We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice afternoon”

River Street Savannah
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.50*
and up
Ghosts and Gravestones of Savannah
Ranked #12 of 213 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Village, Indiana
Level Contributor
149 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A nice afternoon”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

If you like to see historic areas, with some good restaurants to stop and eat, River Street is your place. My husband and I spent the afternoon in Savannah, including two hours on River Street. It was interesting and fun. Then we hoped on the trolley to tour the rest of Savannah and learn more history of the area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mbe96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,712
    1,617
    746
    148
    55
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Historic charm”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

You feel like you are stepping back in time while walking down this historic street. You can't beat the view of the river. We enjoyed eating at the River House and The Chart House. I will say that some of shops are a little touristy for our tastes. River Street is a must see while in Savannah.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aymesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, MA
Level Contributor
526 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Worth a Short Stroll”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We were not impressed. River Street is lined with rowdy bars and touristy shops. We felt the walk down was a waste of time, although we did enjoy the free samples of pralines.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mikeb1Falmouth_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soddy Daisy
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The location on the river is the true Savannah. The history and brick street reflects the times when the city was an active commerce area. There are several restaurants and gift shops but we only tried the Cotton Exchange. Food was good but service was excellent.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank rey9006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely walking area”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We walked along this area a couple of times during our stay in Savannah. Like people said, it's a bit difficult for anyone with walking/balance problems as getting there you do have to walk on cobblestones.

That said, the street has lots of different kinds of shops - some touristy (t-shirts & kitsch) but some unusual (Like the honey store).

ONE WARNING FOR SPRING/SUMMER VISITORS - There are TONS of biting gnats in this area that are kind of a buzz kill for hanging out there for a long time. Some people in my group really got bitten up (mostly on their scalps!) and suffered for the next few days. Apply some strong bug repellent before you go!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Street Savannah also viewed

 

Been to River Street Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing