We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool atmosphere; good food; a little pricey”
Review of Planters Tavern

Planters Tavern
Ranked #66 of 880 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner
Neighborhood: Downtown
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cool atmosphere; good food; a little pricey”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We visited Planter's Tavern on the evening of July 4th. We had no reservations, but did get a table in the early evening with a reasonable wait.

It was a little hard to find the tavern, tucked in beneath the Pink House, and was initially very dark until your eyes adjusted. We loved the character and the story behind the location.

I'd selected this based on TripAdvisor reviews, and had not really checked the menu prior to our arrival, so I was a little surprised by the prices, which are more than we usually pay for a meal, but are in line with the quality and service.

I had the scored flounder with grits and collards and thoroughly enjoyed the presentation and the meal; it was perfect. My husband had the braised pork shanks. While he enjoyed them quite a lot, he actually preferred the lunch we'd had (at Sweet Potatoes; a must-visit!) Our desert - a flourless chocolate tort - was amazing.

The service was very friendly, knowledgeable about the menu and the location, and very efficient. It was worth the money and I will return.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank robreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    57
    14
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

So much to love about this place. The atmosphere and ambiance just so cool. It's dark, you're in a basement tavern. Lots of brick and candles. One table actually sits in the wine cellar. There was a lady playing the piano. We sat at the bar before our table was ready, the bartenders were great! When we did eat, the food was fabulous. Had many things that were good but the scallops were some of the best I have ever eaten!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blooskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!!!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Someone told us about Planters Taven and we are SOOO glad they did! No reservations needed. We walked right in and got a really cool table that was lit by candles. The atmosphere was great. There was a man playing the piano. Service was awesome. Food was AMAZINNNGGGG!!! Get the macaroni and cheese!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atglen PA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Romantic & Historical”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We enjoyed a father's day dinner in the candle lit Tavern under the Pink House and loved the entire experience. The ambiance is special with a rustic, clandestine feel, made more so by the very low lighting.
Service was perfect from start to finish. We'd been traveling all day so a large meal wasn't necessary for the two of us. I had wanted some sort of seafood offering and after operusing the menu I chose the Habersham platter consisting of a trio of appetizers- shrimp and grits, crabcake w fried green tomato, and seared scallops w wilted greens. Just enough assortment to carry the meal for me. Wife enjoyed a field green salad with fruit and pecans and a great dressing. She has food allergies and they were handled w aplomb.
Nice drink menu and good beer selection, no wine for either of us.
Nice dessert menu too. We had a warm, formed basket filled w vanilla ice cream and topped with fresh berries. It finished us both!
If you are looking for a place with a historical bent while in Savannah try it, you'll like it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dmglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redmond, wa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sublime”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

My new favorite place in savannah!! Loved the dark, cool, candlelit atmosphere. It is unique and when it is hot outside it is a cool, glorious escape. Excellent service, wines by the glass, and a great selection of cocktails. Hubby and I both loved th fried pork chop entree accompanied by mac and cheese and collards. If we get back to savannah this pub will be a big reason why!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Planters Tavern also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Planters Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing