We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great house to tour”

Davenport House Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.00*
and up
Savannah Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
Ranked #22 of 210 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Federal-style home of master builder Isaiah Davenport restored to its early 19th century beauty. Owned and operated by Historic Savannah Foundation.
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great house to tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great architectural details to see in this house. The docent who led our tour gave great information about the family and the type of life they led making the history of the time come to life.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Howe334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    161
    46
    15
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Neat house, though not impressed by tour guide”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This home has been nicely restored with period decorations and furniture. The tour costs $8 per person and is part of the Juliette Gordon Low/Andrew Low/Davenport 3-pack for $18 per person. There is a little gift shop when you enter, mostly selling books about Savannah and some jams. The tour lasted about 40 minutes and could have been better. Our tour guide was an older, somewhat unwelcoming woman who gave a long pause every sentence or two, almost as though she had forgotten for a moment what she was going to say next. She told us some very basic things about the house and its builder and past residents, but nothing that really stuck out. I noticed some articles in baskets on the floor of several rooms that were clearly meant for viewing and handling, but she never mentioned them. It was an okay tour, just not very notable or worth the $16 in my mind. It would have been nice to be able to walk around the open areas of the house freely and at our leisure. If this were possible, it was never mentioned. It was also disappointing that photos are not permitted.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kaliella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHDirector, Manager at Davenport House Museum, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for visiting the Davenport House Museum. We wish you had enjoyed the cadence of our docent’s tour. We have teenage tour guides and on through the age spectrum – each gives a tour in his or her own style. We ask docent’s to speak clearly and deliberately – so as to be heard and understood. And, to a person our docent (volunteer and staff) love the museum and care passionately about its story and presentation. I truly wish that this had been conveyed to you.

Touch baskets: The museum offers baskets as supplemental information. We instruct docents to use these when time allows. Often however, visitors want to be moved through the property in a timely manner so tactile materials may or may not be used.

Admission price: Our general admission rate is $8 per person. You mentioned $16? Our triple pass with Juliette Gordon Low and Andrew Low House is $18 per person or $6 per house which is a savings or $2 per house off the general admission rate. While we think our house museum is priceless – it does not cost $16 per person.

Walking around the museum: We are not aware of a house museum in Savannah that allows guests to walk around freely because of the security risk to museum collections.

Photography: We are not aware of house museums in Savannah that allow interior photography. As a self-supporting, private non-profit museum we are allowed to make rules with regard to safety and security of our guests and collections.

We are appreciative of your positive response to our house. It was the home of a “regular guy” who lived in a different time and our interpretation is of daily life in the 1820s port city.

Happy Travels!

Jamie Credle
Director
Davenport House Museum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swampscott,MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Seeing a middle class federal home was very interesting. Our tour guide answered the few questions our group asked in a professional manner.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jrosen36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
286 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good tour of an old house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

The house is in good shape and is furnished with period furniture, dishes, clothing and wall coverings. The tour guide is very knowledgeable and the tour was not rushed. The small gift shop has interesting items for sale. There is a small garden where the tour finishes up.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnwGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
142 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Beautiful property and the one that started it all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was my third trip to Savannah and I knew this time that I had to see the house that started it all. This was the first property that the ladies of Savannah set out to save from the wrecking ball and the one that started the downtown preservation movement. Like many cities in America, urban renewal and the flight of residents to the suburbs was taking its toll on Savannah's beautiful historic homes, many of which were sitting empty and deteriorating. The house is beautiful, a showplace meant to demonstrate Mr. Davenport's abilities as a carpenter, builder, and designer. The tour was interesting and getting to see where the preservation all started was worth the price of admission. You can purchase entry into this house individually or you can purchase the Preservation Pass that gets you into this home, the Juliette Gordon Low House, and the Andrew Low House for one price. For adults this is a nice savings, however, if you have children (4-17) buy their tickets individually at each house as you will save money that way. My two teens enjoyed this tour as much as I did but then they are history buffs as well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank bookwormwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Davenport House Museum also viewed

 

Been to Davenport House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing