We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner menu from upstairs and pricey!”
Review of Planters Tavern

Planters Tavern
Ranked #72 of 870 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dinner menu from upstairs and pricey!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

They have the exact same menu as upstairs at the Pink House and it's good, but quite expensive. Just be prepared in case you were expecting reasonably priced bar food. Good place for a drink, but I would dine elsewhere.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wb938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    55
    14
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
346 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Just as good second time round!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We happened to be staying just 80 miles down the road, but we loved it so much when we visted the 'pub' under the Olde Pink House last year that we decided to drive up to Savannah for another visit. We weren't disappointed. Great food all round, great atmosphere. The only flaw is that you can't book a table, so have to arrive early and 'negotiate' your way in!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobtdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Favorite Restaurant in Savannah”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had dinner there again on December 21st. It was wonderful, as usual. The room is very historic and cozy - they have two fireplaces, low ceilings, piano player and it was packed. They do not take rsvps so you will have a wait if you do not get there when it opens. It is well worth the wait. We were lucky enough to snag a seat at the bar and ended up eating there because it was so crowded. Their bartenders are wonderful, very polite and they make great drinks. We ordered several appetizers, shrimp and grits cake, blackened oysters - to die for, fried green tomatoes and crab cake and for dessert we had their cheese tray with fresh honeycomb and chocolate pecan pie. The bartender suggested a buttery Chardonnay which went perfect with our meal. We have been to Savannah many times and always eat here. It is fabulous. We have also dined upstairs at the Olde Pink House but it is just not the same feeling. The basement is very casual, laid back and cozy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelAddict6987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Intimate setting with awesome food!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is in the basement of the Olde Pink House Restaurant and is only available first come first served. We were able to get right in and were seated at a cozy table for two over candle light. My sweetheart ordered the grouper and I ordered the pecan crusted chicken, both were absolutely delicious!! Our waitress was very helpful in making recommendations and everything she suggested was perfect! I also had the fried green tomato BLT salad and it was yummy!!! Highly recommend this spot for a wonderful, romantic dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frauchatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“So cozy!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were looking for a great bar scene with some live piano music and we found it. What took us so long? We have been coming to Savannah for years and never visited the Planters Tavern. Two fireplaces at each end of the below-ground venue, aa nice piano player and a big bar were just right. When the hostess thought we had waited too long for a table to eat, she did her absolute best to make it right and offered us the wine cellar room. How romantic. If you can book it for your special dinner. The food was a great riff on southern but with a creative twist. Whe. We left on a Sunday night at 10:30, the place was still hopping. We loved it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank grntmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Planters Tavern also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Planters Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing