We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Prettiest square in Savannah”
Review of Monterey Square

Monterey Square
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.00*
and up
Savannah Trolley and Haunted History Tour Combo
Ranked #71 of 213 things to do in Savannah
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: City square dominated by a statue of Casmir Pulaski and the Temple Mickve Israel, the first synagogue in the South.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Prettiest square in Savannah”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

I sat here for about half an hour on a beautiful March day, enjoying the warmth, light, and people watching. The trees and Spanish moss are beautiful. A fun spot to admire the scenery.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ecc1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    15
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sad”
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

One of Savannah's most beautiful squares, highlighted by the stunning Mercer-Williams house. lovely to view from the outside although in need of some maintenance. Happy to see house was open for tours so entered from the carriage house which is now a rather lackluster gift shop.After guidelines were announced the rather quick tour began. Interesting to see although later I had heard that the "antiques" were actually repros since the original pieces which furnished the home were sold by Mr. Williams sister. she currently also has the home on the market. Sad to see Mr. Williams' work all dismantled. I wonder what he would feel. Repros, indeed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keepsake350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
391 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Might be one of my favorite Squares in Savannah!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I found this Square to be my favorite. It is absolutely beautiful. We sat on a picnic bench under the shade and drank ice coffee while enjoying the birds singing. Very quite and peaceful. Plus, close to some great antique stores and restaurants.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gregrob1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris County, NJ
Level Contributor
797 reviews
392 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,320 helpful votes
“Another one of Savannah's many beautiful squares”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stopped here on our tour of Savannah. This is a beautiful square. The Mercer Williams house is located on the north side of it. We could have spent an hour here just relaxing in the square.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bwco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“My second favorite square!”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

One square over from us, this is my second favorite!! Also the home of Mercer/Williams House. So pretty busy with tourists. But still a pleasant square, just come at dusk so it's quieter and more enjoyable then!!1

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank pjktd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monterey Square also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Monterey Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing