We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just stopped in”

Mickve Israel Temple
Ranked #6 of 218 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Third oldest congregation and only neo-gothic Jewish sanctuary in the U. S. We offer tours, food festival (last Sunday in October), destination weddings and services every Fri/Sat and holidays. See our website for calendar of events.
Pike Road, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just stopped in”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Amazing sanctuary-what history! Beautiful building and informative staff. We couldn't stay for an official tour, but one is offered.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    680
    124
    25
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great tour guide”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

My wife and I recently visited the Mickve Israel Temple since we read about it in one books about Savannah. We found the tour to be very interesting and the guide was outstanding. He had only been living in Savannah for about 10 years, but knew everything about the Temple. It was the most unusual Temple I have ever been in.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Doughboy_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hills, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful temple, good tour, interesting artifacts & a piece of Savannah history”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

A ship of Jewish families arrived a few months after James Ogelthorpe founded the colony. Their history is very interesting and was well told during the tour. The museum has very interesting artifacts and they are well displayed. The synagogue is beautiful with amazing stained glass windows. Well worth stopping in.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“An important and very interesting part of historic savannah.”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We just went on a tour of Temple Mikvah, the 3rd oldest in the USA, 1733, the year Georgia was established as a colony by the British.
It was incredibly interesting.
It is reform and looks exactly like the churches built at the same time, neo-gothic, inside and out.
We walked past it trying to find it....probably the idea.

The Portuguese coverso-Jewish doctor Nunez who had escaped, went to England and then was in the 1st group of 41 Jews sent by a British synagogue to help establish the Savannah Georgia colony, saved the colony from a yellow fever epidemic.   Then they started the congregation there in 1733, which still is quite vibrant, almost 3 centuries later!

****His great great grandson, Uriah Levy, the first admiral in the us navy, ended up buying Monticello, Jefferson's dilapidated mansion, about 15 years after Jefferson"s death (1840?).
he and his nephew, restored the house beautifully, tried to give it to the us govt. but was refused.
It ended up being owned by the TJ historical society, as it is today!

What a story!
One of many in this very historic building.
They have signed original letters from George Washington, et.al.

Tours start at 2 p.m., given by a docent.
You are shown the sanctuary along with a small but facsinating museum upstairs. Wish we could have been able to stay and read every display more slowly.

Tour costs $5 (donation).
Small book store also.

Don't miss it on you trip to historic Savannah.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ethan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Built to resemble a Church - Here's the reason !!!!”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

When the Jewish Founders of the Temple decided to build the building - right next to the church, they had very good Yiddish guidance to help them in the design. Morris the Chairman of the building committee was concerned that if they didn't have the funds and the community support they needed to survive as Jewish Synagogue that if they style the building to resemble a church they might be able to sell it to the neighboring church easily and therefore no loose quite so much. (this is not actually documented in the history but I got it from a good authority who is in the real estate business in Savannah)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Herm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mickve Israel Temple also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Mickve Israel Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing