We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed this Experience”

River Street Savannah
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.50*
and up
Ghosts and Gravestones of Savannah
Ranked #11 of 210 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyed this Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

There's something for the whole family, great ice cream and candy shops (my sons really enjoyed them), great gifts, great entertainment, especially the saxophone player. Be sure to make this a part of your Savannah trip.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank danielle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,606
    1,576
    734
    142
    54
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Worth a visit once per trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Although the shopping is only fair (LOTS of shops with cheap tourist garbage) it's definately worth a visit at least once per trip to Savannah. Street parking is only $1.00 per hour until 5pm (then free) outside the upper level entrances to the shops. We arrived at 4pm, paid our one dollar and then stayed for free the rest of the evening. There are several steep staircases down to the river walk and then very uneven cobblestones to navigate but there is a smooth sidewalk along most of the river side. At one end is the waving girl and her dog statue which was a little to find. You have to go past the end of the shops where you'll find a park like setting surrounding the statue. We enjoyed sitting here to watch the huge commercial ships come in and out of the port, plus the river boat ferry and paddle boat replicas. We took a ferry ride which our son loved. The candy shop was impressive but it's the same exact one as on market street. Just outside they sell 32 oz cups of fresh lemonaide for $4 - they use just one lemon so it's very weak (and expensive.) Watching them prepare it was fun but also a turn off because he handled the cup rim, lemons, and money all without washing his hands. Other tips: Cute toy store but inventory was for about six years and younger. Bee Store has a little play area for small children and lots of variety of honey. Delicious test-try station too. (Same Bee Store as in historic area.) Overall I'd return to walk along the river front once per trip to the city for sure. I'd consider a meal with a view of the water too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Twizzler6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“More than I expected!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

We had planned to visit river street while in Savannah. However, it was much cooler than I thought it would be. Everyone must visit this area, walk from end to end. It's awesome!

Helpful?
Thank Flipflopgirl8911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Sable Island, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

I always stroll River Street when in Savannah. Beautiful, cobblestones!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Capie1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mixed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Scary people and places intermixed with a few gems. The cobble stone and uneven sidewalks are a challenge for strollers. In most places, there was a steep staircase to negotiate. There was 1 cobblestone ramp towards the middle but again, it was still tough with the stroller. My wife was unimpressed with most of the shops (which worked out good for me, lol). As a first time visitor it's tempting to want to see the river front but having been there, I would only go back if I had to for some specific place or purpose.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Street Savannah also viewed

 

Been to River Street Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing