We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant and Folklore”
Review of The Pirates' House

The Pirates' House
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.00*
and up
Historical Drinking Tour of Savannah
More Info
$22.00*
and up
Savannah's Historic Grave Encounters Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 18th-century bar was a rendezvous point for pirates.
Macon, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Restaurant and Folklore”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

A very intersting house with lots of folklore and tales. The menu is pretty extensive and a little on the expensive site with entrees between $20 - 28. We all ordered something different and everything was good. The restaurant has multiple dining rooms, each seating various numbers of people and each with a theme. Staff dressed as pirates visit during the meals and will pose for great pictures. This restaurant is very popular but takes reservations online so once you decide to go, book online. They were ready for us when we arrived and we didn't have any waiting.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    330
    173
    48
    49
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Oldest Building in Georgia with delicious country cooking, a buffet, excellent sweet tea, and entertaining, helpful, competent s”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I just left Savannah and the last place we stopped was The Pirates' House. They easily accommodated our party of 9 and sat us in the oldest part of the oldest building in Georgia.

The history associated with this place is worth the price of the food, even if the food wasn't delicious. Fortunately, the food is great. I had the buffet: fried chicken, fried fish, fried okra, baked maccaroni and cheese, mashed red potatoes, sweet potatoes, pinto beans, green beans, collard greens. They bring biscuits and cornbread to the table. The buffet also comes with dessert, all for $13.95.

The service was attentive and entertaining. They have a pirate on staff who does an excellent job with his character and really adds to the appeal of the atmosphere. He was not annoying of distracting. He played a song on his tin flute and I noticed that his hands were even dirty; his character is authentic down to even a minute detail.

I also had their drink of the day, "Release the Kracken." It was a rum drink with pineapple juice, razzmatazz, sweet and sour, and garnished with an orange. It was a tasty drink and not too expensive at $6.95.

Do yourself a favor and try the local flavor of The Pirates' House.

Helpful?
Thank cjestes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We stopped in Savanna for lunch and asked "If you can eat just one meal here where do you go?"”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Without hesitation the girl at the tour counter replied "The pirate's house." On the way there we drove down Liberty St, then ended up on McDonough St like block from Chippaewa Square and found this awesome little trendy gormet convenience store. They has a large assortment of wines, good cheeses, imported crackers and candies from all over the world. There were gift for the home & fresh baked goodies and an assortment of luch foods I tried not to look at since we were on our way to eat elsewhere. When we arrived at the pirate house we found parking in the back. The building was old and it felt a bit like being on an old ship. The wait was 5-10 miins on saturday about noon. we really liked the giftsop upstairs and the buffet looked like it would have been fantastic if you wanted to fill up on southern style good cooked foods (bens, collards, catfish, fried chicken, mac & cheese. sweet potatoes etc. We wanted to eat lighter so we went for sandwiches. They bring fresh biscuits and corn muffins to the table and the she crab soup was delicious. The catfish sandwich had to have been the tail of an entire fish! There was more than a pound of meat! The oysters were the best we ever had, tender and buttery. This is a must stop place in Savannah!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kholl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great service and not as kitschy as you'd expect”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

You'd think a place called The Pirates' House would be inundated with unruly children and servers all dressed in hats and hooks. You would be pleasantly wrong. The service was on par with the pricing and wonderfully professional. The atmosphere is great - a nice mix of historic and romantic. We ate with a group in one of the private rooms - it was perfectly cut off from the main dining room and well appointed.
The food is quite good as well. If you want good southern food in Savannah, skip Paula Deen's (The Lady and Sons) and head here for a unique experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Option for Families”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a good option if you have children. Our kids loved the pirate and the hats they gave out upon arrival. Overall the food was pretty good. I got the shrimp and grits appetizer as my meal and my only complaint was that the grits were lumpy. My husband ordered the friend seafood platter and the waitress originally got his order wrong. Once fixed, he felt the food was just OK. Overall, it's a fun place to visit to get a sense of Savannah history. I probably wouldn't bother coming back though.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MASS2NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pirates' House also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to The Pirates' House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing