We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“O'kay, But”

Davenport House Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.00*
and up
Savannah Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Historical Square Segway Tour in Savannah
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Savannah Trolley and Historic Walking Tour Combo
Ranked #21 of 218 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Federal-style home of master builder Isaiah Davenport restored to its early 19th century beauty. Owned and operated by Historic Savannah Foundation.
london ontario canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“O'kay, But”
Reviewed April 15, 2010

At the end of the tour, the tour guide looked at all of us and said make sure that you give us a good report on Tripadvisor. Do you really need to ask? It was interesting, but she was very "dry" in telling about the history of the home.

Helpful?
Thank skate863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    172
    49
    15
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Least favorite thing we did the whole trip.”
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Brochure said informative tour of house given by guide in period dress. The lady who 'greeted' us at the desk was very negative and sour. The tour guide was a pretty young lady who rattled off the script - or what she could remember of it. She repeated herself throughout. I felt like we were the guinea pigs for her training. And she was certainly NOT dressed in the period dress. Just an entirely disappointing experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank MinnesotaLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twirler78, Museum Director at Davenport House Museum, responded to this review, March 31, 2010
We regret that the patron had an unsatisfactory visit to our museum. The Davenport House Museum only does costumed interpretation for special programs. It is not a daily offereing and is not listed on site brochure as such.
The Davenport House Museum trains its docents with a 4 week training program.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Was the guide having a bad day?”
Reviewed August 4, 2009

There are better things to see and do in Savannah than go here. The guide was terrible - she had her badge upside down and she spoke so quietly you couldn't here what she was saying nor did she know the answers to the questions we posed. Juliette Gordon Low was far better.

Helpful?
Thank WaltR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHDirector, Manager at Davenport House Museum, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
It's funny on a couple of occasions after reading this review I have looked down to find my nametag upside down. I wondered would I be written about . . .

Please know we instruct our docents to say they don't know something instead of making up an answer. We also tell them that they shouldn't worry about admitting they don't know because our visitors deserve the truth (as we know it).

I regret that you did not like our museum. Please know that we receive hundreds of comment in our site's guest book saying "Great," "Thank you for saving this house," "Terrific restoration," "wonderful docent." And, a rare occasion, some will post on the internet the unfortuante time they had.

Please know that if you are disappointed with you tour we are more than happy to refund your admission. If you return to Savannah, please know we will be happy to provide you with a complimentary tour with our best tour guide and we will make sure her nametag is rightside up!
Jamie Credle, Director, Davenport House Museum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent trip into history”
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Davenport House while not being the prettiest house it is the most interesting, it was all explained by the guide why and how it had been renovated. Which was also backed up by evidence .

An excellent guide and a very friendly place

It gives you a real insight into life at the time.

I am involved with a number of historic homes in the United Kingdom and I found Davenport House to be a true representation on the times and not like some of the other house in Savannah which I thought were just pandering to what they thought the tourist wanted. A true historic house.

A true treat in a fantastic city.

Helpful?
2 Thank janekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, OH
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ugliest renovation in Savannah, not worth it!”
Reviewed August 17, 2008

We were told that the Davenport House was worth visiting because it showed how a middle class person would have lived. We thought it would be a nice comparison to the luxury of the Owen-Thomas or Andrew Low House. What we saw was horrible decor. The curator of this house did not choose colors representative of the period, the wallpaper is atrocious, the linoleum floors in the hallway are overly busy and seem out of place in the house, the doors are stained in two-tones of brown and look like my 10-year old nephew did it. I was so distracted by how ugly it was I barely remember the story of the family. We even learned from other historians we spoke to that they have staged the rooms incorrectly. They also spent $30,000 on shutters for the house that were too large and ill-fitting. I don't think this house is worth it. Nothing in it is original or pleasing to the eye. This is the house that started the historic preservation movement in Savannah. This is not the crown jewel of their efforts. In a good note, our docent was wonderful. She was informative, engaging and great to be with.

Helpful?
2 Thank mchavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twirler78, Museum Director at Davenport House Museum, responded to this review, April 2, 2010
Between the years 2000-2003 the Davenport House Museum underwent an extensive restoration to make it more accurate to the period the house was built - during the lifetime of master builder Isaiah Davenport (1820-27). Our scholars tell us to take our personal opinion out of the choices for wall colors and wallpaper and to let history and the historical evidence be our guide. Our job is to tell the story of how the family and household lived in the house using historical evidence. We hired the best scholars (including Page Talbott) and restoration professionals (including Frank Welsh) to do the work on the museum and were rewarded with a Preserve America Presidential Award in 2005. A noted interiors painter created our floor cloth (Bob Christian). The faux graining was created by looking at what was on the wood first. Malcolm Robeson, who has done graining at the White House, did the Davenport House’s faux graining - using historical evidence as a guide. The so-called ill-fitting shutters actually do work and fit the house which is actually one foot shorter on the west side than the east. The character, exterior finishes and interior interpretation are period accurate and we hope that our visitors can enjoy them and learn from them. The saving of the Davenport House was the catalyst for the formation of Historic Savannah Foundation in 1955 and it is its only museum property. Foundation personnel worked closely with the restoration professionals in creating the museum today. We are delighted that this patron had an excellent docent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Davenport House Museum also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Davenport House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing