We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heritage of caring/craftsmanship”

Davenport House Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.00*
and up
Savannah Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
Ranked #22 of 210 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Federal-style home of master builder Isaiah Davenport restored to its early 19th century beauty. Owned and operated by Historic Savannah Foundation.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“heritage of caring/craftsmanship”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

I am a “closet” history buff/nerd, love architecture and old buildings too. The Davenport House Museum was a great find! We were only going to be in Savannah for one afternoon (boo hoo) but, decided to walk a “loop” of the historic district. On our way in to Georgia, we had stopped at a rest stop/visitor center and found a brochure about this site. As it happened, our “loop” put us here just a few minutes before the 3:30 p.m. guided tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable, a passionate historian and coworker in the preservation efforts. My favorite things about the house; one, like Mt Vernon, the Davenport House was saved by a dedicated group of women who believed it was an important, historical property worth fighting for, and two, it is a marvel of one man’s dedication to quality workmanship. Please visit and help support the preservation of this beautiful house.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ARvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    161
    46
    15
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
280 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Loved the staircase”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

This house is very important architecture to Savannah. The house was built in 1820 by Isiah Davenport. Most of the interior isn't original as the family moved away from the house after Davenport's death and thereby brought all their belongings. The furniture there today is what they think to be simulare to the original furniture based on some old lists and pictures. The house is beautiful. The staircase is really impressive looking up.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EliseDahle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHDirector, Manager at Davenport House Museum, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for visiting the Davenport House. Happy you loved the stairs in our beautiful museum house.
We argue (and believe) the interior IS furnished as it would have been originally. The house is as it was and the furnishings are based on Isaiah Davenport’s 1827 estate inventory. That’s makes it as accurate as can be.
Happy Travel!
Jamie Credle
Director
Davenport House Museum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
151 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

A very unique house and loved the garden out back. We were the only couple on our tour, so we got some special treatment. The bookstore has really nice things to give as mementos and gifts.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim and Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not Great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We went to the Davenport House first, and then toured 2 other homes which had excellent tours. I would rate this poorly, the guides were high school students who were in training and we definitely did not get the experience desired.

Helpful?
1 Thank Autumn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHDirector, Manager at Davenport House Museum, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Three days during the year (the first Friday in August and the two days following Thanksgiving) the Davenport House provides an opportunity for young people to get their first experience in front of the public as tour guides. Many of our museum’s negative reviews on TripAdvisor have been from patrons taking tours with our Junior Interpreters on these dates. Over the years we have modified and rearranged how we present our museum during these days – because along with being an attraction, the Davenport House is a museum that is compelled to foster future stewardship.

After an eight week period of training, these young people are enthusiastic, excited and knowledgeable of the house. What they lack is experience which we hope our visitors will allow them. On August 1 our museum was open at a deeply discounted rate for Junior Interpreter Day. Our front desk staff informed patrons on the type of experience they would receive on this one day. The DH had extra staff working to take visitors back through the museum if they felt that they wanted more information or a different experience.

If you had made your displeasure known we would have found another staff tour guide to take you through as well as refunded your admission price in full.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't Be Fooled”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Don't waste your money on this tour unless you are determined to see every open home in Savannah. It was $9, but very little of the interior of the home is original. NO furniture, NO rugs, NO decor. Our tour guide admitted to us that the furniture in the bedrooms and the study were pieces of the time period, but they were never used in the home while it was owned by the Davenports. There were a few tiny items that were bequeathed to the house or tracked down from other families who had bought them, but basically, you are paying to tour a home with what people THINK would have been in the home, given by tour guides who know very little about the family who lived there. Take a photo of the front of the home and keep on walking.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristiOwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHDirector, Manager at Davenport House Museum, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you very much for visiting the Davenport House.
All Savannah house museums use the same process the Davenport House did in determining the way they should appear – scholarship/available information, decision making and resources.
The Davenport House is presented period accurately and received a Preserve America Presidential Award for it. The DH determined the period 1820-27 was what it could best show because that is the period for which we have the most information. The reason what the rooms look the way they do is because the house was built before the industrial revolution and that’s how they were furnished. Our docents tell what we know. The Davenports were not the richest people in town. He was not a man of letters. He worked with his hands, built a fine house and that’s what we show – and honest portrayal of the home of a master builder. Ours is not a fairy tale or lifestyles of the rich and famous.
Jamie Credle
Director
Davenport House Museum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Davenport House Museum also viewed

 

Been to Davenport House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing