We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a look around”

Green-Meldrim House
Ranked #45 of 210 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Located in Madison Square, this was the headquarters of General Sherman after he occupied Savannah in 1864.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth a look around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

This was a tour recommended by our tour guide Bobby. After his tour concluded, we went back and walked through the Green-Meldrim House. It was well kept and is still used as a parrish house today. We enjoyed learning about the original owners and the time that General Sherman spent there during the War.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank swimteachTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    47
    17
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“energetic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

staff tag team while giving energetic detailed background & methods of research, decor selection, family & house history

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank lin e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

The Green-Meldrim House only opened recently to the public and all of my childhood I walked by knowing that something really interesting must be inside. Imagine my pleasure at seeing the interior after forty years of waiting. The place is magnificent, one of the most ostentatious interiors in Savannah. Expect to see ornate plaster, silver servant bell-pulls by the fireplaces, and huge, gilded mirrors. Not to be missed!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank lws4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesboro, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“SERIOUSLY HAUNTED!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

I went to one of the ghost hunting tours tonight at the sorrel-weeds house, which is almost right next door to this house. We got there a lil early, and just so happened to park right next to this place. We got out and started walking around to see what we could see. And well, the first place that really caught my eye was this house! It was just so pretty, but looked so creepy. So i decided to take a picture and to my surprise, i caught my first orb on camera. I thought it was really funny how the first pic i took actually had 2 orbs in there. So after the tour of the sorrel house was over, i walked back by this place to check it out one last time, and i decided to take another pic. This time i stuck my hand and camera thru the fence to get a closer up of the house. When i did, i seen 2 orbs again. So i decided to do it again, right after the last one, and i got like 8 orbs in one pic! So i done it again, and i got like 5. Then i heard something near the house like it was walking or something and i got freaked out and walked back to the car. I wish i could go inside of this one at night!!! I wish i could upload the pics right now just to show you!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Felicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
220 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Beautiful House!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

We just happened to come upon the house which has limited touring days and hours.

It was well worth the money and time. Our tour guide - Dottie - gave us the tour downstairs and was SUPER knowledgeable of everything she told us. I wish she gave the tour upstairs.

I won't go into the history of the house & all the things Dottie told us. It is beautiful and well worth your time and money to tour the mansion.

Helpful?
Thank nclark62044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green-Meldrim House also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Green-Meldrim House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing