We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Might be one of my favorite Squares in Savannah!”
Review of Monterey Square

Monterey Square
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.00*
and up
Savannah Trolley and Haunted History Tour Combo
Ranked #74 of 217 things to do in Savannah
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: City square dominated by a statue of Casmir Pulaski and the Temple Mickve Israel, the first synagogue in the South.
Level Contributor
391 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Might be one of my favorite Squares in Savannah!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I found this Square to be my favorite. It is absolutely beautiful. We sat on a picnic bench under the shade and drank ice coffee while enjoying the birds singing. Very quite and peaceful. Plus, close to some great antique stores and restaurants.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gregrob1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Morris County, NJ
Level Contributor
829 reviews
408 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,325 helpful votes
“Another one of Savannah's many beautiful squares”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stopped here on our tour of Savannah. This is a beautiful square. The Mercer Williams house is located on the north side of it. We could have spent an hour here just relaxing in the square.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bwco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“My second favorite square!”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

One square over from us, this is my second favorite!! Also the home of Mercer/Williams House. So pretty busy with tourists. But still a pleasant square, just come at dusk so it's quieter and more enjoyable then!!1

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank pjktd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
169 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“burial site of Gen. Pulaski”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Strangely Gen. Pulaski is not buried at Pulaski Square (actually it's an empty square filled with sod, not pretty at all) but here. Beautiful monument. Almost every city in Midwest has a street named after this hero.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank bubuli32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boylston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely square, safe, surrounded by lovely buildings”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

This lovely,quiet square features a statue of Valimir Pulasky in recognition of his efforts in the Revolutionary War. The oldest Jewish synagog in Savannah (perhaps GA) is on one end of the square; opposite is the Johnny Mercer / Jim Williams house (of "Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil" fame). Beautiful, historical residences surround the square.

I have visited this square several times in the past, and have yet to see a panhandler here.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monterey Square also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Monterey Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing