcthe bridge itself from River Street and/on one of the river boats.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank boostjunki84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awesome-ish”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Let me start by saying I hate bridges especially if they have an arch shape and have a good bit of height and this one has both. I drove over the thing, turned the air blue, and made myself and my husband really glad the kids were at home. That said it's beautiful (especially from a distance) and the few times I looked to the side the views were beautiful. Talmadge will do until we can teleport or something across the water. ;)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank halogran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talmadge Memorial Bridge also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Talmadge Memorial Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing